We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, relaxed, tasty and plentiful”
Review of Bar Boheme

Bar Boheme
Ranked #652 of 8,246 Restaurants in Houston
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: A Montrose hideaway, Bar Boheme is a pure reflection of owner Morgan Holleman's travels around the world. An eclectic wine selection, full bar with craft cocktails and beer, Bar Boheme also serves delicious food to go with your choice of libation. You'll feel worlds away with our famous Vietnamese fries and handcrafted Korean Barbacoa pizza! Our beautifully refurbished historical building is surrounded by a 6,000 square foot garden adorned with Shona stone sculptures from Zimbabwe and open for patrons to explore. Inside, authentic steel frame windows, original brick walls, cozy couches, and antique light fixtures from Germany, France, and England grace the space with a subtle old world vibe. From an intimate date night to a casual outing with close friends, Bar Boheme is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the evening together. Join us for our Saturday and Sunday Brunch, featuring live DJs and an all-day happy hour on Sunday and Monday. You won't want to miss our Drag Brunch the last Sunday of every month. Come to Bar Boheme and discover Houston's best bar!
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
1,510 reviews
612 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 733 helpful votes
“Fun, relaxed, tasty and plentiful”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Boheme really is a large bar dispersed over several rooms and outdoor settings, very informal and relaxed and at the same time with a casual style. Somebody clearly has spent time and some money working it all out. Location is fun also in the heart of Montrose on Fairview.

Food is advanced pub grub, large helpings easily serve two. On the evening we came regrettably no pizza available for mysterious reasons. Cooking seemed to be happening in a food truck parked nearby at the back entrance. Fries with pork vietnamese style very nice. Cheese platter also very nice, but too much together with the fries. interesting choice of cheeses all at the right ripeness.

Parking is not too easy, valet appears to be the only option. You have to pay them $10 up front, which when you see your car disappear gives you the feeling you just payed somebody to steal your car. But we got it back all right.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hermes_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and patio, pricey cocktails”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The atmosphere of this place is really fun - lots of old leather couches inside, cozy but unique. The patio area has plenty of room and waitresses, making it a good place to meet up with a group. It does get pretty hot out, so there are misting fans out there to try to make it bearable, but the one at our table wasn't on and I was stuck sweating in the middle of our group.

Their signature cocktails are tasty (though a friend and I were skeptical of the amount of vodka in our Russian Lemonades) but at $10 a pop, I can't bring myself to buy more than one. They have very tasty, slightly spicy Vietnamese-style fries that come in a great portion for sharing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bethanyfarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado, USA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Funky neighborhood joint.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

As foodies not knowing Houston, we were looking for a local, neighborhood joint with a good wine selection and outdoor seating. The atmosphere was great - concrete floors, well used leather couches and architectural hardware. Loved it.

Wasn't crazy about the wine selection, but eventually found something good and unique. The frozen mojito was fantastic and the blood orange margarita is one of the best I've ever had.

Food is served out of a trailer called "the monkey," which I think is awesome, and the the roasted jalapeño hummus was excellent.

The only downside was the bartender - who was full of attitude.

Worth a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mledoux0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, texas
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“There lots of room in back”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Don't let the front of this swank little wine bar fool you, the entire back yard has been renovated for extenstive seating. We attended a birthday party. The staff is great!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dachmation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Funky, cool”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I love this place. The main room itself is exposed brick, decorated with unusual art and objets d' what that you have to check out (for some reason I love the huge film projector). Comfortable furniture to kick back in and shoot the breeze with friends. They make a very good martini which always taste better to me when I'm sitting at the bar. The patio area is suprisingly large. The service back here tends to be a little more relaxed but it helps reinforce the idea that you're in no rush - just kick back and relax. A good mix of clientele. Staff are friendly and very helpful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TB5of6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Boheme also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bar Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing