We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home for the frequent travler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Americas - Houston
Ranked #7 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Industry, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home for the frequent travler”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I'll start with the best - the staff. From house cleaning to management these folks are outstanding. They are always there to assist you (but not in an overbearing way). They are all genuinely friendly and just nice people. I can't find enough good things to say about them. The people make the place, thus the title of my review.
I have spent over 60 nights this year at this hotel and consider it the very best hotel I have every been at. I say this from several perspectives (starting with the staff, above). The ground floor is stunning. The massive open area is very impressive and compares well with all but the most exclusive 5-star hotels. It is truly world class.
This is a convention hotel and when it is busy there are people milling about everywhere. This can be a form of entertainment in itself. There are places one can go to escape all the noise and commotion when one needs some quiet time so don't feel intimidated by this aspect.
The breakfast is amazing. The food is gourmet quality. The fruits are freshiest and tastiest I've had. Even something as simple as scrambled eggs is a real treat. Don't miss it. It is well worth the price.
The location is great. It is next to convention, baseball, and basketball/concert venues. One can walk to most downtown places, but a cab is immediately available at the whistle of the bell captain. The LRT is within an easy walk, and it goes all the way to Reliant Stadium.
This hotel is not cheap, but you get what you pay for (world class) - the best staff in the business, gourmet food, some great rooms with great views, tranportation on demand, and a home away from home.

Room Tip: The city and park views are the best. Higher is better. The suites are fantastic but the "norma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Gary S,

Thank you for recognizing our team on TripAdvisor. Travelling and being away from family and friends is not easy and we want our guests to feel as comfortable as possible....like they would at home.

We appreciate your loyalty and your friendship.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,773
    811
    155
    32
    5
See reviews for
417
431
134
1,467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel was very nice, put you definitely pay a premium for the location. Plenty of surcharges and city taxes and there is nothing inexpensive in the hotel. 15 bucks a day for WiFi is a scam.

The room was very clean, no complaints there at all.

The location is right next to the Convention center and there is a nice little park right by it. Again I guess location is everything.

The staff was extremely helpful, i would have to give them a 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: 8079 and 8081 and had a great view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drakethib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear drakethib,

Thank you very much for your review and highlighting our great location, cleanliness and service. As a AAA Four Diamond rated hotel, we want to maintain the level of services and product that guests expect at this
higher rating.

Complimentary internet access is available for all Hilton Honors Diamond and Gold level status guests. We encourage all of our guests to become members in order to take part of this benefit at any full service Hilton Hotel worldwide. In addition, complimentary internet access is provided for all those staying in our Executive Level rooms, those who subscribe to ATT&T as well as in the hotel lobby.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes, NY
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was here for a conference in September. The location for that of course is excellent since you just need to walk over the skybridge right into the George Brown conference center.

I know the place was sold out but it never felt busy or cramped which is a good thing.

Rooms were average in size and don't really deliver a great view (but who comes to downtown Houston for the view anyways ?).

I marked it average for value. Food in the hotel was at the pricier end for what you got (although the quality was good). I know I'd have been annoyed at being charged for internet (which you are), but luckily I inherited Hilton gold status thanks to my frquent flyer card and the internet was free...(The lesson here kids is travel 65000 miles a year in an cramped aluminium tube and you too can get free stuff).

Anyway it gets a recommendation from me. It did all I asked of it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradshsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear bradshai,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your recommendation and your loyalty to the Hilton brand.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had reservations for a couple of non-smoking connecting rooms at the Hilton Americas for the first weekend in October,2012. We were celebrating our daughter's 13th birthday and had invitated a few of her teenage girlfriends to stay for an overnight. We selected this weekend because we thought there were no concerts, conferences or conventions in town and the kids could enjoy the space without having to be over supervised. To our suprise upon arrival to the hotel, the lobby was packed with guest from a huge business convention. Also, the two non-smoking connecting rooms that we had reserved were not available due to past guest smoking inside one of the room. I was dissapointed and stress out as we were traveling with 7 teenage girls and was needing to come up with a plan B very quickly. Kaitlan at the front desk was very apologetic and extremely accomodating. After a long search, She found us a suite and a near by double queen bed room to accomodate our party. She helped with keeping the birthday cake refrigerated until it was needed . The hotel manager on staff, Mr. Ruben Wong was very professional and apologized for the inconvenience to both my husband and I. He went the extra mile by providing our party with valet parking at no cost. He sent a birthday card and a plate of chocolates and fruits to our daughter from the Hilton family making her feel special. We have stayed in many hotels around the world and my husband keeps elite levels status with different hotel chains and we have to say that we were definetly amazed with the First Class Customer Services provided to us by the Houston Hilton Americas. Other hotels should learn from this well trained hospitality staff. We will recommend the Houston Hilton Americas to friends and clients and we will back here for more stays.

Room Tip: The corner double queen beds rooms are very spacious. The views of the Discovery Green Park are rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texarrican1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Texarrican1

Thank you for allowing us to be the host hotel for such a special occasion for your daughter and your family. We appreciate your recognition of Kaitlin and Ruben who were instrumental in turning your experience into a great one.

We have shared your review with our team.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a huge conference in early October that basically took over the entire city. Hotel is perfectly situated for basketball/baseball games and conference center events. There were some minor cleanliness issues- some junk in the hallways and the lobby bathroom being pretty dirty at 6am one day. Rooms have pretty much everything you need and have a nice modern decor. A corkscrew/ bottle opener in the room would have been nice though but the front desk provided one right away. Otherwise well laid out for the business traveller. The gym/pool on the top floor offer great views and there is an open deck that is great to hang out on in the evenings. At peak times the 12 elevators have a little trouble keeping up when the hotel is full- modern elevators should sense when they are near capacity and not stop at every floor to pick up passengers. Because of that and the road closures around the hotel for our conference I would like to apologize to the other guests -especially the weddings going on-that were likely pretty inconvenienced by us being there. Food and drink not cheap here either- including the coffee shop but the service was very quick and very friendly. Overall if I was back in town I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanfan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Vanfan68,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We appreciate getting feedback on areas where we excelled as well as where we can improve.

We enjoyed hosting you and the Starbucks conference during your time in Houston. It did appear that all the attendees enjoyed our hotel as well as what our great City has to offer.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

In a world where good manners have faded from the common scene and thorough training of hospitality sector employees lacking, here is an oasis. A sense of genuine caring was part of every service from bellman and front desk staff, to housekeeping. This is primarily a large convention hotel. You would never know it from service delivery. On entering the room forst assigned, it did not seem perfectly fresh. The bellman, hotel clerk and manager made the quickest correction possible, with all the grace you could imagine. This manager should be cloned. The visit restored my hope that we can experience this quality of service in 2012. I am a picky traveller. This stay was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appaltripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Appaltripper,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that your initial room was not acceptable but very glad to know our team responded to exceed your expectations. We want every guest to feel cared for, valued and respected and we do appreciate reading when we have achieved this goal.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

No issues at this Hilton. My room was fine and was clean and quiet. The self-parking is across the road and there are not obvious signs identifying it as Hilton parking. The only surprise was the 17% tax on the room. The attached convention centre leaves much to be desired, though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pundit705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Steve T,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 511 in Houston
1,468 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 511 in Houston
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#36 of 511 in Houston
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Americas - Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Americas - Houston

Property: Hilton Americas - Houston
Address: 1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010-5012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Houston
#1 Green Hotel in Houston
#3 Spa Hotel in Houston
#5 Business Hotel in Houston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Americas - Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Americas-Houston, conveniently located in the heart of downtown Houston, Texas, is directly connected via two indoor sky-bridges to the George R. Brown Convention Center, and offers 1,200 luxurious guestrooms, including four Presidential Suites and 36 one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites. This AAA Four Diamond rated hotel was newly renovated in 2011. Featuring 1600 Bar + Grille for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the very popular Lobby Bar, the State of Texas' largest Starbucks serving the Reserve selections, Pappasito's Cantina, In-Room Dining, the full service Skyline Spa & Health Club and FedEx Office. With 91,500 square feet of technologically advanced, flexible meeting space, including the 40,000 square foot Lanier Grand Ballroom, divisible into 12 independent spaces, the 26,000 square foot Ballroom of the Americas, divisible into six independent spaces, plus 10,000 square feet of invitingly usable pre-function space, Hilton Americas-Houston is the perfect meeting place for any group and awarded one of the world's best business hotels for 2013 by Travel + Leisure magazine. Hilton Americas-Houston is the proud recipient of Hilton Hotels & Resorts Award of Excellence for service and quality for six consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Americas - Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Americas - Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston
Hilton Americas Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing