We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Americas - Houston
Ranked #7 of 510 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely Facility”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Rooms were comfortable, staff all friendly, convenient to Hobby Airport. The hallways are long here. Great shower. Attended a conference here and the food was served nicely and was good for conference food!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountJuliet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear MountJuliet2011,

Thank you for recognizing our hotel, food and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,767
    809
    154
    32
    4
See reviews for
413
429
134
1,464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Was in Houston for work and stayed here, this is truly one of the top Hilton's I have ever stayed at. The executive lounge is on the top floor of the hotel and overlooks the entire ciy, they are very customer focused.

I highly recommend this hotel if you are in Houston

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road_Princess2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Road_Princess2010,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor and your recommendation to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back to paradise in the middle of downtown Houston!

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

It is so nice to come home for a long season of business travel, but this hotel was like coming home. The friendly staff,clean rooms, nice facilities, great food, were such a warm welcome I hope to go back for fun travel. I look forward to the next stay and will recommend for any conferences.

Room Tip: Add the executive suite...well worth the few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Lisa V,

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Americas-Houston.

We want every guest to feel at home when staying with us and appreciate knowing when we have done so.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you can relax and enjoy what Houston has to offer our visitors.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed 2 nights recently during a conference. The hotel is a typical Hilton - which is to say very nice. The executive lounge has a decent selection of items during breakfast and cocktail hour. The rooms are large with the usual Hilton amenities. There is no mini-fridge, but you can request one when you check in.

Since the hotel is part of the convention center and across the street from the Toyota Center, it is a great location if you are participating in something at one of those places. Otherwise, this part of Houston leaves alot to be desired.

Room service was the one disappointment. It was half cold and sub par. I had breakfast in the hotel restaurant one morning. It had the usual Hilton Buffet option which I always enjoy. The buffet is a quality buffet with cook to order items and a selection of hot and cold items. It is a bit pricey, but worth it. Please note that the "spencer's steakhouse" restaurant has closed. It will be replaced by a mexican place of some sort although it didn't appear that would be the case anytime soon.

There is a UPS store onsight, or you can go across the street to the convention center and visit the fedex office.

There is some construction going on in this area of downtown, so be aware that some sidewalks are blocked off.

There is self-parking for $19 a day or valet for about twice that. Self -park ...it is in a garage that is connected by a walkway.

The hotel offers wifi for a fee. One of the advantages of booking on the executive level is free internet. My job requires it, so between the free wifi and the snacks/continental breakfast in the EL, the slight increase in the room rate is worth it to me.

Every single staff person I encountered was very friendly and helpful. I always appreciate that. I travel quite a bit and it is nice to stay somewhere that appreciates you as a customer and truly wants to meet any special requests you need.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prs2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear prs2007,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience and recognizing our team as well as our great location.

Our apology on your room service order and will look into making the necessary improvements.

We will be placing refrigerators in our guest rooms on a permanent basis in 2013 which will be a great feature for our guests. In the interim they are available by request on a complimentary basis.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton in 2006 on a conference. We visited Houston to visit our daugher and her husband as they have recently settled here. We were lucky to go over Thanksgiving and take advantage of great rates - Hilton luxury for less than $150 per night all in. My daughter lives in Midtown and the hotel was less than 10 minutes away so quite convenient for our stay.

We selected the Hilton as we had good memories from our previous visit. The other Houston hotels had viarable Tripadvisor reviews and were expensive. We stayed with what we knew and have not been dissappointed.

The executive floor was under renovation but this did not detract from our stay. We had a very comfortable room - twin queen beds, large work area, big bathroom, all the needed facilities - tea, coffee, iron, toiletries and safe. Ceramic cups would be better than the paper ones for the room though.

The staff made our stay this time round. The valet was great - parking to allow us to get situated etc.., Guest Services exceptional - quick, efficient and polite. Requests for fridge, bathrobe, unblocking toilet, toilet paper, towels and linen were all effectively handled and we did not feel like we were "bothering" them - to the contrary - "we are happy to help to make sure your stay is memorable". And this over Thanksgiving! We were also given free wifi as our Thankgiving gift. The first receptionist we dealt with was a bit iffie. Her supervisor corrected her deficiencies.

Parking at $30 per night is very expensive. We were transported by my daughter and did not need a car. However, casual parking for her was expensive at $8 per 2 hours. The hotel does offer a good shuttle service to downtown (Macy's etc) and will fetch you. This was really appreciated.

We will be back to see my daughter and husband and will stay here again if possible.

Room Tip: High room away from elevators. Stay on the side with a view of the Astros ball park. The views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Déjà vu...merci beaucoup!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My daughter and I attended a Paul McCartney concert a couple of weeks ago in Houston at Minute Maid Park. The Hilton Americas Hotel is located in downtown Houston and was the perfect place to stay because its within walking distance of the ball park! We parked our car in the Hilton parking garage which was complimentary and we walked to a nice restaurant downtown for dinner and then to the ballpark for the concert. No problems with traffic or parking! The hotel and room was very nice and I got it with Hilton Honors points so you couldn't beat it! We had a wonderful stay with no hassles and it was the perfect hotel to stay in to see an event downtown!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear John P,

Thank you for allowing the Hilton Americas-Houston to help be a part of a great evening out with your daughter. Our great location is perfect for anyone attending Houston Astros games or attending concerts at Minute Maid Park as you experienced.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Visited the hotel in November, had a nice room overlooking the park. Room was clean, well appointed and smelled fresh. the bathroom was also clean, including the Tub / Shower area. Had access to the concierge lounge for evening snacks and morning light breakfast. The lounge is open on the weekends and it is quite large. Many areas to relax and meet in.

Overall a great stay. Did not eat at any restaurants in the hotel but just a few short blocks is a variety of restaurants now

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the park the view was nice... Hotel elevators are on either side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laptopjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear laptopjob,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 510 in Houston
1,465 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#8 of 510 in Houston
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#36 of 510 in Houston
1,860 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 510 in Houston
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Americas - Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Americas - Houston

Property: Hilton Americas - Houston
Address: 1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010-5012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Houston
#1 Family Hotel in Houston
#3 Spa Hotel in Houston
#5 Business Hotel in Houston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Americas - Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Americas-Houston, conveniently located in the heart of downtown Houston, Texas, is directly connected via two indoor sky-bridges to the George R. Brown Convention Center, and offers 1,200 luxurious guestrooms, including four Presidential Suites and 36 one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites. This AAA Four Diamond rated hotel was newly renovated in 2011. Featuring 1600 Bar + Grille for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the very popular Lobby Bar, the State of Texas' largest Starbucks serving the Reserve selections, Pappasito's Cantina, In-Room Dining, the full service Skyline Spa & Health Club and FedEx Office. With 91,500 square feet of technologically advanced, flexible meeting space, including the 40,000 square foot Lanier Grand Ballroom, divisible into 12 independent spaces, the 26,000 square foot Ballroom of the Americas, divisible into six independent spaces, plus 10,000 square feet of invitingly usable pre-function space, Hilton Americas-Houston is the perfect meeting place for any group and awarded one of the world's best business hotels for 2013 by Travel + Leisure magazine. Hilton Americas-Houston is the proud recipient of Hilton Hotels & Resorts Award of Excellence for service and quality for six consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Americas - Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Americas - Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston
Hilton Americas Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing