We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff (but one)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Americas - Houston
Ranked #7 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Was here for an annual meeting held at the Hilton. This is a well appointed hotel. Our room overlooked Discovery Green, a very nice 12 acre city park around which the convention center and ball field are located. There are a variety of dining options in the facility with typically high priced food. Other dining options are several short blocks away. What stood out was the very pleasant staff here, from maintenance, housecleaning to concierge. To a person they were engaging, knowledgeable and pleasant...among some of the best I've seen. This is true of all but one. I believe her name was Lark at the front desk. Her demeanor was condescending and I perceived the information she gave was less than truthful. That one small mark did not diminish our stay. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north, north east, overlooking Discovery Green are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philomundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear philomundi,

Thank you for highlighting our engaging, knowledgeable and pleasant staff on TripAdvisor. We are pleased your stay was of the highest rating and that you would return.

We will review your feedback with our team.

We appreciate you staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,019 - 2,025 of 2,931 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with great features but the best part of the stay was the staff. They were incredibly friendly and went out of their way to help in whatever way possible. The staff was courteous and polite- definitely top notch!
The one problem we had was that they are currently upgrading the locks so our room key did not work for the pool area. They fixed this quickly by simply giving us an extra key set for the pool area- no questions asked!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear K J,

Thank you for taking the time to recognize our team. Our apology for the key issue as we have been upgrading our lock system to improve the safety and security of our guests. Not that easy in an occupied hotel but glad we were able to recover. Once we are fully completed it will e a much better experience for our guests. We appreciate your understanding.

We appreciate you staying with us.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

during my recent stay Blanca at the front desk was very helpful on accommodating my request to be able to have my customers and I watch the World cup, not only we were all very gratefull but the room service tab was an added revenue that would not have happen if we had to go somewhere else.... hats off for a job well done, congratulations Blanca... sincerely victor

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victor o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Sear victor o,

Thank you for recognizing Blanca who assisted you and your colleagues.

We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I recently stayed at Hilton Americas for a business function the first week in June 2014. The hotel rate, amenities and service were outstanding. During my stay, the restaurant, Pappsitos, had just opened during my stay. My party never had to wait to be seated and our food was arrived quickly--hot and fresh. The food served both at the restaurants and room service were outstanding. Everything I needed was easily available.

Additionally, the hotel offers a shuttle service to a local 24-hour pharmacy if you needed something that you could not get at the gift store. As for my business needs, the meeting rooms were always clean and set up properly for our sessions throughout the week. Lastly, I was able to attend an Astros baseball game during my stay. I felt safe walking and from the two blocks to the hotel. Security around the hotel is outstanding. Overall, my stay was wonderful! I would definitely recommend this hotel for both leisure and business needs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolltide424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear rolltide424,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay with others on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed the many great amenties we have to offer our guests as well as the recent opening of Pappasito's Cantina...a first in any hotel.

We are grateful for your business and for your feedback.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed here for a conference w/my husband and LOVED it! It was not cheap (and parking was $18/night) but the service was excellent and the room was great. Loved the comfy bed, cleanliness and work desk. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone. The gym is great and everything looks very new. Very close to lots of good restaurants!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear NicoleHT,

Thank you for sharing your excellent stay on TripAdvisor for other travelers to read and for your recommendation. Our Waldorf Astoria bedding has been very popular.

We hope to have you back for another conference or for leisure.

We appreciate you and your husband staying with us.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Hilton provides good service, clean rooms and comfortable and clean linen. There are great toiletries and excellent housekeeping services. The only downside is that unlike the Marriot ,it does not offer a complimentary bottle of water in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Abiola I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Abiola I,

Thank you for recognizing the service you received during your stay. We do offer water for all Hilton Honors Diamond, Gold and Silver members as well as guests staying in our Executive Level rooms. Additionally, we would be more than happy to provide this when requested through our guest service hotline.

We do appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again...and providing water.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Thank you to JACQUES D'ROVENCOURT I Hotel Manager and all of his staff for an wonderful stay. I am an airline employee who travels frequently and I must say the Hilton Americas - Houston truly impressed me. The hotel was beautiful. The roof top indoor pool and outdoor terrace had amazing views! Our checkin agent was so helpful, pleasant and professional. The room was a good size and very clean!! The shuttle drivers took us anywhere downtown and were so friendly! The most impressive part of my stay was Mr. D'Rovencourt was at the front desk when I checked out. I asked him if he was the hotel manager of which he responded "yes". He politely listened to me go on and on about the excellent service I received during my stay. When I arrived home, there was an email from him thanking me for my remarks. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and I hope that you have the same experience I did!! Five Star service!!!

Room Tip: On the hotel's direct website was a tab - Room Specials. We were able to stay on the Executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruserene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#8 of 518 in Houston
501 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#34 of 518 in Houston
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Americas - Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Americas - Houston

Address: 1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010-5012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Houston
#1 Green Hotel in Houston
#3 Spa Hotel in Houston
#5 Business Hotel in Houston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $125 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Americas - Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Americas-Houston, conveniently located in the heart of downtown Houston, Texas, is directly connected via two indoor sky-bridges to the George R. Brown Convention Center, and offers 1,200 luxurious guestrooms, including four Presidential Suites and 36 one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites. This AAA Four Diamond rated hotel features 1600 Bar + Grille for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the very popular Lobby Bar, the State of Texas' largest Starbucks serving the Reserve selections, Pappasito's Cantina, In-Room Dining, the full service Skyline Spa & Health Club and FedEx Office. With 91,500 square feet of flexible meeting space, including the 40,000 square foot Lanier Grand Ballroom, the Hilton Americas-Houston is the perfect meeting place for any group and awarded one of the world's best business hotels for 2013 by Travel + Leisure magazine. Hilton Americas-Houston is the proud recipient of Hilton Hotels & Resorts Award of Excellence for service and quality for six consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Americas - Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Americas - Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston
Hilton Americas Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing