We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and rooms, not so great housekeeping.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Ranked #18 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and rooms, not so great housekeeping.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel is very unique, in a great location and we got a great deal, but there were a few things that will keep us from staying here in the future. Although they have free wireless, the signal wasn't strong enough to connect in the room. Also we stayed for three nights and were out of the room during the day, and housekeeping NEVER came by. Fresh washcloths can go a long way.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlk251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    270
    82
    38
    30
See reviews for
105
339
69
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband I stayed for one night on the Kiss and Tell package. I can't say enough good things about the ICON. We travel A LOT and have stayed in very nice places...but I found this hotel to be both affordable and decadent. The staff is great, the room was excellent, and the area fabulous. We enjoyed a little Irish bar down the street, Sean McElory's. I highly recommend. I will be coming back to this hotel as soon as possible.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kmrich63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Service was excellent, environment was classy and relaxing. I would stay here again anytime! Mike the bar tender was friendly outgoing courteous and responsive. We loved the Benz shuttle, we were ridding in style!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liz71227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The junior suite is spacious, quiet, with a comfortable king sized bed, rain shower, and jacuzzi tub for two. The Line & Lariate menu is full of variety and flavor. The staff is prompt, courteous, and friendly - eager to make the experience as stress free as possible. While the rooms are quiet w double paned windows, the view of downtown seems to allow stress to creep back in - fortunately the curtains close but it would have been nice to look outside and see trees instead of metro rail. All in all, the best hotel I've stayed in and would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRSherrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

You should be able to hear my applause from where you are....
Hotel Icon is now my hotel of choice in Houston. Unless this hotel is full...and they can't convince another guest to scoot over, I won't be staying at any other hotel when visiting Houston. The architecture is beautiful, the room was pristine and so comfortable and quiet, and the staff...oh my Lord, that staff! I stayed three nights and staff member I encountered ( from desk to valet to room service) treated me as if I were visiting royalty. They were invariably friendly, extremely helpful, and very very efficient. When i asked the concierge about the Houston metro rail, the man ( nice ostich boots, by the way) all but led me by the hand to the appropriate stop. Erica at the front desk ( who obviously has her own Tripsdvisor fan club) lived up to her advance press and simultaneously provided information, arranged a favor for me and ooohed over pictures of my grandsons. All of the staff were just that awesome. The reason for my visit was a small grandson's surgery. After long frightening stressful days at the hospital, the Hotel Icon was a peaceful and uplifting retreat. I will always stay here, if possible, whenever I visit Houston.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I had a layover at Houston International Airport and didn't want to stay at another airport hotel. I chose to stay here and was really glad I did. The service staff were great, the hotel lobby fantastic and the rooms really nice (not large but reminiscent of a by-gone era in terms of decor yet with the updated amenities that one would expect). I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tylerinvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Between Erica at the front desk and our wonderful waiter Oscar the faculty at the Icon have made our stay wonderful and memorable. From the moment the valet took our vehicle we have encountered nothing but, smiling and curtious staff. I would recommend the icon to anyone planning on being in the downtown area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1BIGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#21 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,750 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Address: 220 Main St, Houston, TX 77002-1706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#25 Family Hotel in Houston
#33 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing