We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid hotel convenient to everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Americas - Houston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Americas - Houston
Ranked #6 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Solid hotel convenient to everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

My family stayed here while attending a MLS game at BBVA Compass Stadium. On top of the fantastic location just minutes away from the stadium, we also were surprised to find a great rate on the Hilton website. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the hotel felt new and was beautiful and the room was extremely comfortable for our family of 4. The best feature by far is the indoor pool located on the 23rd floor with panoramic views of the city skyline. My kids didn't want to leave the pool. The executive lounge was very well staffed with great food options and plenty of eating. The hotel provided us with a free shuttle to the stadium and then we walked the couple of blocks back. Such a great perk! This hotel is so close to the Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park and the soccer stadium - I'm sure we'll be back next time we go to a game!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Susie B,

Thank you for the opportunity to be your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Downtown Houston.

We are conveniently located to the area attractions you mentioned as well as the only Houston hotel connected to the George R. Brown Convention Center, across the street from Discovery Green, a few blocks away from the Houston Pavilions dining and entertainment center and not far from the Museum and Theater Districts.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,624
    757
    147
    29
    3
See reviews for
366
401
120
1,365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
120 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I were here for a CME conference at the convention center she was attending. We booked 3 nights as this is the only hotel that has a covered bridge to the convention center so you can walk right over regardless of the weather. You can choose to self park or valet. We opted for valet at a cost of $30 a night. But there is a covered walking bridge to the parking garage next door if you want. Our room was on the Executive lounge floor with a King size bed and lots of room on the granite top writing desk. We upgraded to the Executive King room for $19.95 a night as it included WiFi ($15 a day otherwise) and access to the Executive lounge. The lounge offers private access with free continental breakfast and snacks and appetizers in the evening. Coffee and beverages included as well. An adult bar is in the lounge for an additional charge. The coffee offered is much better than the coffee you get from brewing yourself in the room. The fruit and pastries are fresh and of restaurant quality. If you want to get the most out of your stay and have added value upgrade to the Executive Lounge. I am thankful we did! PS. The blanket included on our bed was very very warm. If you like a cool night's sleep as we do just use covered sheets as the comforter will lock in all your heat.

Room Tip: If you are going to upgrade to the Executive Lounge try to get a room on the same floor as it makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank HPCBarnabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear HPCBarnabas,

Thank you for selecting the Hilton Americas-Houston as your hotel of choice during your conference and upgrading to our Executive Level. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the added amenities that come with the Executive Level rooms.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband was attending a large meeting at the Hilton Americas. We had an excellent room. There was a small problem with the lock which received immediate and courteous service. The lobby was so pleasant with many seating choices that I did not mind using the free wi fi in the lobby bar, at the lobby starbucks and just sitting in a lobby couch or chair. The banquet for my husband's meeting was excellent! Always a pleasant surprise given how hard it is to feed lots of people at once. We did use the hotel shuttle to go to Brennans for dinner. The shuttle worked fine and Brennans was superb! I would have preferred if the hotel was within walking distance to nice shopping. Otherwise all was great!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BubbieZay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear BubbieZay,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor and recognizing our cleanliness, service, rooms and banquet operation.

It is nice to read that our hotel shuttle assisted in making for what was a great night out at Brennan’s.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Because of availability, I had to book another hotel for my first night in town. After that, I checked into the Hilton. As soon as I stepped into the lobby, I was impressed - this was in a different class than the hotel I had just left. The lobby has a pleasant scent and it is elegantly decorated. There are many places to sit along with a coffee/bakery kiosk, a restaurant, and some gift shops. The staff in the lobby area was very friendly and accomodating. My room was nice - it was in a corner area so I think it was larger than other standard rooms. It did cost $15/day for wifi, so that was a little disappointing but I guess that's what you get at higher end hotels. It was soooo easy to walk to the GBR conference center from here - there is an indoor skywalk bridge on both the 2nd and 3rd floors. I'd recommend this to others who are in Houston for conferences.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear kemahone,

Thank you for selecting the Hilton Americas during your recent visit to Houston and for your recommendation to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here during the recent AQS Quilt Show. Hotel was extremely busy but always attentive. Room was excellent. Quiet, clean and comfortable. Despite being fully booked at the time, the staff was always pleasant and quick to respond to our needs. If I had any complaint, it would be the price of meals. A bit expensive and there was no way to get a quick easy and inexpensive bite to eat. However, that said, I would recommend the hotel to anyone doing business in downtown Houston.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Dennis P ,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

Your recognition of our team and guest rooms are appreciated.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a great room. Staff is friendly. Concierge level was great - large area, not cramped as in some locations. If you are at a conference, the location is perfect, and you can walk to a good number of restaurant options.
Air conditioner (this is Houston, it's important!) worked well - very quiet.
Giant big bathroom.
Warning: check your bill carefully. As a Hilton Honors Gold member, I get complimentary internet: "just charge to your room, and it will be subtracted from the bill". Luckily, I did review my bill, called about the charge, :(, got it removed, logged onto the internet, and got charged again!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be in good locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear barbara h,

Thank you for recognizing our friendly staff and sorry about the internet charges that mistakingly kept appearing on your bill. We have reviewed this wiith out team in order to get this corrected.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Hilton made my trip to the International Quilt Show perfect. I enjoyed the valet parking,
the hotel staff and the restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable. The in room coffee
would be the only negative comment that I could make.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Marilyn D,

Thank you for selecting us to be your hotel of choice during the Quilts Market and Festival.

We will continue to work to never disappoint.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Americas - Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Americas - Houston

Property: Hilton Americas - Houston
Address: 1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010-5012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Houston
#1 Green Hotel in Houston
#2 Spa Hotel in Houston
#5 Business Hotel in Houston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Americas - Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Americas-Houston, conveniently located in the heart of downtown Houston, Texas, is directly connected via two indoor sky-bridges to the George R. Brown Convention Center, and offers 1,200 luxurious guestrooms, including four Presidential Suites and 36 one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites. This AAA Four Diamond rated hotel was newly renovated in 2011. Featuring 1600 Bar + Grille for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the very popular Lobby Bar, the State of Texas' largest Starbucks which serves the Reserve selections, Pappasito's Cantina, In-Room Dining, the full service Skyline Spa & Health Club and FedEx. With 91,500 square feet of technologically advanced, flexible meeting space, including the 40,000 square foot Lanier Grand Ballroom, divisible into 12 independent spaces, the 26,000 square foot Ballroom of the Americas, divisible into six independent spaces, plus 10,000 square feet of invitingly usable pre-function space, Hilton Americas-Houston is the perfect meeting place for any group and awarded one of the world's best business hotels for 2013 by Travel + Leisure magazine. Hilton Americas-Houston is the proud recipient of Hilton Worldwide's Award of Excellence for service and quality for five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Americas - Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Americas - Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston
Hilton Americas Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing