We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Malaysian food in Houston”
Review of Banana Leaf ll

Banana Leaf ll
Ranked #916 of 8,287 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Malaysian
Description: Second location.
Restaurant details
Description: Second location.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Malaysian food in Houston”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Menu items I suggest: Roti canai, chicken satay, pad thai, stir-fried flat rice noodle with beef, pineapple fried rice (served in 1/2 a pineapple) and the daily special (which is almost 50% off the regular price but same portion and just as delicious). Also the smoothies are good and of course the Malaysian iced coffee which is very strong.

The 2nd location has better parking and is more spacious inside. I appreciate that with my check was included a survey. On the survey I noted that the bathroom wasn't very clean nor well stocked. The next time I came in, my feedback was put into action and the bathroom was clean, functional, and stocked. Thank you for listening to your customers (which is rare for restaurants in Chinatown - they usually treat you like they are doing you a favor)!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VuongStrongWifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Malaysian food in town”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been to this restaurant several times and the food is always good. Satay and peanut sauce is out of this world. Although it is an appetizer, they usually bring this together with the entrees, a little disappointment here! Our favorite dish is the Sizzling Malaysian Style Bean Curd and any curry dishes never go wrong. All-in-all, everything we ordered is always good and the service is good too. Expect some waiting time for table during the weekends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jazzraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Malay restaurant.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Came here with some friends a couple of days ago, and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. If you like Malay food or Asian food in general for that matter then you should give this place a shot. Really good lunch prices, food was tasty, and I really liked the Durian smoothies. I will be returning with more friends soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bastian_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good Asian cuisine place on a budget”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Banana leaf is a Malay-themed restaurant but if you like Asian food, you won't be disappointed. It is great tasting food with PLENTY of selection of delicious dishes to choose from. Even our 2 yr old and 6 yr old devoured their plates. Atmosphere was fun with a reminiscence to the Malaysian street cafe-feel. We love it and will revisit when we're in Houston's Chinatown next.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bassman4jesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Authentic Malaysian food!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Take it from me, for those who have been to Malaysia and enjoyed Malaysian food, this is as good as it gets. To those not familiar with what constitutes Malaysian, this is a cacophony of Chinese, Indian and Malay foods, largely noodle and rice-based with a host of spices.
One such favorite of ours was the barbecued stingray fish wrapped in banana leaf, spicy and hard-to-get in mainland US.
Service has improved since they first started,food quality consistent and it's continued popularity resulting in them opening a second larger outlet across the street.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorBakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf ll also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Banana Leaf ll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing