We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute gem in downtown houston. Fantastic room sizes and colors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Ranked #23 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was checking into the Hotel Icon an Autography Collection for Sunday 9-24-2012. The lobby and check-in desk is beautiful. I love the extra large vault door behind the counter and the "Iconic" columns in the retaurant. The beautiful red doors to the room are a nice accent touch. The rooms rae decorated in a modern and contemporary decor. The bathroom is huge with a whirlpoo tub and extra large shower. I am not a fan of older hotels but this place feels brand new with all of the old school architectural charm.

The in house restaurant is a bit pricey but the food is definitely a 4/5. Great customer service. I like the personalized service and ambience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tluehr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
There are newer reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Enjoyed the extra friendly staff who went out of their way to make me and my family feel welcome in their hotel.

Room was perfect, spotless, and roomy. Staff responded to all requests well and quickly.

Would return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel is very unique, in a great location and we got a great deal, but there were a few things that will keep us from staying here in the future. Although they have free wireless, the signal wasn't strong enough to connect in the room. Also we stayed for three nights and were out of the room during the day, and housekeeping NEVER came by. Fresh washcloths can go a long way.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlk251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband I stayed for one night on the Kiss and Tell package. I can't say enough good things about the ICON. We travel A LOT and have stayed in very nice places...but I found this hotel to be both affordable and decadent. The staff is great, the room was excellent, and the area fabulous. We enjoyed a little Irish bar down the street, Sean McElory's. I highly recommend. I will be coming back to this hotel as soon as possible.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank kmrich63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Service was excellent, environment was classy and relaxing. I would stay here again anytime! Mike the bar tender was friendly outgoing courteous and responsive. We loved the Benz shuttle, we were ridding in style!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz71227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The junior suite is spacious, quiet, with a comfortable king sized bed, rain shower, and jacuzzi tub for two. The Line & Lariate menu is full of variety and flavor. The staff is prompt, courteous, and friendly - eager to make the experience as stress free as possible. While the rooms are quiet w double paned windows, the view of downtown seems to allow stress to creep back in - fortunately the curtains close but it would have been nice to look outside and see trees instead of metro rail. All in all, the best hotel I've stayed in and would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRSherrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

You should be able to hear my applause from where you are....
Hotel Icon is now my hotel of choice in Houston. Unless this hotel is full...and they can't convince another guest to scoot over, I won't be staying at any other hotel when visiting Houston. The architecture is beautiful, the room was pristine and so comfortable and quiet, and the staff...oh my Lord, that staff! I stayed three nights and staff member I encountered ( from desk to valet to room service) treated me as if I were visiting royalty. They were invariably friendly, extremely helpful, and very very efficient. When i asked the concierge about the Houston metro rail, the man ( nice ostich boots, by the way) all but led me by the hand to the appropriate stop. Erica at the front desk ( who obviously has her own Tripsdvisor fan club) lived up to her advance press and simultaneously provided information, arranged a favor for me and ooohed over pictures of my grandsons. All of the staff were just that awesome. The reason for my visit was a small grandson's surgery. After long frightening stressful days at the hospital, the Hotel Icon was a peaceful and uplifting retreat. I will always stay here, if possible, whenever I visit Houston.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#33 of 517 in Houston
2,815 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 517 in Houston
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 517 in Houston
813 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Address: 220 Main St, Houston, TX 77002-1706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#25 Family Hotel in Houston
#33 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $171 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing