We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location to convention center” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Americas - Houston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Americas - Houston
Ranked #6 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
SAN
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location to convention center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel was connected to the convention center and it has several ballrooms, and meeting space for conferences. The staff was outstanding! Everyone I encountered was personal, pleasant, professional, and exceptionally friendly. I interacted with the personnel of thebell cap staff, the gift shop, the restaurant, the concierge, the front desk, shuttle drivers, the workers in the hallway. I was so impressed by the staff.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 16th floor. All floors are conveniently located and easily acessible to the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSANlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear TravelSANlady ,

Thank you for sharing your great experience on TripAdvisor and specifically mentioning specific departments that stood out as exceptional during your stay.

It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to your return.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,624
    757
    147
    29
    3
See reviews for
366
401
120
1,365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Hilton Americas provides a spacious room and access to downtown Houston events and restaraunts. The lobby is nicely decorated, and also very spacious. The staff are attentive and helpful and I would recommend a stay at the hotel for anyone with business downtown. Access to the Galleria for shopping was a better than expected 10 minute drive off peak hours.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Waylon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Waylon W,

Thank you for highlighting our helpful, attentive team and very convenient location.

We appreciate your recommendation to others and for your business.

We look forward to your return.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This was the host hotel for a recent convention (NBMBAA) I attended. As my title says, it's a great location if you're attending an event at the convention center because it's connected via skywalk or just a very short walk across the street. It's also close to several restaurants.

I did think the room was small (double with 2 queens) or either the furniture is too large for the space. It's a very tight fit, especially for two adults. While the room itself is small, the bathroom is spacious. A big plus! One area for improvement is the cleaning of the bathroom. There was a lingering urine smell when we first checked in that didn't seem to go away completely during our stay.

Also, be forewarned that all the eating options are extremely expensive. The breakfast buffet is $19.95+ tax! One bag of chips cost $2.50! I do expect hotels prices to be overinflated, but I was still shocked by their prices.

Overall, I would probably not stay at this hotel again if in downtown Houston on business and choose the Embassy Suites located just down the street where a hot breakfast buffet is included in your room cost.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToGo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear LoveToGo37,


Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for your original room you were in and hope the upgraded room you were moved to was much better.

We appreciate hosting you and NBMBAA while in Houston. We look forward to Houston being the host city again in the future.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I found myself unexpectedly stranded in Houston by delayed flights.

At the airport I booked a room here through Hotels.com. When I arrived at the hotel about an hour later, the place was packed with a big conference and they had no record of my reservation. Hotels.com had given me a reservation here, but there were no rooms to be given.

The front desk staff was very helpful. They called Hotels.com for me to see about the error, called nearby properties to ask for availability, and offered transportation to other hotels. In the end, there was a room to be found at Hilton Americas. I paid the same rate for it that had been originally quoted by Hotels.com.

The room was spacious and clean. Room service was good. The next morning the concierge gave me a map for jogging.

I'd go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Claire CC,

Thank you for allowing the Hilton Americas-Houston team to save the day! We appreciate your recognition and recommendation.

We look forward to your return.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here while we were at a concert at the Toyota Center and it was amazing. The room was absolutely impeccable. The bar has a very nice atmosphere, so my husband and enjoyed a few drinks. The food was also great. We will definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Victor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Victor G,

Thank you for sharing your amazing stay with others on TripAdvisor.

Our very close proximity to the Toyota Center is very convenient while attending events and not having to travel far. Our location and our AAA four diamond rated service is a great combination for a very nice night out.

We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I just spent 2 nights at the lovely Hilton Americas in downtown Houston for an unplanned stay to visit with a family member who was hospitalized at St. Joseph's downtown. We were surprised when the bellhop offered to transport us to the hospital in the hotel shuttle when we went down to get directions. We stayed in an Executive King room on the 19th floor. It was extremely comfortable. I loved the granite vanity, marble tile floors with cotton bathroom rug, fully tiled bathroom tub area, the textured bathroom wall covering, bathrobes and slippers, and Peter Thomas Roth bath amenities. Our room was very clean. I could not find one hair in the bathroom and when I ran my hand through the bath tub, there was no residue...it was squeaky clean. Every staff member we encountered where friendly and helpful. There were at least 6 different newspapers in the Executive lounge...USA Today, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Financial Times, Houston Chronicle, and a couple others, plus local publications. Staying on the Executive floor came with the privilege of having breakfast and participating in an evening reception in the Executive lounge. We ate in the Executive lounge one morning and had the buffet in The Café' restaurant in the lobby the next morning. We enjoyed the buffet in The Cafe' much better...it had everything a person could want for breakfast. The bed was comfortable, water hot, internet connection great and city view relaxing. We only walked through the fitness center, which was very spacious and very well-equipped to meet all exercise needs. There were complementary ear buds to connect to the equipment for listening /watching enjoyment. We wished we had more time to sit on the roof top terrace. It is so relaxing up there on the 24th floor! Thanks Hilton Americas!!!!!!! We loved our experience and will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 19th floor on looking over the Toyota Center and it was nice and quiet. I can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank conniej238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear conniej328,

Thank you for sharing how much you loved your experience at the Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We do hope your family member is doing much better and we look forward to welcoming you back under much better circumstances.

Thank you for staying with us.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Americas to attend a family wedding between September 6-8 and had a wonderful time. The hotel reception and lobby are beautifully decorated, the staff are friendly and hospitable, the rooms are clean and elegant, and it was an all-round comfortable stay. The only thing I didn't like was the mattress on the beds - too soft!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing you and your family's experience at the Hilton Americas-Houston on TripAdvisor. We are pleased everyone had a wonderful time.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Americas - Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Americas - Houston

Property: Hilton Americas - Houston
Address: 1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010-5012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Houston
#1 Green Hotel in Houston
#2 Spa Hotel in Houston
#5 Business Hotel in Houston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Americas - Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Americas-Houston, conveniently located in the heart of downtown Houston, Texas, is directly connected via two indoor sky-bridges to the George R. Brown Convention Center, and offers 1,200 luxurious guestrooms, including four Presidential Suites and 36 one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites. This AAA Four Diamond rated hotel was newly renovated in 2011. Featuring 1600 Bar + Grille for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the very popular Lobby Bar, the State of Texas' largest Starbucks which serves the Reserve selections, Pappasito's Cantina, In-Room Dining, the full service Skyline Spa & Health Club and FedEx. With 91,500 square feet of technologically advanced, flexible meeting space, including the 40,000 square foot Lanier Grand Ballroom, divisible into 12 independent spaces, the 26,000 square foot Ballroom of the Americas, divisible into six independent spaces, plus 10,000 square feet of invitingly usable pre-function space, Hilton Americas-Houston is the perfect meeting place for any group and awarded one of the world's best business hotels for 2013 by Travel + Leisure magazine. Hilton Americas-Houston is the proud recipient of Hilton Worldwide's Award of Excellence for service and quality for five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Americas - Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Americas - Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston
Hilton Americas Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing