We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Set your expectations properly and u won't be disappointed”
Review of The Pass

The Pass
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pass is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #402 of 8,283 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Set your expectations properly and u won't be disappointed”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

If the expectation is to have fun with friends, for an imaginative dining experience, this is perfect. As mentioned by others, the portions are expectedly small, but getting the 8-course menu with wine pairing, it's actually perfect. Aside from the ridiculously awful wine pairing for the first course, the entire experience was fun and funky. Though considered "formal" dining, its atmosphere is decidedly cool and fun- I'm not sure if this would be a super romantic dinner place, but with the right group of foodie friends, it's whimsical and fun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TA209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    29
    10
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Intimate, delicious, creative”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've been to the Provision side before and it was great, but for a special birthdays dinner, we tried The Pass. The menu descriptions don't really give you a good idea of what to expect. Everything was delicious and the drama of the presentation was fun.

We also had one pescetarian in the group and a special menu was presented to accommodate. One person had the 5-course with pairing option; one had 5-course no pairings and two had 9-course no pairing. The no pairing folks split a lovely bottle of wine. We started with a glass of sparkling. Everything was wonderful. The view of the chefs at work was entertaining and service was great. Pricey but worth it for a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Houstonalle4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pass on Pass!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had the 8 course with wine pairings. We were very disappointed in the whole experience. Portions were ridiculously small and only one of the courses was above average. Nothing was OMG wait until you taste this. Surprised Bon Appetit ranks this as the 6th Best New Restaurant in America. Everyone was still hungry when we left. Pass on Pass.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very small portions for the price and just so so....”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to Pass excited as we had enjoyed Provisions on two separate occasions. What a disappointment. Portions were very small and wine pairings novice. Predominantly Spanish wines. We commented (amongst ourselves) that we were still hungry and disappointed. The waiters heard our negative comments and brought our dessert to us in a "to go" box telling us they were out of time. This did not bode well with us as they were serving the other patrons their dessert course while treating us with disrespect. I asked why? They told us that we had been obnoxious regarding the food. We are very seasoned restaurant patrons and they could not take criticism regarding their food. Presentation was very nice and service good. It was just not worth the price. We will not be back to either restaurant because of the way we were treated. They do not need our business and that's life. Again, the Provisions restaurant is very fun and excellent food. I am sad this
happened on the other side.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Allen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Save your money...”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I had been to Pass and was not overly impressed with the foods we were served. The Pizza was good. However, this is not a Pizzaria. They had just opened so I thought things would get better. So, I went to have a girlfriend birthday lunch to the Provisions part. The service was very good. The food was bad. We decided to have sandwiches. They sounded like they'd be Yummy. How could you mess up a sandwich. An expensive sandwich at that. I ordered the eggplant, mozzarella, and tomatoes sandwich. Yum I thought. My friend ordered the meatball sandwich. We were going to split them half and half so we'd both get a taste. Well, my eggplant was a deep fried 1/4" slice of eggplant, the thick crust masked any flavor the eggplant might have had. And I thought they'd forgotten the cheese. No they hadn't. I opened up my half to find a sliver of mozzarella. Sliced so very thin you couldn't see it. And tomatoes. Really...please. I pictured a grilled eggplant or even pan fried dredged slice of eggplant, a thick slice or at least as thick as the eggplant slice of cheese, topped with tomatoe slices. Maybe heirlooms. Wrong. Yuk. I took a bite and the oil they'd deep friend my eggplant in tasted old! Change the greese pot!!!! My friends meatballs were looking like they were premade and bought at Sam's Club. Cheap and tasteless. They served the sandwiches with a ton of shoe string potatoes. Tasty, but the bad sandwiches made them seem the best thing on the plate! They should call this the Fried plate! Well, it was birthday lunch and we decided "not" to get dessert but enjoy a cup of coffee. Well, can you guess? Even the coffee was bad. It was old tasting. And our server brought "one" spoon to share. the milk was just that milk. Not sure by looking at it if it was whole milk to boot! Not much of it either. We poured a lot of it in and the coffee never looked right. Never to return is what we both said. And spread the word is what I will do. Whoever runs this place needs a wake up call. Or they need to order the eggplant sandwich and see what they are giving customers! Yuk, yuk, yuk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pass also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing