We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay in Houston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Ranked #21 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Great Stay in Houston”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The Hotel Icon is in a beautifully renovated heritage building. My room featured a very spacious bathroom with a large walk-in shower and separate tub. I found the facilities perfect for business travel although any traveler would appreciate the free and dependable wi-fi connection, larger than average fitness center, and location close to a variety of restaurant choices. The hotel sits on the north edge of downtown near Buffalo Bayou (there is a great jogging trail here with beautiful views of the city skyline) and offers a free shuttle for short trips within a 2-3 mile radius - this will be plenty to get you anywhere you need to go in downtown Houston.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments and I will be sure to share them with the team. We are all pleased that you had a great time and look forward to you visiting again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    293
    90
    41
    32
See reviews for
119
359
76
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed the weekend of March 21st. The outside of the building is beautiful. The front desk was very friendly. The cleaning staff was very attentive and friendly. Loved the decor, and atmosphere. Very nice gym, very clean and up to date.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovessun8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you visit us again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The beautiful hotel combined with an incredible staff made our stay exceptional! Kudos to Diana who exemplifies outstanding service! Thanks for a memorable stay! There are several great restaurants/bars/jazz bar walking distance from the hotel - it was fun to go to each for a drink and appetizer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinMZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.



Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stay at this hotel EVERY time I am in Houston, and if the service and accommodations aren't great enough, just the whole VIBE of this place always makes me so happy and comfortable. The hotel is an old bank, I think, but they've done such a cool thing in renovating it to be modern, while still maintaining the classic feel of the old structure.

I always just stay in a regular one-bed room... and my room always has a beautiful view of downtown Houston and it's QUIET and that nice chilly hotel feeling that makes you want to lay in a warm bed all day!! Haha!

If you are in Houston on vacation or business or whatever... stay here. It's a Marriott, so you can get some great hotel points, and it's in the perfect location. Easy valet to get out and access to the highway. I'll stay here as long as it remains....

Room Tip: Higher floor is quieter. Even the one-bed rooms are big and have a couple of chairs for guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greentyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. I have shared your comments with my team and we are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope you can visit us again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night on business. What a beautiful hotel in the heart of Houston. It has great charm. Very old school, historical look and feel yet modern amenities. A great lobby restaurant and bar. Super comfortable bed and linens and huge bathroom.

This place is a winner. You should stay here!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lizzard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. The team is pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be your host hotel in the near future.



Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel has a beautiful, inviting lobby with bar area serving great food. My room was very large, comfortable and thoughtfully designed, with an exceptional bathroom including a spacious shower with water cannon strength pressure. The design of the hotel includes many interesting and tasteful references to the local culture and history. Lastly, the staff is great - thanks Rita for help navigating to the rodeo!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and writing such a nice review for us. I have shared this with my team and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The hotel was amazing and the people treat you special. I had bath salts brought to my room. I had a small issue with working the tub but I called down to the desk and they sent someone up within 5 minutes. I will stay here again and tell all my friends to.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write such a nice review. I have shared the review with my team and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#26 of 508 in Houston
2,788 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 508 in Houston
1,438 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 508 in Houston
1,648 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 508 in Houston
775 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 508 in Houston
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Address: 220 Main St, Houston, TX 77002-1706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#25 Family Hotel in Houston
#33 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing