We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Mecca for those staying in downtown hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenicia Market Bar

Phoenicia Market Bar
Ranked #108 of 7,916 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: I think Middle Eastern. We were referred by locals, on the street. Food was great. Service was excellent. Beer was cold!
Ottawa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mecca for those staying in downtown hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you've ever stayed in downtown Houston you'll be well aware of the fact that there's not a lot of choice in restaurants. Besides a few nice dinners out, we ended up shopping at Pheonicia every day, sometimes twice a day. The market has everything you need for a gourmet picnic - beautiful breads, meats, cheeses, fruits, desserts, nuts ad chocolate, wine, you name it. And the prices were very reasonable. There are are also lots of prepared dishes but we preferred to stick to cheese picnic.

I wish every downtown core had a Pheonicia!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laughinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    38
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
386 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Party trays were great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had croissant sandwiches, asparagus wrapped in procuitto, plantain chips with mango salsa and a tray of baklava. Delicious food and excellent service!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank likethewind27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in downtown Houston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Traveling on foot on a cold night, we were disappointed to find nothing affordable within walking distance of the hotel after 8 pm. We stopped in out of curiosity and ended up dining from their delicious and diverse salad bar. There were many other choices, including deli items, but the salad and olive bar made a satisfying meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mstattersall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Service and food were both much higher than expected. Coffee was really very good and served by someone who really seemed to enjoy her work. Great food selection.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Freedom40Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would go any day any time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is incredible food. Mostly Mediterranean in all its glory but also American. You can drop by for lunch, shop at the Market place or the deli. Try kefalogravriera (unusual sharp Greek cheese), freshly grated on pasta. Buy the cheese bread for breakfast or snack. Famous gyro. Fresh and healthy cucumber salad. Everything is excellent.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lilian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenicia Market Bar also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Phoenicia Market Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing