We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Ranked #23 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was comfortable, room was small, but clean. We found the front desk staff to be very friendly and professional. We had drinks and dessert at the bar. House dessert was delicious and my husband's martini was excellent.
The bartender, a female, was professional but could have been
more friendly and did not offer a coffee refill. Our room was on the top floor and was too warm. The thermostat was "locked" at seventy degrees. It would have been comfortable at 68. Our room was small with one queen bed.
While overall, the hotel was very nice and our stay was pleasant, I probably would not choose this hotel again. It was a good value, though.

Room Tip: Choose lower floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dede2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
There are newer reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

833 - 839 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Icon is absolutely my hotel of choice when in town for business. It's a wonderful boutique hotel with top notch amenities and the staff is always phenomenal, I could never say enough about them! The fact that it's a Marriott brand makes it even better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is absolutly stunning. I stayed for romance and romance was what I got. Yes there were a few kinks like front desk mistakenly giving my room key to another guest, broken toilet tissue holder, small hole (possible where art was) in a wall, and late room cleaning, but the hotel was very comfortable and sexy. The staff as a whole was very helpful but there were times when I felt like some of the guys attempted to cross the line and become flirtacious.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NuAwluns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We satyed to celebrate our anniversary. All of the staff did a great job. The hotel was very nice. The front desk was very welcoming Erica especially. All of the Valet team did excellent! Maktar was such a sweetheart. This place was perfect. We look forward to another stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miles35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My stay was great. Hotel Icon's staff gets 100 out of 10 stars. Everyone went above and beyond to make our stay amazing. The valet staff Great!! All of The staff at the front desk did a wonderful job taking care of us, especially Erica. I loved it. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kshdxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is gorgeous. The room is spacious and well decorated. The hotel staff which I interacted with (Erica and a few others like the vallet guy) were warm and welcoming. I only wish the view was a little better and that it was easier to find. The hotel is connected to a restaurant which is on the face which the address is for. So it was confusing getting there. (The drive in entrance for vallet is on Congress.)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theroommate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed just one night and wanted something near the Wortham Center. The hotel is in a landmark Houston building that once was a bank. (Look for the vault door behind the reception desk.) It's stylish and comfortable, with an impressive bathroom, as other reviewers note, and it was exceptionally quiet. The building has that solid and well-constructed feel of older buildings, with beautiful moldings and arched doorways. The service was the best I've had in a hotel in a while. And the drinks at the bar are worth trying, too--they make interesting mixes with Texas-made gin and vodka. Try it!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (11th) in a corner room and it was very quiet. Don't know what the oth...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#34 of 517 in Houston
2,815 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 517 in Houston
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#3 of 517 in Houston
814 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Address: 220 Main St, Houston, TX 77002-1706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#25 Family Hotel in Houston
#33 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $174 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing