We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised, will stay with them again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Ranked #17 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

On June 9th and 10th three of my friends and I traveled to Houston to see our favorite baseball team, the St. Louis Cardinals, play the Houston Astros. I used TripAdvisor to locate hotels that were close to the downtown ballpark. The Icon Hotel was recommended and was eight blocks from Minute Maid Park. I booked two rooms for two nights and we were very pleased with our stay. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The central air conditioning was quite and keep the room nice and cool even with the outside temperature in the high nineties. We did not see any children during our stay, mostly young professionals in the bar area and lobby. We requested the hotel suttle us to the ballpark before the game and we walked back to the hotel after the game when the temperature had cooled down. We walked two blocks to The Spaghetti Warehouse for an excellent pregame meal. The Icon Hotel is located in an old bank building and has the feel of an expensive downtown hotel. Vallet parking is $28.00 per day with suttle service offered for in town trips.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BankguyArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2011

They really take care of you at the Icon. I stayed there for 2 nights, and they are doing some construction to the outside of the building, which is probably why the rate is low right now. The room itself was gorgeous, big comfy bed, lovely architecture, beautiful bathroom with big soaking tub and a shower with awesome water pressure. They have just about everything there for you, so dont worry about shampoo/conditioner/etc. They even have a "vanity" kit with q-tips in it. Loved that they had tea and honey in the room as well. If you forget something, just ask the front desk. I forgot a razor and they gave me 4!! Also, LOVED the big comfy red robe they provided.

If you want to go anywhere from the hotel, they will drive you there if its in the vicinity. All the employees were very pleasant. My only complaint was that my glasses were broken mysteriously while I was out of my room during the day. Its not a big deal, just one of the nose pads were broken off. Although uncomfortable to wear, i'm sure i can have it replaced for fairly cheap at my glasses store.

Overall, a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flutterby00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

My second stay, just in for one night and out, but first class all the way. Courtesy car for downtown area, attractive bar, and restaurant with very good food and friendly service. Easy, quick check in and out. Small but adequate business center is the only thing I have found not to be exceptional. For me, its the perfect fit between the large impersonal mega hotels and the slightly too personal boutique hotels. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MovinOnAlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

This is a grand hotel for a couple of nights on business.

We were welcomed after check-in with a glass of wine and there was some great music playing in the background as we made our way to the lifts.

The room as smaller than anticipated but it was a fabulous room all the same. The furnishings were well maintained and the bathroom was very funky with lots of space and good lighting.

The bar was exceptional with some live music playing and good cocktails. Perfect for what seemed like a night out, but was actually a night in.

Would recommend staying here and would happily stay again at this great place!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citisurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

After a problematic check-in (room we reserved was not available as confirmed the day or two prior arrival) the staff quickly made amends at every opportunity. Naris, the bellman, was amazing with us. Attentive & entertaining the entire visit, especially with our son. The front desk was exceptional at accommodating our needs and the renovation taking place has been very well done. Although there was outside construction going on the exterior of the hotel, it was not interruptive to our stay. Our room, 1212 was gorgeous and generous in space with lovely amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

2 nights here for business plus fun with my family. We walked to Minute Maid park for an Astros game from the Icon. This is a gorgeous hotel. We booked a room w/2 double beds. Very tall ceilings, good a/c, very quiet on the 4th floor even though right next to elevator. Clean room and up to date. Valet parked my rental car and found the garage staff quick and pleasant to deal with - also, the Icon has an affordable breakfast buffet - $8 p/p and lots of great options with it. Of special note: (a) Othon, the fellow working the breakfast service. So friendly and attentive to detail. and (b) Salma, front desk guru, very friendly and helpful with regards to our boarding pass needs. The lobby bar looks like a lot of fun - busy with guests both nights. This is a great downtown hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samsmom2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Just got back from Houston trip and a 2-night stay at the Hotel ICON. From the street you can’t really identify the hotel, which I find out later, is why so many celebrities stay at this hotel. Un assuming hotel this is not! Once in the auto Cade the hotel unveils itself as a top notch Houston Hotel that likes to be on the DL and does need to boost its superior service.

Firstly, I have to thank Cheryl on the front desk. She is an amazing hotel professional – Cheryl is personable, helpful and welcoming without any air of superficiality. She framed the entire stay where nothing was a problem. This transpired to all the staff from Bellman to Room Service. The Staff at this hotel are spot on and carry the charm of this well designed lodging. Old school Houston meets London Club is very much the interior tone of the public spaces and rooms. My room was great – huge corner room with vestibule and fantastic bathroom complete with rain shower. This room was truly comfortable which starts to confirm my thoughts on avoiding new design hotels, which just say “We are fabulous but you wont be comfortable!” The rooms, like the hotel, are clean and well maintained and not showing any age. The restaurant and bar is excellent and I ate there through out my stay. They have a shuttle (a huge Cadillac)which will take you anywhere at any time and again with the drivers having a great attitude.

I think I have to go back to Cheryl as she really set this hotel up as a great business retreat with her fantastic professional attitude. So many hotels could learn something from her. Thanks Cheryl I will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sastudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#38 of 517 in Houston
2,846 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#8 of 517 in Houston
561 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Address: 220 Main St, Houston, TX 77002-1706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#33 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $189 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing