We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Americas - Houston
Ranked #7 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great location - right across the street from the convention center, Toyota Center, park, and several great restaurants. Short walk to Minute Maid Park and Dynamo Stadium. Free shuttle to nearby attractions available, which was very helpful.

Rooms were spacious and clean. Great amenities. Good selection of restaurants inside hotel as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MangoTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear MangoTexas,

Thank you for your review and recognizing our great location, spacious rooms and amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,834)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Americas - Houston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,476 - 2,482 of 2,834 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

All around...the hotel was beautiful. Very Clean. The entire staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would love to stay in this hotel again! It was great to be this close to the convention center. Made it quick and easy to attend the business conference.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tami W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Tami W,

Thank you for complimenting our friendly staff and our convenient location.

We look forward to your return.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This place tries very hard to please and for the most part, succeeds. Their rooms are very clean and well appointed. Beds are comfortable, decent food, good bars and you can't beat the location. Ask for a room with a view of downtown.

The only problem I've ever had staying here is that they get flooded with volume during conventions downtown and service definitely slips a little. But, they definitely work hard to please. Harder than any other hotel of its size. I will continue to stay at this hotel on Houston visits. Particularly when I have events downtown to attend. Very good hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbaron721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear rbaron721,

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights. On the first night I had to be moved to 3 different rooms because the satellite was out on the television. They made up for this by giving me 3 free breakfasts and a free lunch which was great. They also delivered a bottle of wine and a fruit plate to apologize. Food at the cafe was very over priced but mostly good. Pancakes were awful but omelets and hamburgers were delicious. The pool and gym were lovely and not crowded. My biggest complaint is that the walls are paper thin. I was awakend several times by loud neighbors at all times of the night and you can hear everything out in the hallway... every door closing, every conversation, etc.
Pillows and bed were very comfortable and staff was friendly and nice. There is not much to do downtown if you're alone. Luckily I found the food court at Houston center just a few blocks away.Not much for shopping except a forever 21 and a Macy's that's closing. A lot of businesses seem to be going out downtown. I'm sure there is a lot more to see if you're willing to venture out by cab or bus.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyo1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear kellyo1126,

Thank you so much for your review and we are sorry for the inconveniences you experienced. Fortunately, the televison issues you experienced were corrected on the same evening. We are glad our team reacted with concern and proper follow up.

Kelly Terry, we hope the next time you're in the area you will consider staying with us again.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here for a large (250 people) company conference. Usually conference hotels are not the best. I as pleasantly surprised. The service was excellent, the room was spacious and clean. The furniture was modern and pleasant as well as very functional. My room was on a corner of the building on the 10th floor with great views on the Toyota Center.

Room Tip: Get the corner room of the building on the higher floors.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globewalker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Globewalker13,

Thank you for complimenting our service and guest rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed for business with meetings at the convention centre; there is a skywalk connecting the buildings which was extremely convenient. The rooms and beds were good as expected of the Hilton brand. The spa services were very good, enjoyed a relaxing mani/pedi during some down time. If you are interested in shopping or checking out some of the 'better' restaurants or taking in the popular nightlife this hotel is not ideal, however a car rental, $25 taxi or 30-45 minute transit ride will get you there. All staff were very good and attentive throughout; I would recommend this hotel. Be sure to check if there is a conference/convention as it may not be pleasant if you are not a part of it :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatarinaAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear KatarinaAdventures,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

It is a great hotel, but it's advisable to understand that it is very big. The concierge was professional, attentive, and helpful and the breakfast was great. The parking is cumbersome and you can spend quite some time waiting for the elevator. I would suggest avoiding the hotel during a big event (we stayed during a bowl game and the place was a bit of a zoo).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travelingbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear 2travelingbugs,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#34 of 517 in Houston
1,937 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 517 in Houston
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
468 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Americas - Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Americas - Houston

Address: 1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010-5012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Houston
#1 Green Hotel in Houston
#3 Spa Hotel in Houston
#5 Business Hotel in Houston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $142 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Americas - Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Americas-Houston, conveniently located in the heart of downtown Houston, Texas, is directly connected via two indoor sky-bridges to the George R. Brown Convention Center, and offers 1,200 luxurious guestrooms, including four Presidential Suites and 36 one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites. This AAA Four Diamond rated hotel was newly renovated in 2011. Featuring 1600 Bar + Grille for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the very popular Lobby Bar, the State of Texas' largest Starbucks serving the Reserve selections, Pappasito's Cantina, In-Room Dining, the full service Skyline Spa & Health Club and FedEx Office. With 91,500 square feet of technologically advanced, flexible meeting space, including the 40,000 square foot Lanier Grand Ballroom, divisible into 12 independent spaces, the 26,000 square foot Ballroom of the Americas, divisible into six independent spaces, plus 10,000 square feet of invitingly usable pre-function space, Hilton Americas-Houston is the perfect meeting place for any group and awarded one of the world's best business hotels for 2013 by Travel + Leisure magazine. Hilton Americas-Houston is the proud recipient of Hilton Hotels & Resorts Award of Excellence for service and quality for six consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Americas - Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Americas - Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston
Hilton Americas Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing