We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent and a nice surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenicia Market Bar

Phoenicia Market Bar
Ranked #164 of 7,981 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: I think Middle Eastern. We were referred by locals, on the street. Food was great. Service was excellent. Beer was cold!
Detroit
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent and a nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Had the pleasure of walking in out of curiosity on the way to the food court at Houston Center. This is some kind of hybrid market, deli, bar, restaurant, bakery. The shwaramas are excellent and packed full. They make their own bread for them and other bakery items looked awesome as did the pizzas. Sandwiches and a salad bar also available and the place is clean. Another place I'd be sure to visit if I get back to Houston. Great job Phoenicia - how about coming to Detroit and showing some of our markets how its done!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    41
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Downtown Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The bar serves really good food and has an excellent selection of wines and beers, some of which (the beers that is) are local hand crafted brews. There's live music most days and it has a nice atmosphere when busy. Whether you want to drop in for a morning coffee, a lunchtime snack or an evening drink, the MKT bar is a little oasis in downtown Houston. The Phoenicia deli next door is an amazing place and it's difficult not to come away without buying something!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mecca for those staying in downtown hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you've ever stayed in downtown Houston you'll be well aware of the fact that there's not a lot of choice in restaurants. Besides a few nice dinners out, we ended up shopping at Pheonicia every day, sometimes twice a day. The market has everything you need for a gourmet picnic - beautiful breads, meats, cheeses, fruits, desserts, nuts ad chocolate, wine, you name it. And the prices were very reasonable. There are are also lots of prepared dishes but we preferred to stick to cheese picnic.

I wish every downtown core had a Pheonicia!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laughinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
386 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Party trays were great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had croissant sandwiches, asparagus wrapped in procuitto, plantain chips with mango salsa and a tray of baklava. Delicious food and excellent service!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank likethewind27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in downtown Houston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Traveling on foot on a cold night, we were disappointed to find nothing affordable within walking distance of the hotel after 8 pm. We stopped in out of curiosity and ended up dining from their delicious and diverse salad bar. There were many other choices, including deli items, but the salad and olive bar made a satisfying meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mstattersall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenicia Market Bar also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Phoenicia Market Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing