We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,224)
Filter reviews
3,224 results
Traveler rating
2,079
925
182
32
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,079
925
182
32
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centertoyota centerthe executive loungediscovery greenminute maid parksky bridgerockets gamegreat hotellarge hotelattending a conferencelobby barhouse of bluesself parkingwithin walking distancedowntown arearoom serviceindoor pool
Filter
Updating list...
2,780 - 2,785 of 3,224 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great location near the baseball and basketball arenas in downtown Houston. It is a large hotel but the staff makes you feel at home with outstanding service. I love the large fitness center and lap pool!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Andrew Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Andrew Q,

Thank you so much for your review and recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

We appreciate your business.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My family and I recently reserved two rooms while in town for a regional sports tournament. The hotel was at capacity with a variety of events going on.
Upon arrival the valet and check-in was quick and staff offered free lemonade while in the lobby. The rooms were ready and clean So far we had no complaints. The hotel is within walking distance of a number of attractions, restaurants, and events.
The first morning of our stay, we ordered room service. The first order arrived two hours later than promised and only after a call downstairs. The order for the second room was twenty minutes late and generally cold when it arrived. I understand there can be delays, but given that this hotel is connected to the convention center, they should be used to dealing with a high volume of guests that may need to be somewhere at a give time.
When we returned from a day of tournaments, our room had been cleaned, but in the zeal to clean a number of things were overlooked. Both rooms were not left with enough towels for the number of guests staying in the rooms. One rooms was left with coffee but no cups. The last oversight was that the valet stub left on the dresser was thrown away by housecleaning. Admittedly these are minor complaints, but not what I would except from this hotel.
We did have chance to dine at the restaurant on site. There is adequate variety in the menu without totally price gouging guests. The servers were a little hectic, but very nice and tried to personalize their interactions with us.
Pros: Proximity to attractions
overall size of the rooms
amenities available onsite (spa, gym, pool, etc)

Cons: Just be aware of the small fees that add to the per night cost
Housekeeping/room service could be improved
No fridge in room

Room Tip: Pick a room facing Lamar Street
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vestacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Vestacha,

Thank you for providing feedback on your Hilton Americas-Houston visit on TripAdvisor over Lonestar Volleyball weekend.

We apologize for your room service and housekeeping experience and have shared this with our team. Complimentary refrigerators are available upon request and we are in the process of installing these permanently in our guest rooms.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have seen many very large hotel properties and mostly they seem unattractive particularly if they are business hotels. But Hilton Americas, despite its huge size, manages to carry a warm feeling. It has a giant entrance, spacious! There is great bar right accors entrance gate. it is a serious full service bar with plent of sitting availability. Professional reception desk and its attendants are knowledgable, ready to help. We used the concierge once and unlike many other places we got sincerely attentive service.

Rooms are OK. Your typical Hilton property. My room was on the west side, it is where gym is located and has a better view of the city. So ask for it. This property has also a spacious executive lounge.

We had breakfast in the main restaurant. Breakfast choices and service was average. I thought it did not match up to overall appearance of the rest of the Hotel.

You can stay this Hilton if you are in town for Toyota Center or Convention Center. If you have little business in this area but plenty of leisure time then check other Hilton properties around Westheimer. We realized later that all the fun i.e. plenty of restaurant choices, bars, as well as shopping opportunities were located around Westheimer, also known as Gallaria neighbourhood.

Room Tip: West Side Rooms Higher Floors
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Levent G,

Thank you for your feedback. Your comment on our warm, welcoming hotel is an honor from a seasoned traveler such as yourself.

We are not only conveniently connected to the George R. Brown Convention Center and next to the Toyota Center, we are also a few blocks away from Minute Maid Park, BBVA Compass Stadium, Greenstreet (for dining and entertainment) and very close to Midtown, Bayou Place and the museum district. Plenty to do in this part of Houston.

Thank you for staying with us and for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

A top notch Hilton, but unfortunately that also comes with the usual Hilton nickel and dime-ing you for anything extra. As Gold HH had access to the Exec lounge--thank you that was great, but how about at least some happy hour pricing for beer and wine. Upwards of $7 for a beer is a bit steep. A continental breakfast was served as well in the lounge--nice, but some hot eggs in a warmer could easily be accommodated. Yes, I understand the concept of "continental", but see this as a doable do. Would have also liked a frig in the room. Would have also like a better room as a Gold member (i.e. view and/or closer to lounge/fitness). A plus over its across the street ES neighbor is the more reasonably priced and self parking option. Staff was good as well. All in all a solid property, some refinements as suggested above would make this an outstanding venue.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmenge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Schmenge S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I love this hotel. The staff is always wonderful. The rooms are surperb. Parking is expensive but you can park at the meters out front of the hotel with no fees overnight. You have to move your car before 7 am or you have to purchase meter time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Patricia L,

We love you too!

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews