We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Downtown Houston Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 489 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Houston Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Icon is absolutely my hotel of choice when in town for business. It's a wonderful boutique hotel with top notch amenities and the staff is always phenomenal, I could never say enough about them! The fact that it's a Marriott brand makes it even better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    232
    73
    30
    27
See reviews for
78
281
58
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is absolutly stunning. I stayed for romance and romance was what I got. Yes there were a few kinks like front desk mistakenly giving my room key to another guest, broken toilet tissue holder, small hole (possible where art was) in a wall, and late room cleaning, but the hotel was very comfortable and sexy. The staff as a whole was very helpful but there were times when I felt like some of the guys attempted to cross the line and become flirtacious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NuAwluns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We satyed to celebrate our anniversary. All of the staff did a great job. The hotel was very nice. The front desk was very welcoming Erica especially. All of the Valet team did excellent! Maktar was such a sweetheart. This place was perfect. We look forward to another stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miles35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My stay was great. Hotel Icon's staff gets 100 out of 10 stars. Everyone went above and beyond to make our stay amazing. The valet staff Great!! All of The staff at the front desk did a wonderful job taking care of us, especially Erica. I loved it. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kshdxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is gorgeous. The room is spacious and well decorated. The hotel staff which I interacted with (Erica and a few others like the vallet guy) were warm and welcoming. I only wish the view was a little better and that it was easier to find. The hotel is connected to a restaurant which is on the face which the address is for. So it was confusing getting there. (The drive in entrance for vallet is on Congress.)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theroommate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed just one night and wanted something near the Wortham Center. The hotel is in a landmark Houston building that once was a bank. (Look for the vault door behind the reception desk.) It's stylish and comfortable, with an impressive bathroom, as other reviewers note, and it was exceptionally quiet. The building has that solid and well-constructed feel of older buildings, with beautiful moldings and arched doorways. The service was the best I've had in a hotel in a while. And the drinks at the bar are worth trying, too--they make interesting mixes with Texas-made gin and vodka. Try it!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (11th) in a corner room and it was very quiet. Don't know what the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was looking for something a little different in downtown Houston and came across the Hotel Icon (a member of the Marriott family of properties). It's located a little north of the central business area of downtown. The room I had was on the small side - but very nice and well appointed. The in-house restaurant was great, whoch was a good thing as there are few choices within easy - and safe - walking distance. But this property was very nice, friendly and helpful staff, etc... I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 489 in Houston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,079 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#21 of 489 in Houston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,656 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#8 of 489 in Houston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#3 of 489 in Houston
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Address: 220 Main St, Houston, TX 77002-1706
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#25 Family Hotel in Houston
#33 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing