We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff & comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Houston-West University
Ranked #195 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The staff was excellent especially Dominic at the front desk, going above and beyond to make us feel at home. Breakfast was good and fresh, with a July 4th special red white blue yogurt snack. Nice and clean pool was lots of fun for the kids. Lakewood church , pastor Joel osteen's, a few minutes away was a bonus stop over.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bom-fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 147 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hotel is in a very good shape and reasonable location. Location is not a problem since they provide hourly shuttle service to places around the area. Kitchen is ok. Great breakfast. Nice and helpful staff. Well equipped fittness center. One thing to complaint about is the pool is too small for regular swim, tho it is still good for fun. It is of a distance to the medical center and therefore there is more regular clients and less of patients.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FifiOctopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was our home during a five-day stay for my son's college graduation. The hotel is great- nice rooms, great breakfast, great location, nice courtyard with pool and patio chairs. The rooms were ideal with the kitchen facilities. I was able to store food for graduation festivities with ease. The pool courtyard provide a nice get away when we needed a little recharging time. The breakfast area was filled with other families in town for graduation. It was fun, but I felt sorry for anything staying there not involved in the activities. There were stores and restaurants close by too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sgrodek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

In comparison to other Residence Inns, the kitchenette could do a bit of updating in regards to appliances and decor. Common areas are clean and uptodate. Staff is attentive and friendly. The included breakfast is standard for RI. I appreciated the free WSJ.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Residence Inn Houston West University is an excellent hotel. The hotel is conveniently located to MD Anderson. There is a shuttle which will take guests back and forth to the hospital. The drivers are all very courteous and patient. The staff are all very friendly and compassionate. We have been staying on and off here for over a year and a half, and do not have one complaint. The front desk staff all recognize us and actually come out from behind the desk to hug us. They really make us feel as if we are at home. They serve breakfast in the morning, and a light dinner 5 nights a week. There is a Starbucks within walking distance, and a Kroger within 2 blocks. Even though this is not a 5 star hotel, I would choose this over one because of the friendly staff and it's location. The shuttle will also take you to Rice Village, and the Galleria Mall.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wulffish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Residence Inn is an excellent choice for long term stays if you are needing to visit the Medical Center or work at Greenway Plaza. The location is convenient even though the proximity to more industrial surroundings are a little uncomfortable. The rooms are comfortable and have all of the amenities needed for extended stays. The staff is very warm and welcoming and eager to please. The breakfast is not extremely diverse with food but is filling. The evening foods are a good substitute for quick snacks either for dinner or before dinner. The proximity to the Marriott Courtyard also gives you the opportunity to take advantage of their restaurants. There are a number of good restaurants in the area along with most other support services - grocery stores, dry cleaners, etc.

Room Tip: Interior rooms off the pool area are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dallastraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Despite the unhappy reviews of others, we had and excellent experience and we were satisfied in all respects. If the recent reviews are true, we got the best two bedroom in the house. With two baths, a kitchen and living room, and easy access to the city, we had no complaints, but to the contrary, only compliments. If I had read the recent reviews, I would not have chosen to stay - luckily I hadn't read them until I started this review. Bad karma for some, but not me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcbbill09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Courtyard Houston-West University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Modern B&B
#68 of 517 in Houston
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Houston-West University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston-West University

Address: 2939 Westpark Dr, Houston, TX 77005-4222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: $134 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston-West University 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home at the brand new Residence Inn by Marriott Houston West University. The hotel allows quick access to the world renowned Texas Medical Center, home to MD Anderson Cancer Center, where we offer complimentary shuttle service daily. The hotel is centrally located in the Greenway Plaza - West University area, minutes away from Lakewood Church, Reliant Park, Galleria, world class Museum district, Downtown Houston, Rice University and a variety of upscale restaurants and nightlife. On-site amenities include complimentary hot breakfast daily, Social Hour, outdoor pool/whirlpool, exercise room, library with books, Sportscourt and complimentary high speed internet access in all suites. The hotel is conveniently located 1 mile from the Metro light rail. You can count on Residence Inn by Marriott West University to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Houston-West University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston West University Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing