We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable Stay, Dated Kitchenette” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Houston-West University

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Houston-West University
Ranked #171 of 497 Hotels in Houston
Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay, Dated Kitchenette”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

In comparison to other Residence Inns, the kitchenette could do a bit of updating in regards to appliances and decor. Common areas are clean and uptodate. Staff is attentive and friendly. The included breakfast is standard for RI. I appreciated the free WSJ.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    45
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
20
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Residence Inn Houston West University is an excellent hotel. The hotel is conveniently located to MD Anderson. There is a shuttle which will take guests back and forth to the hospital. The drivers are all very courteous and patient. The staff are all very friendly and compassionate. We have been staying on and off here for over a year and a half, and do not have one complaint. The front desk staff all recognize us and actually come out from behind the desk to hug us. They really make us feel as if we are at home. They serve breakfast in the morning, and a light dinner 5 nights a week. There is a Starbucks within walking distance, and a Kroger within 2 blocks. Even though this is not a 5 star hotel, I would choose this over one because of the friendly staff and it's location. The shuttle will also take you to Rice Village, and the Galleria Mall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wulffish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Residence Inn is an excellent choice for long term stays if you are needing to visit the Medical Center or work at Greenway Plaza. The location is convenient even though the proximity to more industrial surroundings are a little uncomfortable. The rooms are comfortable and have all of the amenities needed for extended stays. The staff is very warm and welcoming and eager to please. The breakfast is not extremely diverse with food but is filling. The evening foods are a good substitute for quick snacks either for dinner or before dinner. The proximity to the Marriott Courtyard also gives you the opportunity to take advantage of their restaurants. There are a number of good restaurants in the area along with most other support services - grocery stores, dry cleaners, etc.

Room Tip: Interior rooms off the pool area are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallastraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL Keys
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Despite the unhappy reviews of others, we had and excellent experience and we were satisfied in all respects. If the recent reviews are true, we got the best two bedroom in the house. With two baths, a kitchen and living room, and easy access to the city, we had no complaints, but to the contrary, only compliments. If I had read the recent reviews, I would not have chosen to stay - luckily I hadn't read them until I started this review. Bad karma for some, but not me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcbbill09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

First, I am a Marriott Platinum member, so I've stayed at a few Marriotts in my time. This Residence Inn (RI) is one of the newer "Type 2" hotels with inside entrances and all one building. But for being a newer model, it is severely in need of an upgrade. Carpet is worn and dirty, appliances a a bit dated and show their age. They could spruce things up with some elbow grease and a scrub brush. Example: Walking into breakfast the other morning from the room, the hallway to the short outside walkway was dirty and the pigeon poop in the walkway was still there from my previous stay. Elevators need a vacuuming. Parking lots need a trash pickup. The breakfast is RI standard. Kudos for the free local paper and Wall Street Journal. Very hard to land discounts as with all Houston hotels, but they do have a medical/patient rate. Fairly good soundproofing between the rooms. Just seems like the owners are skimping on updates and housekeeping staff to keep expenses down. Much nicer neighborhood than the South Main Street RI and Courtyard, though the hotel is on a semi-industrial street. Nice Kroger's 1/4 mile away and lots of shops, Whole Foods, restaurants in the close-by area.

Room Tip: Avoid courtyard-facing rooms to avoid sports court and pool noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David0250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I am a Marriott fan, if it is up to me every trip I take I would stay at Marriotts. I travel over 100 days a year for work and this time around I took the weekend off and went to Houston. I chose this hotel because normally Residence Inns are superb, but not this one! The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable, they needed replacement, the phone didn´t work, the TV stand did not swivel therefore you had to watch TV only in the living room but not in bed, etc. I had to ask them twice to fix everything and they didn´t. Breakfast is good though,and that is just the only good thing I have to say about the hotel. Ohh and the AC is tremendously noisy. I think I would recommend to look elsewhere

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjliberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

While the staff was friendly, the hotel is run down and in severe need of an upgrade. We almost checked out, but stayed due to inertia. We were only there 3 days. Not a great Marriott experience.

We had to have a technician show us how to turn on the gas fireplace. Houston this time of year is normally pretty warm, but while we were there the temperature was in the 50's. Cold. The on/off switch is hidden, I think because the management doesn't want people to use the fireplace. Also, since we were there for the holiday (New Years), no one made up the room. They only supplied clean towels. Not a big deal, but that comes with the price of the room, don't you think?

The kitchen floor was cracked and buckled. The drapes had bare spots that let the light through. The furniture was dated and uncomfortable. And saving the worst for last, the beds (advertised and requested 2 queen size), were full size at best. If they were queen, they must have been from 50 years ago when the average hight was 5'5". All in all, not a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrPeter_144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Courtyard Houston-West University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Houston-West University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston-West University

Property: Residence Inn Houston-West University
Address: 2939 Westpark Dr, Houston, TX 77005-4222
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 497 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston-West University 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home at the brand new Residence Inn by Marriott Houston West University. The hotel allows quick access to the world renowned Texas Medical Center, home to MD Anderson Cancer Center, where we offer complimentary shuttle service daily. The hotel is centrally located in the Greenway Plaza - West University area, minutes away from Lakewood Church, Reliant Park, Galleria, world class Museum district, Downtown Houston, Rice University and a variety of upscale restaurants and nightlife. On-site amenities include complimentary hot breakfast daily, Social Hour, outdoor pool/whirlpool, exercise room, library with books, Sportscourt and complimentary high speed internet access in all suites. The hotel is conveniently located 1 mile from the Metro light rail. You can count on Residence Inn by Marriott West University to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Houston-West University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston West University Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing