We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unbelievably horrible experience $2000 later!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of 8080 Main

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
8080 Main
Ranked #279 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“unbelievably horrible experience $2000 later!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've never been treated so terrible in my life! I live in Oklahoma. I just used the phone book to find a hotel. This hotel popped up it was close to the cancer center at MD Anderson so they gave us a deal with no taxes if we stayed a month. I got terriably sick and had to call the ambulance to the hotel and was admitted into the hospital. That night my 3 year old grandson's diaper leaked on the sheets. Walker called and was threatening my daughter if we damaged or soiled anymore sheets he was kicking us out. First he tried to lie and say the mattress was stained. Walker was asked to come to the room to look at the mattress there is no stains and we have pictures to prove it! Walker and the district manager decided to kick my daughter and her two small children out in the streets hundreds of miles from home then he went back on his word on the price of the hotel and decided to charge us more than that was initially agreed upon because they didn't like my daughter's attitude after being kicked out. They charged me over $2000 for 18 days and Walker was a complete jerk I told him I was goning to complain he told me to go for it that nothing would happen because It was individually owned. That's my experience with this hotel on 8080 Main Street in Houston, TX. My hope is that no one has to encounter what I have with this hotel. I would like to give credit where it is deserved and that is to the lady in the kitchen. She always greeted us with a smile and willing to lend a helping hand. The gentlemen driving the shuttle were always pleasant and yes full of information. Thank you THREE people on the staff that actually treat people with kindness.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letsfindacure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker V, Front Office Manager at 8080 Main, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Letsfindacure


Thank you for taking the time to review us. We take feedback of our guests very seriously.
We are glad you enjoyed some of our service team, and hope your cancer treatment goes well.



At Your Service,

Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    32
    23
    15
    13
See reviews for
52
16
11
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I travel to the medical center on an annual basis and this hotel continues to provide me with the best of service and comfort. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. The breakfast staff works hard to please the guests. The shuttle drivers go "the extra mile" in more ways than one! And the front desk personnel are very willing to help and answer questions about the area. I will be staying here again next year. By the way, they do have a medical rate available which helps with the expense.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alongfortheride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker V, Manager at 8080 Main, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Alongfortheride,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable, and you have plenty of lodging options in the area.

We are always pleased to get a pat on the back and to be informed when we are doing something right. We are glad, you found us friendly, accommodating, and enjoyed our breakfast and shuttle. (We love our shuttle drivers too)

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and review. We are glad we had the honor of hosting you, and hope to see you next year on your annual trip.

At Your Service,

Walker Valco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I needed to stay close to the medical center and found a great deal at this HIE. The room was great and the bed was comfortable. The grounds were clean though parking was tight. The staff was wonderful and they went above and beyond to help me print out some medical records I needed when I discovered I had left the printed copies at home (luckily I had them on USB drive). Breakfast was great and the woman who works in the great room for breakfast was wonderful.
I didn't use the shuttle but they do have a shuttle that runs to the medical center facilities every hour during the day (the hotel is about a mile away from the facilities).
This will be my "go to" hotel now anytime I need a place in the medical center area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy77803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker V, Manager at 8080 Main, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Ms. Tracy,


Thank you for taking the time to review us. We know your time is valuable, and you had plenty of lodging options. We are grateful you gave us the oppurtunity to serve.

It is always a pleasure when a guest gives us such a positive review. We are very proud of our breakfast hostess, she helps set a warm tone for all of our guests. Your comments will be shared with the staff, our hostess in particular, so that they will know their efforts are being noticed.

Your review is better than most paid adverts, and we appreciate that we will be seeing you in the future. Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to serving you soon.

At Your Service,

Walker V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place is amazingly nice, the staff exceptional. We came for our IVF treatment. The staff was compassionate, obviously caring. Always met with a smile. We will be making several trips back for our follow up appointment. We won't stay anywhere else. Many thanks!!
Roger & Katrina + 2 new growing babies!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger-Katrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker V, Manager at 8080 Main, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Roger and Katrina!


Firstly, THAT IS AWESOME! Congratulations, we are super stoked for you. The staff will be psyched to hear how it all worked out, and be pleased we will get to host you here during the journey.

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, and letting us know how everything is progressing. The most rewarding moments of our job, are when our medical guests achieve their goals.

Thanks again for staying with us, and your wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you and Roger again soon

At Your Service,

Walker V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

stayed here four nights. it's typical holiday inn express hotel. free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, free parking, etc. it's very accessible to everything. walking distance to 24h cvs pharmacy. nearby super target, restaurants. we shipped my son's computer ahead of time and they kept it for us. it arrived their thursday and we checked in friday. that was very nice of them.
pros:- shuttle service monday-friday only (no week-ends), nice driver and informative
- reliable and free wi-fi
- some helpful staff
- friendly, professional and helpful breakfast attendant (francy?)
- ample and safe parking
- fridge/micro in the room
cons:
- one front desk clerk not knowledgeable on hotel phone charges (local calls), puts you on
hold forever and doesn't go back to answer your questions (we had to hung up after
waiting so long)
- front desk clerks needs to say good morning, good afternoon or whatever the case
maybe and "smiles" goes a long way
- needs more cleaning in the public hallways, stairs, elevator, etc.
- no safe for valuables

i was speaking to some guests and they're repeat clientele. they come here for the medical centers around the areas for treatment. i chose this hotel this time coz of the value. we dropped off my son to attend Rice Univ.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker V, Guest Relations Manager at 8080 Main, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Ms Mahleen.

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Your feedback was indepth, and will be useful in targeting areas where we can improve.

I apologize sincerely for the failure of our staff to greet you authentically each time they had the chance to do so. Managment will take the necessary steps to ensure that this does not happen to you, or any other guest, in the future.

It is disconcerting that our staff was not ready for your questions on long distance and local charges. (They are free) . We also have safes, and safety deposit boxes, available to our guests, at no charge. If you have a moment to talk more about your stay, we would be happy to discuss a resolution, so that we might win your business if you visit your son again soon.

In closing, we wish we could have made your stay perfect, and thank you again for the many kind things you said about property, Your time is valuable, and you have many lodging options. We are grateful you chose us, provided candid feedback, and hope to serve you again in the future.

At Your Service,

Walker

Post Script: Your observations about the public areas, will be taken to heart. And I agree, Francy is the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruitvale, TX
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My sister and I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel and we just have to rate everything " EXCELLENT " ! The room was clean and well stocked; all employees we came in contact with were very polite and knowledgeable.
The staff was awesome ! Mr. Gray ( shuttle driver ) was just wonderful. Great attitude and sense of humor. The manager was outstanding as well as Jessica and the other employees whom we forgot to get names.
Should we be visiting Houston again in the future; we will be wanting to stay at this particular facility again !
Best thing that happened on this trip . . . my sister is now " CANCER FREE " !

Room Tip: Just let the front desk staff know what you would prefer and they will do their very best to give yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker V, Manager at 8080 Main, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Mr. Bruce C

Firstly, HECK YEAH NO MORE CANCER! We are big supporters of American Cancer Society here, and our favorite thing to hear, is that our Medical guests get the win.

You should hear our Shuttle driver sing, his singing voice is better than his stand up :)

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We know your time is valuable, and you had a lot of choices, we are grateful that we were the ones who got to host you. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

At Your Service,

Walker Valco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Second times a charm!
This hotel worked out perfect for me. It is about 20 minutes from HOU and perfectly situated where I needed to be. It was one of the few hotels that I found with free parking. The hotel seems brand new (it isn't very old but still kept in great shape). My room was very comfy - featured high ceiling (I really like this because most hotels just have standard height ceilings, the extra couple of feet makes the space feel so much bigger), fridge, microwave and a huge LCD tv (i think it was 42 inches). The Front Desk Manager (Walker) really helped me out during my stay. I really appreciate a good staff at a hotel that sincerely enjoys making my life easier - this place has got it! Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcinoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker V, Guest Relations Manager at 8080 Main, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Mr. Marcino G

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable, and you have a number of lodging choices in the area. We are sincerely grateful you chose us. Our Ownership does not believe in charging folks for parking, we are glad you appreciate our stance on the issue.

We are very pleased that our staff succeeded making your stay hassle free. It is truly rewarding when a guest takes notice of our staff's efforts and takes the time to review us.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thanks for Choosing Us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston SW-Medical Ctr Area
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- near NRG Park/Medical Center
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#202 of 504 in Houston
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Medical Center
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Houston Medical Center
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center/NRG Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8080 Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8080 Main

Property: 8080 Main
Address: 8080 Main St, Houston, TX 77025-2808 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 8080 Main 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and welcome! We would like to invite you to come and experience a stay at the 8080 Main. Whether you are coming in for business or pleasure, see how we can make your stay a personal and unique one. We are conveniently located near the Texas Medical Center, Rice University, the Museum District, and NRG Stadium. Just minutes away from Houston's world renowned MD Anderson, Memorial Hermann, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's & St. Luke's hospitals, our hotel may be just what you need for your home away from home. For all you sports fans out there, we have just the thing for you too. Come and enjoy Houston s very own Texans, or see your favorite college or soccer teams battle it out on the field. The NRG Stadium is also located nearby. Shuttle service is available to the Medical Center area and Reliant Stadium. Taxis are available for all other locations. Relax in our elegant yet modern rooms with amenities such as a microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee maker. High-speed Internet access, both wireless and wired, along with a variety of movie channels are also provided free of charge. Enjoy a deluxe complimentary breakfast, Smart Roast coffee and choices of hot items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 8080 Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Houston
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Houston Medical Center
Holiday Inn Express Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing