We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Ranked #21 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I have stayed at the Hotel Icon in Houston many times. The changes I have noticed since it became a Marriott property are few; It still remains my favorite place in Downtown Houston. Overnight valet parking is steep, but I have found it that way at almost all downtown hotels.
The interior design and furnishings in the lounge and lobby are beautiful. The guest rooms and bathrooms are very well appointed - they make you feel as if you've stepped back in time!
All employees are very professional and helpful.
I would highly recommend the Hotel Icon for anyone looking for a spectacular get-away!
Very close to several downtown attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper-level floor, as to minimize the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaceyH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney B, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear StaceyH44,

Thank you for your review of Hotel ICON. We love to hear you are one of our regular guests. In a downtown environment, valet is a necessity with such limited space. Please know that we are priced competitively with other downtown properties and we evaluate our pricing frequently. Next time you visit, please check out current packages/promotions as many times valet is built in at a discount with these. Hopefully you visited some of the downtown attractions you mentioned by allowing us to drive you in our new Mercedes Sprinter. If not, please take a ride next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    290
    90
    41
    32
See reviews for
119
359
75
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Icon while visiting family in Houston. As many have mentioned, the hotel is undergoing renovations and there are lots of great changes! Our room was one of the recently renovated and we loved the combination of old, charming details with modern features like the bathroom fixtures. The location was also great in downtown Houston.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfaguil15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney B, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Lfaguil15,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you loved our new hotel. Please join us again on your next family get-together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel just finish renovation. So new carpet, new paint. Antique Bank door and other decoration with ages.The bedding is warm and comfy. The bathroom is giant with rain shower.Hotel restraurant is reasonal priced and provide corn bread with jalapino. Free shuttle bus within downtown. Front desk has many cellpjone charge if you forget yours.
My room has big windows from both side and sardin curtain looks really nice. Only complain is no blackout curtains.
There is no swimming pool. The gym is in basement with bright red color equipments. But I didn't try.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aqufina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney B, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Aqufina,

We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy so many of Hotel ICON's services. Next time you leave Canada in the need for more Southern hospitality, you know where to come! Thanks again for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I wasn't able to find a listing for this restaurant so decided to post here. I highly recommend this location for an excellent fine dining experience! Both the service and food were top notch! Menu had good variety in main course (steaks, seafood, and other rarer meats like boar and venison) and mixed drink menu was amazing! For appetizer I had crab cake, and for main meal I had the Filet Mignon (perfectly cooked), with melt in your mouth mashed potatoes and sweet carmelized carrots. Then for dessert, I had the flour less chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream. The restaurant is in the lobby area and has amazing trendy and modern Texas decor (cow stools, Texas state flag upholstery, but also grand pillars and large chandeliers). I would recommend this hotel's restaurant for a romantic meal or a classy business-entertaining venue!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney B, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear misseattle,

WOW, your review of Hotel ICON's restaurant, LINE & LARIAT is making me hungry! Our Executive Chef, David Luna, is absolutely thrilled you enjoyed his new menu. If you are local to Houston or are coming back in August, be sure to try the lunch and dinner menus we will offer for Houston Restaurant Week. Three course menus for $35, of which $5 is donated to the Houston Food Bank, is the best way to try a bit of everything. Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

It will be your journey to Houston's past with this hotel located in historical building. Yet, hote is so modern, elegant and comfortable. Service with smile is motto here and employees come forward to help you even without asking. Metro rail stop is seconds away from hotel and will take you to restaurants, museums, parks and concerts. Great bathrooms and HD televisions with prompt service. Wi-fi was slow but free.

Room Tip: facing north or south i guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKSglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney B, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear RKSglobetrotter,

We appreciate your review of Hotel ICON. Our team strives daily to make each guest's stay memorable and it sounds like we made that happen on your recent trip to Houston. Be sure to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
968 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I arrived at the Hotel Icon and they were doing construction outside and everything seemed a mess and my first reaction was to try to switch hotels. (I hate staying at properties doing construction.) I am glad I stayed. They upgraded me to a larger room with a tub and glass shower and the room was great. The hotel has wonderful character and everything was clean. Breakfast was top notch.

Room Tip: If you can get an upgrade it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubfaninco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney B, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear cubfaninco,
Thank you for being patient with us while we finalized a beautiful renovation. We are delighted you decided to stay with Hotel ICON. We value your business and our team looks forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Clean safe and reasonably comfortable. The room size is small but that's the compromise to save $50-100. For a single traveler it seems well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trripman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Trripman,
Our team is happy that Hotel ICON was a positive hotel choice for your recent trip to Houston. Our goal is to accommodate each guests' individual needs and it sounds like we met your expectations. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#27 of 508 in Houston
2,787 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 508 in Houston
1,435 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 508 in Houston
1,648 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 508 in Houston
401 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 508 in Houston
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Address: 220 Main St, Houston, TX 77002-1706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#25 Family Hotel in Houston
#33 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelPower, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing