We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Houston-West University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Houston-West University
Ranked #176 of 492 Hotels in Houston
corpus christi,texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel was perfect. It's less than 2 miles from the Museum District, so everything we wanted to see was close by. The hotel is very clean and quiet, it's set back away from the freeway, so you don't hear any road noise. We stayed for two days, and the young lady at the front desk always greeted us upon leaving or returning. Instead of the standard "hello", we were greeted with "hey, welcome back!" or "how was your trip to the museum?" Very personalized! The hotel has a nice little bistro that has a Starbucks inside. We took advantage of the 24 hr convenience store located at the front desk. It was nice to be able to go downstairs and have access food and drink at al hours. I will definitely stay at this hotel on my next trip to Houston

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abscess234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    42
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
39
18
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, Ca.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Barring this hotel being pretty hard to find (though it is pretty much off the freeway), it was a good nights stay. The parking is kind of kooky; and the fact that there is a Courtyard Marriott practically attached to it is a little confusing.
There was a mix-up at the front desk at checkin, but by checkout it was resolved, and the front desk staff was personable and friendly.
The room was "residence inn" standard; and the beds were comfy and inviting.

We shopped at a Whole Foods market not too many blocks away, in a very "trendy" upscale block of shops/restaurants..etc; there is also a grocery store a few blocks away.

Very filling breakfast.

Unfortunately, I didn't have time for the pool (if there is one.)

If by chance you get lost (as we did on a very wet, rainy June evening), you can drive up and down some beautiful stately homes and tree-shaded avenues near the University. Each home is very well kept and architecturally different.

And we were surprised to see just before the turnoff on the major freeway...there was Joel Osteen's mega church Lakewood Church...right off the freeway. And it did look mega!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ca Mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The staff was excellent especially Dominic at the front desk, going above and beyond to make us feel at home. Breakfast was good and fresh, with a July 4th special red white blue yogurt snack. Nice and clean pool was lots of fun for the kids. Lakewood church , pastor Joel osteen's, a few minutes away was a bonus stop over.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bom-fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hotel is in a very good shape and reasonable location. Location is not a problem since they provide hourly shuttle service to places around the area. Kitchen is ok. Great breakfast. Nice and helpful staff. Well equipped fittness center. One thing to complaint about is the pool is too small for regular swim, tho it is still good for fun. It is of a distance to the medical center and therefore there is more regular clients and less of patients.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FifiOctopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was our home during a five-day stay for my son's college graduation. The hotel is great- nice rooms, great breakfast, great location, nice courtyard with pool and patio chairs. The rooms were ideal with the kitchen facilities. I was able to store food for graduation festivities with ease. The pool courtyard provide a nice get away when we needed a little recharging time. The breakfast area was filled with other families in town for graduation. It was fun, but I felt sorry for anything staying there not involved in the activities. There were stores and restaurants close by too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgrodek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

In comparison to other Residence Inns, the kitchenette could do a bit of updating in regards to appliances and decor. Common areas are clean and uptodate. Staff is attentive and friendly. The included breakfast is standard for RI. I appreciated the free WSJ.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Residence Inn Houston West University is an excellent hotel. The hotel is conveniently located to MD Anderson. There is a shuttle which will take guests back and forth to the hospital. The drivers are all very courteous and patient. The staff are all very friendly and compassionate. We have been staying on and off here for over a year and a half, and do not have one complaint. The front desk staff all recognize us and actually come out from behind the desk to hug us. They really make us feel as if we are at home. They serve breakfast in the morning, and a light dinner 5 nights a week. There is a Starbucks within walking distance, and a Kroger within 2 blocks. Even though this is not a 5 star hotel, I would choose this over one because of the friendly staff and it's location. The shuttle will also take you to Rice Village, and the Galleria Mall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wulffish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Courtyard Houston-West University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Modern B&B
#56 of 492 in Houston
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Houston-West University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston-West University

Property: Residence Inn Houston-West University
Address: 2939 Westpark Dr, Houston, TX 77005-4222
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 492 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston-West University 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home at the brand new Residence Inn by Marriott Houston West University. The hotel allows quick access to the world renowned Texas Medical Center, home to MD Anderson Cancer Center, where we offer complimentary shuttle service daily. The hotel is centrally located in the Greenway Plaza - West University area, minutes away from Lakewood Church, Reliant Park, Galleria, world class Museum district, Downtown Houston, Rice University and a variety of upscale restaurants and nightlife. On-site amenities include complimentary hot breakfast daily, Social Hour, outdoor pool/whirlpool, exercise room, library with books, Sportscourt and complimentary high speed internet access in all suites. The hotel is conveniently located 1 mile from the Metro light rail. You can count on Residence Inn by Marriott West University to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Houston-West University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston West University Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing