We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Americas - Houston
Ranked #7 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice staff and facilities”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I came to Houston on business and stayed here for several days. The hotel is clean and the rooms are beautiful. The pool and gym facilities are easy to acces and in very good condition. They were open early and late so I was able to take advantage after a full day's work, which was much appreciated!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbertucc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear pbertucc,

Thank you for recognizing our team, guest rooms and clean facilities on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,773
    811
    155
    32
    5
See reviews for
417
431
134
1,467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

THis was a GREAT hotel to celebrate our anniversary this past weekend. THe Hotel staff was very friendly and met all of our requests for our anniversary. They were very nice to gift us with a bottle of wine and free breakfast for our celebration.

Everything is clean and neat! It is in a great location for bars and great resturants.

THank you HIlton! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor away from elevators :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mueller1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Mueller1500,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor and for spending your anniversary with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Satyed here for one night on a recent business trip to Houston, i was travelling with a colleague and we had access to the executive lounge on the club level. The manager of the lounge was incrediby helpful making our stay much more relaxing. great rooms, good views of the city, very well air conditioned and close to everything you need in Houston. Great swimming pool on the top of the hotel too. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Clubs rooms are worth the extra for access to the lounge to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Barney70,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor and complimenting our team.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I received this hotel via a Priceline bid and was very pleased after seeing the reviews. Upon checking in I asked the clerk (Christopher) twice, to please not to put me in a room with a connecting door since I had a bad experience with that, he must of not have listened as he ended up putting me in one anyway so then I had to go all the way back down, wait in another line then I got this clerk (Katie) and I asked if she could move me, she had a bit of an attitude but at least I got put in a nice spacious room without a connecting door. Other than that little snafu at check-in the rest of the staff from the gym, housekeeping were very pleasant. This is one of the nicest Hiltons I've stayed at, and you can't beat the views.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing downtown Houston.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p51mustangcaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear p51mustangcaf,

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for your check in experience which we have shared with our team.

We appreciate you staying with us as well as your compliments of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I am usually not a fan of the hotels in this price category. However, I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The staff were friendly, the hotel room was modern, and most importantly, the room was quiet. We also had a decent view. With that said, I still think these hotels are too expensive. We stayed here for a conference and paid a nightly rate of $221. My employer paid for it as I would never pay that much for a hotel room unless it had an extremely good view (e.g., Niagara Falls). I am always dumb founded how hotels like this do not offer free Wifi in the rooms and lower-tier hotels, like Holiday Inn Express, do.

I only have a few complaints. First, the room could have been cleaned a bit better. You could see dust build up in certain areas of the room, like the top of the make-up mirror, the corners of the carpet, on the carpet near the furniture, and under the curtains. This is problematic when you have small children like us. Second, they did not have Disney Channel (again, the children). Third, paying for parking was confusing. We parked in the garage and they did not charge it to the room. I asked when I left about it and was told to just tell the garage attendant when we checked in. We did that and the attendant seemed somewhat confused. There has to be a better way of paying for parking than this.

Overall, an average hotel, but better than most in this price category.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kandkwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear kandkwed,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor. Our apology for the challenges you encountered and we have shared this with our team.

We encourage our guests to provide feedback during their stay via our Guest Services Hotline in order to be able to correct any deficiencies in order to make it a great stay.

Thank you for staying with us and again our apology.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here on a recent business trip (conference) to Houston. Overall, the hotel was a solid choice. The work-out facilities were amazing and the hotel restaurant was decent (good breakfast buffet choices). The hotel is also very close to the basketball arena, baseball stadium and some restaurants. My only complaint is that I did not receive a room with the bed I requested in my researvation and despite my inquiries, the staff were not very interested in helping fix the situation. Generally, I also continue to be annoyed with having to pay in-room internet fees at some Hilton's ($15 per day!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorPlum2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear ProfessorPlum2011,

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for the accommodation you requested was not available and not met with concern.

Complimentary internet is available for all Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond level status, in our Executive Level rooms and in the hotel lobby for all guests. In addition, complimentary internet is also available for all AT&T U-verse customers.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

First time in Houston & this is a superb hotel.
Breakfast was amazing loads to choose from, and service was tip top.
I particularly loved the gym & pool, what a great view of all the surrounding buildings.
Location wise not sure how much is round about as got taxis everywhere but seemed quite central.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear RubyLady,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 511 in Houston
1,468 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 511 in Houston
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#36 of 511 in Houston
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Americas - Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Americas - Houston

Property: Hilton Americas - Houston
Address: 1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010-5012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Houston
#1 Family Hotel in Houston
#3 Spa Hotel in Houston
#5 Business Hotel in Houston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Americas - Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Americas-Houston, conveniently located in the heart of downtown Houston, Texas, is directly connected via two indoor sky-bridges to the George R. Brown Convention Center, and offers 1,200 luxurious guestrooms, including four Presidential Suites and 36 one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites. This AAA Four Diamond rated hotel was newly renovated in 2011. Featuring 1600 Bar + Grille for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the very popular Lobby Bar, the State of Texas' largest Starbucks serving the Reserve selections, Pappasito's Cantina, In-Room Dining, the full service Skyline Spa & Health Club and FedEx Office. With 91,500 square feet of technologically advanced, flexible meeting space, including the 40,000 square foot Lanier Grand Ballroom, divisible into 12 independent spaces, the 26,000 square foot Ballroom of the Americas, divisible into six independent spaces, plus 10,000 square feet of invitingly usable pre-function space, Hilton Americas-Houston is the perfect meeting place for any group and awarded one of the world's best business hotels for 2013 by Travel + Leisure magazine. Hilton Americas-Houston is the proud recipient of Hilton Hotels & Resorts Award of Excellence for service and quality for six consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Americas - Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Americas - Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston
Hilton Americas Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing