We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for Medical Center stay”
Review of Hotel Ylem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ylem
Ranked #275 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I checked in with my mom recently to stay during her medical treatments at MD Anderson. The front desk staff was very helpful. The room was clean; although this was a smoking room, it didn't reek of cigarette smoke. We couldn't get the TV to work, but staff came quickly and fixed the problem. Their shuttle service runs until 10 PM, which was very helpful for us, as one treatment ran much later than expected. The shuttle drivers were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was pretty good and had many items to choose from. The hotel is close to several restaurants and grocery stores. We had a mini fridge and microwave in the room, which came in handy for restaurant leftovers.

Room Tip: The third floor rooms have very high ceilings!
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank TexasSWTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMedicalCenter, General Manager at Hotel Ylem, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear TexasSWTraveler,


Thank you for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable, and you had other lodging options in the area. I am happy to hear that you are happy with our staff and our cleanliness. I apologize for any inconvenience you had with your TV. We use feedback such as yours to target and resolve problems. We hope have the honor of hosting you again. We would like the opportunity of showing you a SMART stay.


At Your Service,

Sheetal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 150 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

I had to cancel my reservation the day before (not within 24 hours) because I became too sick to travel. This was to be a business trip which was booked and cancelled the previous day by my company's travel department. My credit card was billed $236.33 penalty, which I am unable to expense. Upon checking later in the day I discovered the hotel was FULLY BOOKED, so my room was re-booked. I have been trying to get an explanation or some assistance from Guest Relations who said they would contact the hotel manager who would contact me. This was 2 weeks ago. I have contacted them twice and not received any response.

Definitely do not book a room here if there is any chance at all that you could become too sick to travel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMedicalCenter, General Manager at Hotel Ylem, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Terry A,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear of your inconvenience with our cancellation policy. We use reviews, such as yours, to target areas of concern.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

At Your Service,

Sheetal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was there with my mother for some appointments I had at MD Anderson. Hotel was great! Room was very clean, although there was a hole in the wall from where it looked like they had to do some work for whatever reason but we were able to cover it up and it wasn't a bother. Didn't have to use the shuttle this time around but we did see it running and heard the front desk calling for pickups at MD so I'm assuming that would have been great too if we'd used it. Continental breakfast was pretty decent. Small egg omelets, bacon, biscuits, cereal, juice and even pancakes. Great for a quick bite before heading out. It's close to almost everything you need (restaurants and groceries) and it's a short drive to MD if you're driving yourself around. The only complaint I have (and it's really not even a complaint) is that the lobby had a very weird, armpit smell to it. Overall I was very impressed with the place and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMedicalCenter, General Manager at Hotel Ylem, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Denise G,


Thank you for taking your time and reviewing our hotel. We know that you had many lodging options in this area and you stayed with us. I am happy to hear of your impression with our hotel. I apologize for the issue with your room and the lobby. We use feedback from our guests to address our problem areas.


Again, I thank you for staying with us and we hope you will give us the honor of hosting your stay again in the future.


At Your Service,

Sheetal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My parents and I stayed there on the suites for medical reasons and the location is unbeatable (7 min to hospitals, walking distance to supermarkets, mall, restaurants, pharmacy, all!) the price was also a plus in the lower side of same category places, shuttle service is a must in these cases and they performed an excellent job catering my parents specific needs. Plus the staff! The staff is great, they all went over their heads to try to accommodate our every needs, they were corteous, polite, always smiling and providing very welcomed tips on how to handle in & about Houston. Special mention to Erica (management), Jessica (shuttle), Andy and Debbie (front desk), and also the other Erica (cleaning) Kudos to all! I'd recommend this place and their staff eyes shut !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nstiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMedicalCenter, General Manager at Hotel Ylem, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hello nstiac,


Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy you found our staff and our hotel hospitable and your stay satisfying. I have shared your comments with the staff. All of us here enjoy what we do and comments such as your brings a smile to all of us here. We hope you will give us the honor of hosting your stay again in the future.


At Your Service,

Sheetal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Shuttle transported us to and from football game. Staff recommended great restaurants in the area. Convenient to stores and gas stations.
Our TV had a color problem we reported it, staff wasn't able to correct it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearlsmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMedicalCenter, General Manager at Hotel Ylem, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hello Pearlsmom1,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We know your time is valuable and you had a number of lodging options in the area. We try to keep up to date on local restaurants and attractions to recommend to our guest and we are glad we were able to recommend some good places. We use all our feedback to help us target concerns. I apologize for the issues you had with your TV. The issue has been addressed. We want everyone's service experience to be better than OK, and assure you, if you visit us again, we will make your stay.

Thank you again for staying with us, and your kind review. We hope we have the honor of hosting you again in the near future.

At Your Service,

Sheetal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel due to having to visit MD Anderson Cancer Center. Only about 5-7 minutes from MD Anderson it was very convenient and there was plenty of parking. Hotel staff was very friendly, breakfast area was very well laid out, selection was the best we have seen at a Holiday Inn Express with fresh pancakes, bacon, sausage, eggs, bagels, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee, well laid out room with lots of counter space. Wireless was intermittent however I hooked up data line to laptop and got good connection. Tried the wireless on two different laptops and both were spotty. Beds were a little softer than we are use to however were acceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMedicalCenter, General Manager at Hotel Ylem, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hello Dale C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our staff and facility. We try to offer a great breakfast and glad you enjoyed it. I am sorry to hear
of your issues with the WiFi connectivity. We use feedback such as yours to address problem areas. As such we are investigating the issue and are working to resolve it. I do hope we have the honor of hosting your stay again.

At Your Service,

Sheetal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

While unloading our bags from the car, we noticed someone stealing the fourth and final tire off another patron's car this evening. Many of the guests at this hotel are receiving treatment at a nearby hospital, and that is why my family is here, for cancer treatment. What you don't expect is the unpatrolled parking lot having four tires stolen right off someone's car. We met another guest tonight who said they witnessed the exact same thing happen 2 months ago, and had pictures to prove it, as do I. The security guard finally showed up about 3 hours later, at midnight, which unfortunately was too late to help prevent theft. This hotel has a serious security problem, and if you value the wheels on your vehicle, I highly recommend finding somewhere else to stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMedicalCenter, General Manager at Hotel Ylem, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Hello BettyL,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to advise us of your dissatisfaction, which is the first step towards improvement of our services. I am committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. I sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. It is especially unfortunate that this is an issue in the Medical Center area where people are here for medical treatment. The safety of all of our guests is one of my greatest concerns, and that is why I do not take this issue lightly. In addition to the security in the evening I am now working on increasing security during the day as well so we may have 24 hour security. Please know that I am available if your would like to discuss this matter further. Again, thank you for your time and I do hope to serve you once again in the future.


At Your Service,

Sheetal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Comfort Suites
#208 of 517 in Houston
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites
#251 of 517 in Houston
7 reviews
Moody Manor
#303 of 517 in Houston
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ylem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ylem

Address: 8080 Main St, Houston, TX 77025 (Formerly 8080 Main)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: $108 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ylem 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and welcome! We would like to invite you to come and experience a stay at the 8080 Main. Whether you are coming in for business or pleasure, see how we can make your stay a personal and unique one. We are conveniently located near the Texas Medical Center, Rice University, the Museum District, and NRG Stadium. Just minutes away from Houston's world renowned MD Anderson, Memorial Hermann, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's & St. Luke's hospitals, our hotel may be just what you need for your home away from home. For all you sports fans out there, we have just the thing for you too. Come and enjoy Houston s very own Texans, or see your favorite college or soccer teams battle it out on the field. The NRG Stadium is also located nearby. Shuttle service is available to the Medical Center area and Reliant Stadium. Taxis are available for all other locations. Relax in our elegant yet modern rooms with amenities such as a microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee maker. High-speed Internet access, both wireless and wired, along with a variety of movie channels are also provided free of charge. Enjoy a deluxe complimentary breakfast, Smart Roast coffee and choices of hot items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Ylem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Houston
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Houston Medical Center
Holiday Inn Express Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing