We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks(Houston)(Great Value!)
$74
$67
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$90
$79
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$181
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$276
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$114
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Houstonian(Houston)
$252
$239
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $242/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,326)
Filter reviews
1,327 results
Traveler rating
815
332
99
42
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
815
332
99
42
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbank buildingdowntown houstonvault doorjetted tubfront deskrain showerbeautiful hotellarge showerthe penthousemetro railbars and restaurantslight railroom servicecorner roomvalet parkingmarriott propertymini bar
Filter
Updating list...
961 - 966 of 1,327 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Icon Houston in early February on business. After staying at the Downtown Convention Center Marriott Courtyard the previous week, and having a mediocre experience, I did not have high expectations. What a pleasant surprise I had.

The property is wonderful. From the professional greeting at valet parking, to the very friendly check-in, service was wonderful. I was assigned to a room immediately adjacent to the elevator upon check-in. I immediately called the front desk asking to be moved to a more quiet and secure location. Within minutes the bellman was at my door with the key to a new room in a lovely location. Great service.

The room was incredible - high ceilings, a large, comfortable bed with premium linens, lots of space to work and a bathroom, with soaking tub, that was the size of the last hotel room I stayed in. The room was quiet, although there was a bit of street noise in the am even though I was on a higher floor. I loved the rubber ducky with cowboy hat available for purchase (with proceeds to Toys for Tots) in the bathroom.

Room service was timely, with very good menu options and food quality.

This is now my favorite Houston hotel. I will definitely recommend it to friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms greater than 3.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skiscubamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your nice comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

On my recent trip to Houston, I wanted a place right downtown - that had a good reputation, good bar, nice rooms at a good price. Wasn't expecting to be able to get all of those...but why not shoot for the moon. Enter the Icon to fulfill every requirement with flying colors.

Check in was easy and the staff was very helpful. Walked through a gorgeous lobby, past a happening bar area, and headed upstairs on the vintage elevator. The room was charming. Big bathroom, big bedroom, high ceiling and some very cool art and Houston / Texas related items.

We changed and grabbed a cab up to Uchi - and had a great great meal. On the recommendation of the valet at Icon, we then hit the Anvil for a few drinks (another great place) and took a cab back for restful night of sleep. In the am, the breakfast at the Icon was exceptional with good service and the best chicken friend steak and eggs I have ever had.

Checked out that same day - but in spite of the short stay, Icon made quite an impression. Next time we are in Houston -we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICON_DoR, Fronk Desk Supervisor at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2016

Hello,

We are highly excited to hear that you will be returning. As you mentioned, Hotel Icon has exceptional class and great service. We strive to give you five star treatment in each experience. Downtown is dedicated to many great restaurant and bars and its great to hear you were able to take advantage of these places. We are happy to hear that we made a great impression. Please consider us in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel ICON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here in a gorgeous room, queen bed, whirlpool tub (single seater) and an all tile shower. Room was spotless, service was good, staff was friendly. The bar seemed nice but I didn't visit it. The neighborhood was quiet at night, street parking is available if you can figure out the pay meters. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magellan602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICON_DoR, Fronk Desk Supervisor at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2016

Hello,

We are very pleased to hear you had a fabulous stay and that you enjoyed the area and your room. Please feel free to book with us in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Icon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at this charming, renovated hotel for business for three nights. Rooms were surprisingly spacious, nicely decorated, especially the bathroom. Convenient to downtown Houston, with complimentary shuttle service available. Very good restaurants within two blockis. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank octraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICON_DoR, Fronk Desk Supervisor at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2016

Hello,
We are so excited to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you and your family again in the near future. We appreciate you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We hope to be of assistance to you again and thank you for choosing Hotel Icon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Icon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was a very nice boutique hotel in downtown Houston. Rooms were very nice. I stayed in a queen room which was on the small side but I was by myself and it did not feel claustraphobic. Room was beautifully decorated. This room was right by the elevator, but never heard any noise. The bar and restaurant were great. Ice tea, lemonade or flavored water in the lobby each night was very nice. Metrorail stops right out front. Only complaint is parking is $28 per night!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvldoc-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews