We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Ranked #21 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice change!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This property more than met my expectations.

The hotel has an old world charm but is totally efficient, clean and welcoming.

Breakfast in the restaurant was very tasty.

The bar area is very convivial.

The staff were outstanding.

Room Tip: High floor west facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddyboyfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    293
    90
    41
    32
See reviews for
119
359
76
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I loved this Hotel! The decor was amazing and really felt very 'Texan' without being cheesy. The rooms were large and well appointed and the bathroom was luxurious. The staff were very friendly and the service was faultless. The only thing that I would say is that there are not many restaurants within walking distance at night, but this is seems to be because the CBD is a little quiet on weekends. I would highly recommend this Hotel, particularly for business guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IloCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I love this hotel. The decor is eclectic. The old fashioned floor tile, subway tile and Carrera marble in the bathroom is gorgeous. The huge bathtub is a treat and the separate shower is a plus. Everything is beyond clean. Front desk and wait staff were very attentive and friendly. My only compliant would be the taxi situation. We waited for the taxi for about a half hour. Apparently, the bellman called twice. One never showed. The hotel shuttle driver took us to the taxi cue.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraDeSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here for two nights while on business in Downtown. Staff is friendly and place feels cosy.
Bathroom is spacious but room is rather smallish in comparison. Internet is free at reasonable speed. The lobby benefits from high ceiling which makes it comfortable to hang around.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the top floor to ensure quiet sleep. If breakfast is not included, you can skip the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabbagmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

i visited texas in 2012.used hotels restaurant which was by far the best in Texas.during 5 months i ve been so many places but didnt face such superior hospitality and service. just approched to desk get some information about rates and hotel amenities desk agent struck me by his beautiful smile which made me think im some kind of extraordinary VIP guest (he was black guy unfortunately i forget his name) then he took the key and showed me type of rooms and explained me everything in as much detail as possible then showed me pool and other amenities. in one word that guy was awesome. so far i recomend my friends upon their visit to Texas to stay in icon.the management doing it definately right there

Room Tip: i liked corner suites and view over minute maid
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bentley8819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is boutique-style in Main street of Houston downtown area, different and elegant. Breakfast is OK as well as price. The front door is facing Congress St. Light rail and bus station is in the corner.

Room Tip: choose higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky78123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

It was hard to decide the rating for this hotel. It's definitely a high-end hotel with lots of comfort and a convenient location, but the value isn't there.

I ordered five meals via in-room dining, and the majority had an issue one way or another. The first day, the person at the other end of the phone didn't know what kinds of wine were available. She said she'd check and call back but never did. The next time the steak was overcooked. Another time, the food was cold. Gracious inquiries and complaints were met with shrugs and reflexive "Oh, sorry."

Housekeeping was not much better. My son's reading book was lost when the housekeeper changed the sheets and took them away without noticing a book under the covers. Used drinking glasses were not replaced. Overall, the service is best deemed uncaring.

This hotel has the potential to be really great. It has a nice location in downtown Houston, but lacks warmth and the kind of personal touch one expects at a high-end hotel, particularly for Marriott Platinum members.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a2lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We appreciate your comments and assure you that your issues have been resolved. We hope you will allow us another opportunity in the future.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#26 of 508 in Houston
2,788 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 508 in Houston
1,441 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 508 in Houston
1,649 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 508 in Houston
776 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 508 in Houston
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Address: 220 Main St, Houston, TX 77002-1706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#25 Family Hotel in Houston
#33 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing