We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and presentable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenicia Specialty Foods

Phoenicia Specialty Foods
Ranked #3 of 7,902 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: You have one of the locations listed but not the new location that opened in November 2011
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean and presentable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I love their freshly baked Pita bread. the cheese choise and the restaurant. I also buy lots of my bulk items from them ar a good price.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah77477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    133
    15
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic grocery store and fresh-on-the-go food and desserts. Do not miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I was lucky to find this place right across from the Four Seasons Hotel Downtown. Tried their bbq chicken pizza, lamb shawarma wrap, and triple chocolate mouse cake. The wraps are make to order with the toppings of your choice. Everything I had was fresh and tasty. A little busy at lunchtime during the work week, but worth the wait. There is a fresh salad bar and an extensive olive bar. Pita chips are made on sitr and hand packaged.
There's more to this store than meets the eye. Highly recommend, give it a try and break the chain.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Red T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Where do I begin?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a treat! Staying at the nearby Hilton Americas, my roommate and I were delighted to hear there was a deli/grocery nearby. The deli is AMAZING! They offer everything for every taste, from tuna salad to lasagna to tabouli to 6 kinds of stuffed grape leaves! Oh, and soups, salads, desserts, and other options too numerous to mention. If you are vegan, you can eat your fill here and come back another day for new items to try. They will fix you a sampler box as long as everything is the same price--and if it isn't, it just goes into a different box. Tables and chairs so you can eat in or take out, and a connected bar so you can get a nice glass of wine as well. The grocery has an extensive wine collection as well as all kinds of food items. What did I try? Black bean-Mango-Quinoa salad, pomegranate tabuli (YUM!), chickpea salad, hummus, marinated mushroom salad, beet and walnut salad, and a vegan-friendly stuffed grape leaf. We ate here twice during our three-night stay and wish Phoenicia would go national with stores near where we live. The staff is friendly and helpful as well. Really, I can't say enough good things about Phoenicia. Oh, it also seems to be a real gathering place/magnet for young professionals. The bar AND the market were humming with life and happy patrons.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiki Island, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on this downtown gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Everytime we travel to Phoenicia's we are never disappointed. The food and selection are great and you can't beat freshness as you see your bread come down a converyor belt. The staff there are friendly and helpful

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maureen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best market in downtown Houston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love this place, whether it is to eat something cooked there or just to browse the wonderful and unique items they carry. I wish there could be one of these in every city in the nation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank frenchie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenicia Specialty Foods also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Phoenicia Specialty Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing