We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, hip & healthy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roots Juice - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Roots Juice
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: This new trendy, casual and affordably priced Houston hotspot boasts a communal vibe and a strong focus on health and going green.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relaxed, hip & healthy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Met a friend for lunch here last week. Everything looked and smelled delicious. The sprout salad was fresh and clean with the perfect combination of crisp and crunchy and a light lemony dressing. Sprinkled with a few pieces of nori - a nice touch of saltiness. Also had the Fuel juice. Left feeling happy and energized.

The staff is cheerful and efficient, they made us feel welcomed. Patio tables under a trellis. Great spot for a light healthy lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnSturtevant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing meal and very knowledgable bartender!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

First time at this wonderful restaurant ... Will definitely be back very soon! I learned about some wonderful wines and the okra dish may be one of the best things I've ever eaten. Great vegetarian dishes (although the do serve meat dishes that look delicious too) that are really creative. I'm lucky I live around the corner!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spent lots of money & left hungry”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband & I spent $30 on an $60 Groupon voucher, and still spent another $80 once we arrived (did not purchase any alcohol). The menu looked creative, but the dishes arrived with practically several kernels per plate. We are not big eaters, but still left hungry. This was an incredible disappointment, since we love the affiliated Ruggles brand. The patio seems like a cool idea, but is on a busy street of cars (no people watching, and too much noise & dust). One bonus though - they did not have a liquor license yet, so offered us complimentary house wine.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loobeyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fabulous juice/smoothie/coffee bar with small plates too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

First, let me say, my husband and I love Roots Juice! They have great food, nice people, and a cute interior. You can't go wrong with any of their options - each thing we've tried, from avocado chocolate mousse to the granola or the Paleo (and vegan!) muffins or scones are great. As vegans for health reasons, we love Roots Juice and the options is offers to us and our non-vegan friends.

That said, it's not perfect. A few gripes (that we can live with, but you need to decide if you can too) - service is somewhat slow and inconsistent. You order and pay at the counter, but items are brought out to you at your table or at the bar. Items ordered do not all come out together or even in the order you may want - e.g. one time, my husband's smoothie came out 10 minutes after mine. Brunch portions are SMALL and a little pricey so know that when ordering. The $10 pancake is just that... one pancake served beautifully. The quail egg omelet our friend ordered ($13, I think) was laughable at how small it was... think 3-4 bites for most people.

However, the servers are quick to make up for any gaffe in service - we have received a free smoothie or muffin for our wait once or twice.

Check them out when you have time to relax. We love this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmm151s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Value isn't in their vocabulary”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

$9 for 9 charred pieces of okra??? Total bill of $81.00 for 4 side dish sized veggies, 1 pizza, and some plain flat bread. We left hungry. After spending $81 for veggies, we won't be back. The food was tasty, but tasty doesn't fill your stomach. Oh, one more thing, they sold a whole fish (we didn't get it), we're talking head on, not filleted, about a 1 lb fish for $34!! For $34 I can get a very tasty fish filet plus side dishes at most nice seafood restaurants in Houston. Not to mention, these other places' fish is boneless. Just don't go here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jowegihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roots Juice also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing