We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks(Houston)(Great Value!)
$67
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$79
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$227
$181
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$202
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$120
$104
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$227
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Houstonian(Houston)
$252
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $234/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,326)
Filter reviews
1,326 results
Traveler rating
814
332
99
42
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
814
332
99
42
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbank buildingdowntown houstonvault doorjetted tubfront deskrain showerbeautiful hotellarge showerthe penthousemetro railbars and restaurantslight railroom servicecorner roomvalet parkingmarriott propertymini bar
Filter
Updating list...
948 - 953 of 1,326 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very attentive staff; way cool lobby, restaurant, bar and rooms! If you are going to spend time anywhere in downtown Houston this is the place to stay. Located next to the light rail track and they have complimentary shuttle service to and from anywhere downtown! You can see Minute Maid Park from the hotel. Everyone at the hotel was focused on our relaxing and enjoying our stay and they were successful. Also, try the Cowboy Benedict for breakfast...unique and amazing! We didn't get to try the spa this trip, but it looks very special!

Room Tip: Little less noise the higher up you stay, but even the lower rooms are pretty quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed at the Icon for one night while visiting Houston. Apparently Houston has several different areas within downtown where you might want to stay depending on what you are there to see/do. The location of this hotel seemed to be more in a business district without much going on (as far as attractions go) nearby. There were a few restaurants within walking distance and a great gastropub (the Hearsay) across the street. Didn’t try the restaurant in the hotel other than for breakfast (which was pretty good) because it hadn’t gotten very good reviews on yelp. The hotel itself was very nice, the décor was very classy Texas, and the rooms were pretty big. The bathrooms were huge, and they had nice big bathtubs too. The staff were all friendly and professional. The valet parking was pretty expensive, but if you don’t mind the hassle and the “no in and out” policy, you can find cheaper parking in the public garages nearby. Overall the hotel was really nice, but I think if we came again, we would try to stay in a part of town with more things to do for visitors.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divegirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hotel Icon is a beautifully restored bank building turned into a hotel. It's elegant and beautifully appointed. The rooms feature real coffee pots (a huge plus in my book) and lovely and large marble bathrooms. The best feature? QUIET. It was the only hotel I've slept in since I don't remember when that I didn't hear anyone -- no sneezing next door, no one's doors closing. I actually was able to sleep. The architecture of the room was unique, beautiful colors, tasteful appointments. It's a bit of a trick to find -- but worth the stay once you get there. I'll stay there again. It would be great for a romantic getaway or business. I ordered breakfast the next day and I thought it was very good and a good value. Service was pleasant and courteous.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a low-key anniversary trip. We thoroughly enjoyed being in downtown Houston, as we both grew up in northern Houston and had not been "inside the loop" in many years. The building is gorgeous, the guest rooms are spacious (with lovely high ceilings and a signature archway,) and the staff was extremely accomodating. We never felt as if we were in just another Marriott hotel because of the historic charm- especially in the lobby. Our room was very comfortable, and the bathroom is enormous! We had a few issues when we arrived (typical things...nothing of concern,) that were all met with speed and efficiency. One of my "issues" remained unresolved, which was our and not the Icon's, but the staff did their best to mend my error. The only thing we might complain about was that our breakfast room service was only fair- We were brought 3 huge pancakes (which were wonderful) only arrived with a tiny portion of maple syrup. This hotel may not attract business travelers because of its location, but we would definitely consider it again! Easy access to the theatre district- we caught a show at Hobby Center and enjoyed our time in Downtown!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MK W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I needed to cancel a night stay and was not able to do so. When I asked for help resolving the situation, I was told there was nothing that could be done. I did not feel valued as a customer at all and will not return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

I apologize that we were not able to assist you with a cancellation. I am a new manager here and would love to discuss this with you in hopes you will allow us another opportunity,

Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews