We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Memorial Day Weekend - FUN” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Ranked #20 of 500 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
382 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Memorial Day Weekend - FUN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I love the Marriott Autograph Collection ~ Boutique Hotels and this one did not disappointment.

This was my first trip to Houston and I could not wait enjoy all the city has to offer, Initially, I checked in and was offered a beautiful room that face an abandon building. I called downstairs and asked for another room and was told that there was another room available but on the same side and the view should be the same. I was never give the option to check it out.

I went downstairs and requested information to another Marriott in the area. Well, that request got the General Managers attention who was standing within an earshot of the conversation and I was moved to larger corner gorgeous suite and offered champaign.

At that point my stay flawless...

The fitness center had everything you would need for a great workout. The Standing O restaurant and bar in the lobby was fun and cheerful. The valet and waitstaff were attentive and always smiling. Nice robes and bath amenities. The drapes and furniture were regal and the location gave you great access to the historical, municipal, theater districts. I had a car but did not drive around the city. I walked to shopping area and took the hotel shuttle when I was dressed for dinner and it picked me up. I did drive to other areas such as the Galleria and Stadium. It was the valet that informed me this hotel was frachised to Micheal "MAGIC" Johnson.

I would definitely return. At the end of my stay the GM sent a letter thanking me for choosing the ICON while in Houston. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Chose a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dMoniqueRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    252
    77
    32
    30
See reviews for
90
313
63
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We live in Houston suburbs and needed a walking distance hotel room to enjoy a gala downtown. What a find! Beautiful room, great service. And cudos to Michael's Bloody Mary!
We are Bloody Mary buffs, and he is now in first place. PLEASE share your recipe with the rest of the bar staff (wasnt the same at Sat breakfast!) A memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyTraveler094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was the first time to stay here and it was a pleasant surprise! Great location...near the ballpark, the arts, and many restaurants...all within walking distance. The hotel had so much charm! Not one complaint! Definately going back when in Houston!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teach67301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney B, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear teach67301,

Thank you for your kind review of Hotel ICON. As a first time guest, we are excited that you will be coming back next time your travels bring you to Houston. Sounds like your recent trip was packed full of excitement!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great location in downtown and absolutely wonderful room decor. I wouldn't recommend this if you are planning to spend a lot of time out and about, but if you want a place to relax and enjoy without going out much, they usually have great deals for the location. They also have an amazing penthouse if you can afford it. We'll definitely be back in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here 7 nights for work. This is a beautiful hotel- every detail of the decor was just so beautiful, with a great Texas feel. My room was gorgeous and spacious, and the bathroom was amazingly so. I seriously considered purchasing the gigantic, fluffy bathrobe provided in the room. There is NO pool at this hotel. The extremely nice bellmen took me in the shuttle to the shiny new downtown YMCA where I swam (for $10). The bar is in the center of the lovely lobby and serves good drinks and food. Management went to great lengths to make sure we could watch and hear the opening Olympics ceremonies at the bar. Access to different floors on the hotel elevator requires a room key. The added security is appropriate, unfortunately. Downtown Houston isn't the nicest/ safest place to walk around. The Gastro Pub next door has good food and creative drinks. Also try the Mia Bella Italian restaurant, a block away, which has outstanding food. Parking is valet only at this hotel and it's $28. The shuttle will take you all over- we went to an Astros game at MinuteMaid Park and to the original Ninfa's Restaurant. Overall, good stay.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room not on the Congress side of the hotel and maybe above the 3rd floor- it was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimminy_Cricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Icon is an unusual little hotel that is generally pretty successful at guest service. I've stayed there more than 6 times for business, so have a good feel for the place. The lobby entrance is on the side, not grand by any stretch, but the main floor has high ceilings and a grand feel appropriate to both Houston and the bank formerly in the space. (Behind reception is the old vault.) The rooms are boldly wallpapered. Thankfully, the TVs seem to have been upgraded recently. (In 2011, they were mostly 1990s vintage.) The bathrooms are excellent, with nice products and large space. I'm not sure any room has a good view -- certainly I usually find myself looking at the side of another building or a parking lot.

The gym is small, and oddly dim with red and black decor. It doesn't scream "fitness" but it works.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoesToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were very pleased with out 6 day stay at this hotel. Conveniently located downtown, it exhibits the old style charm and classic architecture of a former bank building (the bank's vault being the backdrop to the front desk). The elevators, rooms and commubal areas are tastefully decorated and the service is first class. The rooms are spacious and ours was equipped with a whirlpool and large shower. The beds are extremeky comfortable. Free internet. The only downside was the $28 overnight valet parking; no other option.. Also $12 parking for my son who joined us simply for dinner.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide a good iew
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NC11A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney B, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear NigelCo,

Thank you for your review of Hotel ICON. It was nice to hear that our southern hospitality and charm matched that of your hometown of Charleston, South Carolina. With limited space in a downtown environment, valet is a necessity at we are competitively priced with other downtown hotels. If planning a future visit to Houston, please be sure to check our specials/packages as valet parking is usually included in these at a discount. We very much appreciate your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 500 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#19 of 500 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 500 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#3 of 500 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Address: 220 Main St, Houston, TX 77002-1706
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#25 Family Hotel in Houston
#33 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing