We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Houston-West University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Houston-West University
Ranked #168 of 488 Hotels in Houston
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Interesting stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were in Houston for my GF to qualify as a Running Instructor when we stayed here.

First morning we were kicked out when all the fire alarms went off and weren't allowed back in until the Fire crews said so.
This is a great Residence in in a superb location to access Houston.
The staff treated us like royalty and we truly felt welcomed here. The suite was just that little bit more comfortable than many we'd stayed in. Everything was really "just right".
When I go to Houston again, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonWilshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    40
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
38
18
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while in town for a wedding. We had not stayed in a Residence Inn previously and were favorably impressed. The desk clerk was friendly and very helpful upon check-in. The room was spacious and very clean. A very comfortable bed. Quiet even though nearly full the nights we were there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I'm posting this a little late (better late than never)...I stayed here in the middle of my relocation to Houston, in between a bunch of other stays - mainly due to proximity to the Galleria and areas I was home-searching. I checked in very late and the process was seamless. My room was large - an end unit. Large room / large bathroom. I liked that I could walk across the street to a Mexican restaurant for a nightcap. In the morning, I did notice the breakfast area was on the smaller side, but I found a spot and the breakfast buffet was good. Maybe adding some spots for singles (like a breakfast bar) would help here. For access to the West U / Rice Village & Galleria areas, this location can't be beat. Decent value, too. Good wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bk_t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corpus christi,texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel was perfect. It's less than 2 miles from the Museum District, so everything we wanted to see was close by. The hotel is very clean and quiet, it's set back away from the freeway, so you don't hear any road noise. We stayed for two days, and the young lady at the front desk always greeted us upon leaving or returning. Instead of the standard "hello", we were greeted with "hey, welcome back!" or "how was your trip to the museum?" Very personalized! The hotel has a nice little bistro that has a Starbucks inside. We took advantage of the 24 hr convenience store located at the front desk. It was nice to be able to go downstairs and have access food and drink at al hours. I will definitely stay at this hotel on my next trip to Houston

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abscess234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, Ca.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Barring this hotel being pretty hard to find (though it is pretty much off the freeway), it was a good nights stay. The parking is kind of kooky; and the fact that there is a Courtyard Marriott practically attached to it is a little confusing.
There was a mix-up at the front desk at checkin, but by checkout it was resolved, and the front desk staff was personable and friendly.
The room was "residence inn" standard; and the beds were comfy and inviting.

We shopped at a Whole Foods market not too many blocks away, in a very "trendy" upscale block of shops/restaurants..etc; there is also a grocery store a few blocks away.

Very filling breakfast.

Unfortunately, I didn't have time for the pool (if there is one.)

If by chance you get lost (as we did on a very wet, rainy June evening), you can drive up and down some beautiful stately homes and tree-shaded avenues near the University. Each home is very well kept and architecturally different.

And we were surprised to see just before the turnoff on the major freeway...there was Joel Osteen's mega church Lakewood Church...right off the freeway. And it did look mega!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ca Mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The staff was excellent especially Dominic at the front desk, going above and beyond to make us feel at home. Breakfast was good and fresh, with a July 4th special red white blue yogurt snack. Nice and clean pool was lots of fun for the kids. Lakewood church , pastor Joel osteen's, a few minutes away was a bonus stop over.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bom-fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hotel is in a very good shape and reasonable location. Location is not a problem since they provide hourly shuttle service to places around the area. Kitchen is ok. Great breakfast. Nice and helpful staff. Well equipped fittness center. One thing to complaint about is the pool is too small for regular swim, tho it is still good for fun. It is of a distance to the medical center and therefore there is more regular clients and less of patients.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FifiOctopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Courtyard Houston-West University
Modern B&B
#53 of 488 in Houston
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Houston-West University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston-West University

Property: Residence Inn Houston-West University
Address: 2939 Westpark Dr, Houston, TX 77005-4222
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 488 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston-West University 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home at the brand new Residence Inn by Marriott Houston West University. The hotel allows quick access to the world renowned Texas Medical Center, home to MD Anderson Cancer Center, where we offer complimentary shuttle service daily. The hotel is centrally located in the Greenway Plaza - West University area, minutes away from Lakewood Church, Reliant Park, Galleria, world class Museum district, Downtown Houston, Rice University and a variety of upscale restaurants and nightlife. On-site amenities include complimentary hot breakfast daily, Social Hour, outdoor pool/whirlpool, exercise room, library with books, Sportscourt and complimentary high speed internet access in all suites. The hotel is conveniently located 1 mile from the Metro light rail. You can count on Residence Inn by Marriott West University to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn Houston-West University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston West University Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing