We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class in everyway.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Americas - Houston
Ranked #8 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Great location, great service, clean rooms. Love this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wahoocatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Dear Wahoocatcher,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Americas-Houston on TripAdvisor.

Your review had us cheering "Wahoo"!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,811 - 2,817 of 2,983 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

I was in Houston for a meeting (held at the Hilton), so this was clearly the best place to stay. It is directly across the street from the Convention Center. The hotel is attractive, clean, comfortable, and...well, a large hotel. I had no complaints whatsoever during my 4 night stay. I will say that if you are not going to an event at the Convention Center or at the hotel itself, this part of Houston is dead at night and on the weekends. The restaurant across the street in the park is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Dear drmgeorge,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor and recognizing our attractive, clean and comfortable hotel.

As you mentioned we have a very convenient location as we are the only hotel in Houston connected to the George R. Brown Convention Center. Additionally we are directly across both the Toyota Center (Home of the Houston Rockets and great concerts) and Discovery Green, a few short blocks from Minute Maid Park (Home of the Houston Astros) , the Houston Pavilions and the soon to open Dynamo Stadium (Home to the Houston Dynamos – Major League Soccer). Our courtesy shuttle is available from 6:00 am – 11:00 pm daily and can take our guests around the Downtown area when necessary. As you can see, there is a lot happening in this area of Downtown Houston.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This is in a good location for the downtown, convention centre and sports arenas. But otherwise it is pretty average in all respects, the rooms, the decor etc. there is a pool hidden on the top floor with views over Houston. I probably would not choose to stay here unless it was convenient for an event, which seems to be the key purpose for the hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

Dear David S,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

Your recognition of our convenient location to great venues in downtown Houston is consistent with many other reviews and feedback we regularly receive. Our location in combination with AAA Four Diamond service and amenities (like our rooftop pool with great views) makes the Hilton Americas-Houston one of the premier hotels to stay at when in Houston.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

As it was connected to the convention center and it rained everyday I was there, it was especially handy. Clean throughout with friendly staff in all areas. Food was good. The interior did seem rather dark but perhaps during the blazing hot summer, that would be appreciated. Only problem was an extremely long check in line. They did offer free drinks and snacks to those of use waiting over a half hour. The location is also ideal for attending Colt 45, I mean Astros games as well as Houston Rockets and is a short walk to many restaurants in this strange city. The Discovery Park right outside was rather disappointing but that is not the hotel's doing. Oh and the emergency alarm that sounded around 7 AM in the hotel, followed minutes later by a please ignore the test message was not really appreciated.

Room Tip: Had a good view of city from my upper level floor, looking towards park and baseballl stadium but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellefontebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

Dear bellafontebob,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your recognition of our clean facility and friendly team. Our apology for the early “wake up call” as we were testing our system to make sure our guests and team are always safe. It was not our intention for this to happen so early.

As you mentioned, we have a very convenient location as we are the only hotel in Houston connected to the George R. Brown Convention Center. Additionally we are directly across both the Toyota Center (Home of the Houston Rockets and great concerts) and Discovery Green, a few short blocks from Minute Maid Park (Home of the Houston Astros) , the Houston Pavilions and the soon to open Dynamo Stadium (Home to the Houston Dynamos – Major League Soccer). Our courtesy shuttle is available from 6:00 am – 11:00 pm daily and can take our guests around the Downtown area when necessary.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Great looks and location, after that just another hotel, which means it is way overpriced, but then again everything in Texas is large, including the rates in this hotel.
The executive lounge is nice, and sorprisingly large, but that is where all stops. It is poorly attended, if you miss the first serving of anything there , you are out of luck for the rest of the evening because they do not bring additional servings, and again everything again is large in Texas, as the servings people take. More to it, don't you get tired of trying to relax and have a cup of coffee, or just breakfast and you have a smelly person next to you in shorts and sweaty garment after working out?
It shoul be an etiquette or dressing rule to enter a public area.
Bottom line, overprice, paid $10 less two days ago in the Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, even valet parking was cheaper there. Anyway, next time I will try the Embassy Suites in the corner, even if the rate is the same I get a suite

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Dear Alex O,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We recently added hot hors d’oeuvres to our Executive Level Lounge to enhance the experience for our guests. This new feature has proved to be very popular largely due to our award-winning culinary team providing such great items as mini beef tenderloins, coconut breaded shrimp, marinated chicken brochettes, cranberry and goat cheese tarts just to name a few. We have taken your feedback to our team and have made the appropriate adjustments. Our Concierge on duty in the Executive Level Lounge can always assist with any needs or concerns our guests may have. As with all of our team members, it is their pleasure to serve and assist our guests.

Hotel rates are based upon demand. Each hotel varies by location and demand so comparisons are not always equal. We suggest to always look at any specials hotels are running in order to get the best value.

We appreciate your compliments on our looks and great location.

Thank you again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Again, tagged along w/hub for one of his conferences. I had 4 days to tour Houston & the Hilton Americas was our base. My observations: super clean, spacious rooms, quick maid service, great views, close to convention ctr, courtesy shuttle w/in 3 miles of hotel. The best? AWESOME workout room on the 24 floor overlooking the city...it's state of the art, roomy, and FREE! Rained the entire time we were there, but that's not the Hiton's fault :) Free wi-fi in lobby- have to pay for it in room.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view, or if a big workout person...ask for a room in that tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear Angie F,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

It was great to read you were able to enjoy the hotel and Houston while your husband attended a conference. As you mentioned, our Skyline Spa & Health Club is well equipped with the most current fitness center equipment, has great views of the City of Houston and is accessible 24 hours a day. We appreciate you recognizing our great Housekeeping team.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The lobby is very pretty and is the best thing about the hotel. The food is average to good. Service is ridiculously slow even in the restaurant. Forget about room service. The food from the steak house is good. The shrimp cocktail was so big- the shrimp were- it was actually kind of gross to eat that much raw shrimp. Its a really nice place to stay if you dont travel a lot but if you do its nothing to write home about. And definitely go out to eat. The Grove is amazing and right accross the street. A four star Hilton is still a hilton no matter how its pakaged. They are all average at best unless its a destination resort.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear sdr82,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

Our apology for the service in the restaurant. Thank you for connecting with us via the TripAdvisor messaging service and confirming with us that your shrimp cocktail was cooked and not served undercooked.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back if the opportunity presents itself in the future.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#9 of 518 in Houston
538 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#32 of 518 in Houston
2,067 reviews
Downtown
Marriott Marquis Houston
Marriott Marquis Houston
#36 of 518 in Houston
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Americas - Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Americas - Houston

Address: 1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010-5012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Houston
#1 Green Hotel in Houston
#3 Spa Hotel in Houston
#5 Business Hotel in Houston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $164 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Americas - Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Americas-Houston, conveniently located in the heart of downtown Houston, Texas, is directly connected via two indoor sky-bridges to the George R. Brown Convention Center, and offers 1,200 luxurious guestrooms, including four Presidential Suites and 36 one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites. This AAA Four Diamond rated hotel features 1600 Bar + Grille for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the very popular Lobby Bar, the State of Texas' largest Starbucks serving the Reserve selections, Pappasito's Cantina, In-Room Dining, the full service Skyline Spa & Health Club and FedEx Office. With 91,500 square feet of flexible meeting space, including the 40,000 square foot Lanier Grand Ballroom, the Hilton Americas-Houston is the perfect meeting place for any group and awarded one of the world's best business hotels for 2013 by Travel + Leisure magazine. Hilton Americas-Houston is the proud recipient of Hilton Hotels & Resorts Award of Excellence for service and quality for six consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Americas - Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Americas - Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston
Hilton Americas Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing