We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great downtown location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Houston Downtown
Ranked #34 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great downtown location!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had been planning a stop in Houston for a few days during our annual baseball vacation and was glad when the Westin became available. I had been at this hotel before but never had the chance to stay here. The check in process was smooth and efficient. We always try and reserve a 2 bedroom suite or a suite with a separate bedroom and living room with a sofa bed. The Westin did not disappoint with its 1 bedroom suite!! The suite was very spacious with a very nice sized living room with a sofa bed, an nice easy chair, wet bar with a medium size fridge and TV on a low dresser with plenty of space. The bedroom included a king size bed, 2nd LCD TV on a medium height dresser, also with plenty of drawer space, a desk and chair and 2 nightstands, a closet was also in the bedroom. One of the best features of the room was the very spacious bathroom with double sink vanity that also included a low vanity for my friend to sit and do her hair and makeup after her shower. The toilet was in a separate room in the bathroom. The showerhead was like being in the rain, very nice and soothing and also with a spray wand on a flexible hose. As my friend said, "great bathroom"!!! The room was extremely comfortable and at night we were able to close the bedroom door so we each had our own privacy. The location of the hotel was the main reason for our choice, since it is directly across the street from Minute Maid Park, home of the Houston Astros. The restaurant served a very nice breakfast buffet, and the bar was a nice place to unwind at the end of the day. Even though the hotel is located in downtown Houston its location provided a great stepping off point for our different sightseeing excursions. I would gladly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Houston!!

Room Tip: Our room faced the convention center and may have been quieter than rooms facing the ballpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Denis K:

Thank you so much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown. We truly value your feedback and I will ensure that this review is shared with our team! We are glad to hear that your stay was both relaxing and rejuvenating! Should your travels bring you back to Houston, we look forward to seeing you at The Westin Houston Downtown!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    117
    33
    14
    13
See reviews for
56
104
23
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is so beautiful! My husband and I stayed here when it was Inn at the Ballpark and loved it then and love it now. The redesign looks great but kept the same ballpark feel with a touch of elegance. Room was immaculate, we stayed on the 3rd floor facing the ballpark. Great room, great location. 24 hour room service, quiet even during the ball game. Highly recommend!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Jennifer D:

Greetings from The Westin Houston Downtown!

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again at The Westin Houston Downtown!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockhart, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel at the end of July. I love the little touches like the robe for your use and the fridge in the room. We had a corner room with an incredible view of a chapel and Minute Maid Park. They did include Wi-Fi for us but typically you have to pay for it. The bathroom was very nice and large. Shower pressure was incredible! The commode was directly inside the door, however, and I didn't understand that design.
The food from the bar/cafe was surprisingly good - especially the Cobb salad! Service in the bar was awesome also.
Negatives: you have to pay valet parking, no option to self-park in hotel garage. On the last morning there, we noticed some spots on the blanket we had been sleeping under. Hopefully it was clean - but the spots caused me to leave with doubts

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a view of Minute Maid Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aus_cole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear aus_cole:

Thank you very much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown. I have reviewed your feedback with our housekeeping department. We certainly appreciate your feedback so that we may improve our product.

I will make sure that our Chef and F&B Director read your review regarding the food in the Ballpark Bar and Ballpark Cafe. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience in those outlets!

Should your travels bring you back to Houston, we hope to see you back at The Westin Houston Downtown!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
417 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

On the spur of the moment we headed to Houston to watch our hometown MLB team play the Astros at Minute Maid Park. The hotel is kitty corner to the field.

The lobby is beautiful and inviting. There were crowds in the restaurant, bar and lobby. The servers do a great job getting around to everyone if you let them know you want something.

Rudy at check-in was very helpful even though he wasn't able to accommodate our early check-in request because the hotel had been full the night before.

The rooms were beautifully appointed. We are seriously considering getting a Westin Heavenly Bed as we slept so well. (Do you think one of the attendants will come home and make the bed every day? Maybe that's half the comfort of the bed!!) The hardwood in the bathrooms are a bit slippery when you're wearing socks so be careful.

Unless you are going to the Park or the Convention Center, it is a bit isolated. You will definitely see beggars at all times of the day even straying just a few feet from the hotel. We felt safe and didn't have any trouble.

It is would be a 5 star property if it had a pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100countries_or_bust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear 100countries_or_:

Thank you very much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown! We truly appreciate your feedback! Rudy is a fantastic member of our management staff. Genuine care, comfort of our guests is always his highest mission. I will ensure that he is aware of your review! We hope that your next visits to Houston bring you back to The Westin Houston Downtown!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
231 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Rebranded from Inn At the Ballpark to a Westin. Same ownership by Landry's. Remodeled to eliminate the obvious baseball themes. Renovations are nice using a grey/ brown color palette with a contemporary flair. Basic room rates do not include free Wi-Fi, a travesty for Westin since their lower end properties like ALoft have free Wi-Fi. No safe in room. We reserved for two, but only 1 bathrobe in room. Rooms are nice, not special. Minute Maid Park, home of the Astros, essentially across the street. Vic and Anthony's Steakhouse (another Landry's property) across the street. Near the George Brown Convention Center.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty uniform.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldAg65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear OldAg65:

Thank you very much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown! We appreciate your feedback and I will make sure to review with our team! We apologize that your were unable to locate the safe in your guestroom. All of our rooms are all equipped with safes. The safes are located in the dresser below the television. Next time you visit, please ask a team member to assist and we will be glad to assist you. We hope that your next visits to Houston bring you back to The Westin Houston Downtown!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is an awesome hotel in a great location in downtown Houston. It is right in the middle of all the professional sports venues and is a few steps away from the convention center. Even though it is located near a lot of attractions it is still a very relaxing retreat that my wife and I loved and have already planned to visit again in the the next few weeks!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QDOGG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear QDOGG8:

Thank you very much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown! This area of downtown has become an exciting area for Downtown Houston! Lots of new attractions are on the way to the area and we could not be anymore pleased! We sincerely hope to see you back at The Westin Houston Downtown!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I along with another couple stayed here incident to the JAy-Z and Beyonce concert. We booked two of the upgraded rooms which overlooked Minute Maid Park which happened to be the concert venue. The rooms were spacious and ultra clean. The property was previously the Inn at the Ballpark and recently switched to a Westin property. Not sure if they did a complete room renovation but everything in the room appeared to be brand new. The bathrooms were great with a walk-in shower and separate bathtub. We hungout in the bar lounge before and after the show and management did not account for the large number of patrons, though the hotel was sold out, and the staffing was inadequate. We could not get drinks are food and ended up opting for room service which was excellent even after an hour wait.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueloci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Blueloci:

Thank you very much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown! It sounds like you enjoyed the concert! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your room service experience albeit not being able to dine in the lobby area. We apologize for that experience. I will ensure that our Food and Beverage Director is aware of your experience. We hope that your next visits to downtown bring you back to The Westin Houston Downtown!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#22 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,761 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Houston Downtown

Property: The Westin Houston Downtown
Address: 1520 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#64 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#75 Family Hotel in Houston
#109 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Houston Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Houston Downtown,formerly Inn at the Ballpark, is conveniently located near many of Houston's attractions including George R. Brown Convention Center, Discovery Green (one of Houston's most visited parks), and for fans of the arts, The Hobby Center for the Performing Arts and the Houston Symphony. Treat yourself to a baseball game at Minute Maid Park, a concert at the Toyota Center, or a soccer match at the BBVA Compass Stadium - all located within blocks of our downtown Houston hotel.Our goal is that you leave our Houston Downtown hotel feeling better than when you arrived - stay on top of work in the business center, power up at your pace in our Westin Workout Fitness Studio, or eat well in our award winning restaurant, Vic & Anthony's. Enjoy traditional charm and inspiring views in any of our 200 guest rooms and suites, featuring 14' ceilings and ceiling fans. Work at the modern desk or relax on the leather furniture. Get a blissful night’s rest on your Westin Heavenly Bed®, and refresh with premium bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Ballpark Hotel Houston
Hotel At The Ballpark
At The Ballpark Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing