We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't go back”

Sweet Paris Creperie
Ranked #4 of 155 Dessert in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: French, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Our actual mission is To Revive The Art Of Eating Crêpes. With this goal in mind we set out to build a tranquil beautiful French industrial chic space that would keep the focus on the plates and would be conducive for families and friends to indulge together. To revive this art we realize that a crêpe is a canvas, and the perfect delicious crêpe is a result of artistic cooking and using high quality ingredients.
Katy, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

If the filling of the crepes were tolerable and even had some flavor, the crepes were thick, chewy and in general atrocious. Not the crepe one expects from a place calling itself creperie.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    50
    17
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious crepes, service needs improvement!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

No doubt about it, the crepes are delicious. Sweet Paris serves both sweet and savory crepes - perfect for both meal and dessert. I highly recommend the Chicken Carbonara and the Nordic. For dessert, I tried the Nutella with strawberry and banana and Very Berry Creme Brulee. Both the meal and dessert crepes were superb and I was impressed with the serving size for the price.

As for the service, it totally needs improvement. This was our first visit so we didn't know whether to seat ourselves or have a hostess seat us. Then, we were told by a passing server to sit anywhere so we sat at the first table that freed up. We sat there waiting for our friends and servers/wait staff kept passing by but they did not clean up table. Finally, husband had to get up and ask server to clean up and he says you have to order first before we clean your table. Um, yeah, thanks for telling us in advance when we were told to sit anywhere. Then, when we ordered food at the cashier, she was the most unenthusiastic and rude cashier i've encountered at Rice Village ever. No greeting, no smile, but a "What do you want?" When my friend asked what kind of tea do you have, the cashier points behind us at the fridge and says "it's over there" not even telling us what kind it is.

Yes, the crepes were great, but I'll only give Sweet Paris 5 stars if their service was outstanding. SERVICE is a huge plus for me as well as food at any restaurant, but Sweet Paris lacked it. So 3 stars it is. Hopefully the next time I visit, Sweet Paris will have hired better servers, waitstaff, and cashiers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnaBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very cute little restaurant in Rice Village in Houston. I went with two friends and we spilt three crepes and it was plenty of food. Well priced (around $6-8 per crepe) and delicious!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“tasty food, good drinks. reasonable prices”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The cheesesteaks very very good, the chips were light and crisp, the salsa was fresh, and the bloody Mary was spicy. This is a small Texas chain (originating n Austin, I think). There's a sports bar atmosphere with flat screen televisions surrounding the place. We've been wanting to try this place for a while and are glad that we did. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine77055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“if ur a big time meat lover.. then this is ur place”
Reviewed December 18, 2008

if ur a big time meat lover.. then this is ur place

Helpful?
Thank Jemappelle.Lisa.Eats
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Paris Creperie also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sweet Paris Creperie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing