We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointing experience”
Review of Jeannine's Bistro - CLOSED

Jeannine's Bistro
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing experience”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were invited as guests of long time patrons of this restaurant during our recent stay in Houston. I can quite honestly tell you this was the most dissapointing eating experience I can recall. Not only were 6 out of the 7 meals ordered - delivered to our table incorrectly, but the inadequate staff were unable to even correct the mistakes! We ended up just accepting incorrect orders in order the shorten the experience. The waiting Staff didn't speak our language, English! - and the owner was totally complacent and arrogant and obnoxious (assume from Dutch side of Belgium). Our hosts (2) had mussels, both in curry sauce which was disgusting; 3 orders of the fillet mignon were way over-cooked and burnt and with a poor (incorrect) selection of vedgetables. 2 fish dishes on the menu were unnavailable and the substitutes ordered were incorrect. The wine was ok - but the soft drinks were mixed with incorrect levels of syrup. strangely enough, we didn't have either coffees or deserts! I felt truly sorry for our friends who had been eating at the restaurant for some years and who were quite embarassed. Conclusion - food, drinks, service to an extremely low level and with no efforts to correct any mistakes or apologise for such a desperate experience - give this place a big swerve!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
houston, texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great way to celebrate birthday”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We've known about the high quality of food since their days at old Westheimer location.

This location is charming also, just at edge of the Historic Avondale District. It was a cold dreary day but inside is cozy and welcoming.The noise level is low and the crowd seems casual and upbeat. We dined early, the bread basket was warm and tender. We ordered the large steamed mussels (just white wine, celery and onions) to share plus a veggie plate. The creamed spinach and purple cabbage are the best in Houston, the Brussel sprouts will make you discount everything you've ever heard about Brussel sprouts---they were yummy! The cylinder cut potatoes needed a bit more seasoning. Also ordered were monk fish, very tender and flakey with subtle flavors and the salmon-- a rich sauce to die for. I found myself dipping my bread in the mussel broth---it was sublime . All the portions are huge, the waitstaff attentive.

We celebrated on a Thursday, and around 7pm a charming older gentlemen sat down and played familiar French songs on an accordian. The effect went beyond charming. The crowd seemed equally mixed with young and older couples.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dachmation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
373 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

This was a lunch trip. Husband had the meatloaf plate, said it was very good. I had soup and half sandwich, croque madam and cream of mushroom . Sandwich was excellent, soup was too salty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real Find”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This cute Bistro is a great place for a casual dinner, easy to find, great parking and a wonderful menu. Service is perfect; friendly, attentive but not overbearing. The room is airy and the tables placed just the right amount apart. The menu has a variety of items you will not easily find other local places (Mussell soup). Prices are most reasonable. The wine list is limited but on the most part you will find something you like. Wine specials mid week. All in all this is a great place for that casual european dinner in Houtson.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hard for a Dallas area resident to admit.”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

As a Dallas resident I'm not supposed to like things in Houston but Jeannine's Bistro is literally worth a trip to the Bayou City for dinner. The strip-mall center decor in the Montrose doesn't impress, nor is it designed to be. The food is the star, and deserves it. Every bit as good as the best meal I've ever had in Belgium. Mussels, pommes-frites, and insanely agreeable prices make this worth a special stop. Just fantastic. Hey Jeannine....open a branch up I-45 in Big D, would ya?

Tip: it's in the heart of the Montrose so try not to go too late on a Friday or Saturday night. Parking can get a little hairy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeannine's Bistro also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing