We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restored to period perfection..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 510 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Restored to period perfection..”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Understated elegance abounds in this restored to period Autograph Collection by Marriott property in downtown Houston . I loved the Hitchcock furniture pieces and color palette of the interior. Walk out the door and you can catch the Metrorail. Peaceful with period decor and architectural elements that emphasize the outstanding structure of the building. Breakfast is top notch. The corner room I was kindly upgraded to exceeded my expectations. Wonderful bathroom. I look forward to my return

Room Tip: Ask for the corner junior suite if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. I am so proud of the Hotel ICON and it makes me feel good to know others appreciate it too. I invite all to come and check us out and enjoy all that the ICON has to offer. As an Autograph Collection hotel you get Marriott Rewards points too! We love our guests!

Steve GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    301
    90
    41
    34
See reviews for
122
371
77
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a darling hotel right at the edge of the downtown Houston bar and restaurant scene. Lobby and rooms are have old world charm with new world conveniences. The room and bed were very comfortable - and quiet! You are located near to the nightlife scene but not so close you hear them. They also run a shuttle to move you about downtown Houston - we rode to dinner and walked back. Used the fitness center in the morning for a quick run. Unfortunately you have to book spa appts 24 hours in advance so wasn't able to take advantage of that. And the overnight parking was more than I was expecting. Overall, loved it and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel77079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your review or Hotel ICON. Old World Charm is exactly what we're going for. This is a renovated bank building with 4 Diamond service and amenities. We are in the process of hiring a Spa Director to make sure we are open and able to take all spa requests with less of a wait time. Thank you for staying with us and I hope we get a chance to have you back soon.

Steve GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at Hotel Icon several times a year for a night in the city. We also stayed there our wedding night. The rooms are very comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The beds are extremely comfortable, and you will get a great nights sleep. The bath tub and showers are very clean and comfortable. The staff are very attentive and the restaurant and bar are very classy. The hotel has a shuttel that will take you anywhere downtown. Love this hotel!

Room Tip: The King Bed with Bathtub is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsB313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for letting us know your good times at Hotel ICON. Yes, great tip on the King rooms with the Jetted Tubs. Very comforatable. The bathroom sizes are huge. Thank you for staying with us and being a loyal guest. We look forward to your next stay at Hotel ICON

Steve
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinder, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We booked one night at the Hotel Icon to enjoy The Eagles concert held at the nearby Houston Toyota Center. We absolutely loved the atmosphere at this Autograph Collection hotel. It is a restored bank from the turn of the century with wonderful accents and memorabilia of that bygone time. The original bank vault is located behind the front desk and the staff offered to even show us the interior of the vault when we were checking out. All the staff were quite helpful during our stay at this lovely boutique hotel. We did enjoy a happy hour before the concert which was a little on the pricey side but the appetizers were awesome. I recommend using the shuttle service to close area attractions but it does shut down around 11:00 PM so take that into account. The tastefully decorated room was adorned with high end linens and personal bar set up. We both want to return to this little jewel of a hotel in downtown Houston.

Room Tip: We did ask for a upgrade and was accommodated! The elevated is a little slow but it was never a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laure S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences. How was the Eagle Concert?!?!?!? I am happy that you enjoyed your room and stay. Hotel ICON is known for service and we are happy to hear from our guests that we are achieving that goal.

We look forward to future visits!

Steve
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
687 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This small boutique hotel located in a old bank building has alot of class. The rooms are nicely appointed, the staff attentive and the restaurant and bar high end and classy. The only downside is its location on the north edge of downtown which can be a bit seedy. But the hotel has a shuttle that will take you just about anywhere and the train station is across the street so no need to venture too far. Its great for couples celebrating or an overnight for a ballgame or convention. And you can sometimes score some great rates too, which is a bonus!

Room Tip: Get a room up high and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. Hotel ICON is located at the North end of Houston’s downtown district. The area is redeveloping and it is exciting. New bars, restaurants and businesses are moving in monthly. A Historic district of Houston that is growing and alive. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your future stay s so you can see the differences each time.

Steve
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the ICON on Friday after our wedding. We were helped by Mia, Tiffini, and Kate. From the moment we walked in we were in awe by how sweet everyone was and not to mention we had such a nice time talking to them. We were telling everyone how our parents stayed at the ICON after their wedding so we are continuing the tradition. Kate one of the managers even worked some magic and got us into the executive suite for our first night of the rest of our lives! The room was BEAUTIFUL. The customer service was absolutely amazing all the way until we left! When we went out to take a picture at La Carafe, we got back to our room with te sweetest message from Mia, Kate, and Tiffini with two rubber duckies that had wedding outfits on! I now know what hotel I will be staying at for all my needs when we are in need of one in downtown Houston!!!! Thank you ICON for making our wedding night so memorable and filled with so much love!!!! Y'all rock!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Congratulations on your wedding! Those ducks will stay together forever. We are so happy to be a part of your family tradition. Thank you for sharing your story and letting us know how our team is doing. I will make sure I pass on your warm wishes to Mia, Tiffany and Kate.

Best of luck to you. We hope to see you back for your anniversary!

Steve
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel Icon for our anniversary. The hotel surprised us with a bottle of champagne and strawberries & cream. Great service, nice room, good price, good location- close to bars and restaurants. They have a shuttle to area restaurants too. Highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thewife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Happy Anniversary! Hotel ICON is the place to celebrate. Thank you for your kind words and review of the Hotel. We hope to see you next year, and the year after that and after that... forever! I am so happy you enjoyed your special day.

Steve
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#30 of 510 in Houston
2,795 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 510 in Houston
1,465 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 510 in Houston
1,659 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 510 in Houston
790 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#8 of 510 in Houston
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Address: 220 Main St, Houston, TX 77002-1706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#25 Family Hotel in Houston
#33 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing