We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Houston-West University
Ranked #158 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed June 11, 2006

We stayed at the Courtyard the second weekend of June. We chose it for its proximity to the Medical Center and the University area. We liked our choice as the location had ample restaurant choices, easy access to U.S. 59'e expressway, and to the major surface streets in that area. The hotel staff were pleasant and ready to help. I had understood from the expedia(--) website that breakfast was included. The hotel and expedia obliged, and gve me coupons. Ask for breakfast coupons when you arrive and avoid any confusion. The staff recommended hotels and quickily provided maps to all the locations we had in mind. One reviewer commented that this was in an industrial area. While it does face the expressway, it's not a nosie problem. There's a residence Inn adjacent to the Courtyard and there's a large retirement apartment complex next door. So, it's a major residential section. You can walk (safely) to several restaurants and a large shopping village that has a major grocery store. It would be a good choice if you didn't have a car, or just liked to walk.
Our one complaint: the double beds were not the best. An upgrade of beds would be nice.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mac6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    54
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
34
25
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2006

Stayed at the Courtyard West University in Houston over Memorial Day weekend. Had first floor room directly next to the pool - which means unless you want people at the pool looking directly into your room you have to keep your curtains closed (pool open until 10pm). So, request a room away from the pool if that's a concern.

Staff was very friendly, though seemed a little short staffed. Breakfast buffet was average (limited selection). Eggs were bland. Service was adequate.

Room was clean, but there was a distinct odor upon entering the room (sort of like stale cigarette smoke - had requested non-smoking room though). Not really sure what it was... but I was too tired upon arrival to request a room change. Guess I eventually got used to the odor. Decent, though limited cable TV channel selection. Didn't use the high-speed internet access, but used the public computer to print my boarding pass for my flight back and that was fine.

Otherwise, property located in an industrial area, but very close (less than 1/2 mile) to nice restaurants, shopping, etc...

Overall I would rate this Courtyard as average. Nothing special and not in the best area of town. Would probably look for another property next time.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saturn0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 18, 2006

My daughter and I stayed here recently and we were most impressed. I chose this hotel in the Houston area based on the reviews I found on this site. I have to say I am very picky when it comes to the type of hotel my family stays in. Usually, it is a 4 or 5 star full service hotel only; Marriott, Ritz-Carlton, Hyatt, etc. I decided to take a chance on this Courtyard due to the fact that it was the closest one to our destination, the Museum of Natural Science and the hotel offered a shuttle service to and from the museum (in fact the shuttle service is available to take any guest going anywhere in a 3 mile range from the hotel). I have to say the location was a bit odd as it is surrounded by some industry, but the hotel grounds are nice and Kirby street is only a couple blocks away with all the restaurants you could imagine.
As I am beyond obsessive about room cleanliness, I was a bit apprehensive about what I would find, and was happy to find the room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. Beds were very comfortable, bathrooms very clean. We had a great stay here.
I was most inpressed with the staff however. Of all the hotels I have stayed in, and the list is extensive, this staff was by far the kindest, most helpful and genuinly caring staff I have EVER run across. Always had a smile on their faces and couldn't do enough for their guests. For instance: I called down to the front desk about 9PM to ask if they served flavored coffee in the hotel. The front desk attendant said they had some coffee in the lobby, but it wasn't flavored. She stated there was a Starbucks nearby and they would be glad to call for the shuttle and have it drive me to Starbucks where it would wait for me to order my coffee and bring me back or it would go with my order and pick it up for me, I wouldn't even have to leave the hotel room. That level of service amazed me, but it got better when I decided to just go down to the lobby and get a cup of coffee myself ( they offed to bring it up to me!). I asked for some real cream and she said they would have it waiting for me (again stating they would be happy to bring it up to me). As I approached the front desk, there was a staff member, holding out a china cup, saucer, and spoon for me and another staff member took me to the kitchen where they got fresh cream and sugar (in individual glass containers) for me and put everything on a tray for me to carry to my room, again stating they would be happy to carry it up for me if I wished. What wonderful service!!
I would definately stay in this hotel again and, for the first time ever, I will be writting corporate Marriott a letter about the wonderful staff at the West university Houston Couryard.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 17, 2006

This Courtyard By Marriott was one of the nicest I have stayed in. The staff was attentive and friendly, the breakfast buffet was hot, fresh and reasonably priced. The rooms and public areas were clean and tastfully decorated.

There were two small problems but they didn't put a damper on our stay. The first was that, as others have said, the hotel is poorly marked from the road and a little difficult to spot at first. The second was that the water pressure in the toilets was not always full-power and made it sometimes difficult to flush.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2006

We were very pleased with the 3 nights we spent at the Courtyard Marriott, West University in January 2006. The room was large, clean and comfortable-- the bed was great and the shower had excellent water pressure. Guest rooms have a large desk with free highspeed internet and there are two free PCs with internet access in the business center. Ample free parking. Our rate included a full breakfast with all the usual eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, cereals, pastries, fruit, juices, coffee, tea etc. Staff were all friendly and helpful.

The hotel does not have a restaurant for lunch or dinner and the bar is only open Mon-Thur but there are plenty of options close by.

The location is convenient for anything in West University and downtown Houston. The location, however, could hardly be called attractive. It's kind of industrial looking and surrounded by warehouses, electricity pylons and a highway. You definitely need a car to get anywhere.

We paid about $100 per night including tax, service and breakfast. You would pay double this amount for a similar place in Boston.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MB747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2005

What a great value for the price! Great location - right off route 59 and nearby route 45. Only 10 minute drive to downtown area. Rooms were very clean and spacious...looked like they had been recently renovated. Bathrooms were huge - marble countertops, very clean showers, always plenty of fresh towels. I would definitely recommend this hotel. We are rather picky travelers and we enjoyed ourselves here.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weloveplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2004

Rooms were nicer than the Marriotts I've stayed in this year. Employees were pleasant, well-trained, and helpful.

If you are looking for a clean, tastefully decorated, well-maintained hotel room and do not need a full-service hotel (concierge, etc.), then this is a great choice.

Amazing for the price! Can't recommend highly enough.

After several years of visiting a son at Rice University, I finally found the place to stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank OldWhatsHisName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Houston-West University
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Houston Greenway Plaza
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Houston - Med. Ctr. - Greenway Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
1.2 mi away
Modern B&B
Modern B&B
#70 of 517 in Houston
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Houston-West University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston-West University

Property: Courtyard Houston-West University
Address: 2929 Westpark Dr, Houston, TX 77005-4222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston-West University 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Houston-West University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Houston-West University Hotel Houston
Houston Marriott
Houston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing