We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel service needs help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Americas - Houston
Ranked #6 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotel itself is nice. It sits next door to Discovery Green Park, the GRB and quick access to the Houston shops and house of blues. Great location. However, the service has a lot to be desired. The Westin quality it is NOT. We went for Valentines weekend and the check in was not what I expected. Received wrong coupons for the breakfast and was first told we didn't have that option. They also refused to upgrade even though I had confirmation and checked in early. Something about the rate I paid and they reserved upgrade for the ones that paid more. For our first time there, I loved the hotel but service not so much.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Txloyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

Dear Txloya,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry for your disappointment. During the time of your check in, we did explain that due to lack of availability, your upgrade request was not available. During the reservation process, a request for an upgrade is never guaranteed but we do work very hard to accommodate as many requests as possible. In an effort to satisfy your request in some way, we did provide you with breakfast vouchers which we changed to dinner by your request. Both our Guest Service Agent and Front Desk Manager did do their best to accommodate you but again our apology if it did not meet your satisfaction.

Ms. Loya, we have reached out to you in hopes we may have another opportunity in serving you.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,837)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Americas - Houston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,680 - 2,686 of 2,836 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

Hilton is proud of this property. Value for the dollar is a bit out of whack. The rooms and public areas were clean. The restaurants and price of cocktails were quite high. Internet access in room at $14.95 plus tax should be an amenity included for the price of your stay. Access to meeting rooms for our function was convenient. Value for dollars spent, fair. In room toilet tissue, "John Wayne" brand.......Roguh & Tough. Needs to be softer. Staff at check in and checkout was less than cheerful. Checkout was the worst. An error was found with the bill and I was made to feel as though it was my fault. If it were a personal visit with a choice, I would have searched for an alternative.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdwone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear jdwone,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you also taking the time to elaborate more on your stay through the TripAdvisor messaging service. This has allowed us to “drill down” further. We are sorry for your Front Desk experience and have addressed this with our team.

Mr. Wilbur, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton while in Houston for a work trip. My conference was at the adjoining convention center - location couldn't be beat.

The hotel was exactly what you'd expect for business travel. Complimentary USAToday outside the door, a number of bars and restaurants - adequate but unremarkable - and a well equipped fitness center. The wifi was a whopping $14.95/day which seemed absurd...but I suppose most people have an expense account to absorb that.

Anyway - hotel met our conference accommodation needs but what stood out was the customer service. My girlfriend & I were headed out to dinner one night at a restaurant in Montrose (Mockingbird Bistro - highly, highly recommend) and the valet at the hotel hailed us a cab. Cabbie misread 2 women heading to dinner as Easy Targets and proceeded to drive us around Houston, not heading toward Montrose, fumbling with GPS, etc, etc - wouldn't take us back to the hotel when we asked, and it was kind of a bad situation. Not important here about the rest of the details, but suffice to say I called the hotel from the cab, Landon at the front desk took the call, kept me on the phone til we managed to get back, met us out front of the hotel, and seemed determined to compensate us in some way for our troubles.

At the end of the day, he thoroughly interrogated the next cab we got into, ensuring they A) knew where Montrose was and B) felt cabbie could get us there, called ahead to the restaurant, spoke to the general manager & arranged some pretty fabulous service for us, and then deposited a bottle of wine in our room with some chocolates and a lovely note apologizing for all that had come earlier in the evening and encouraging it not to marr our stay in Houston.

Exceptional for any boutique hotel with exemplary service - outstanding for a large chain hotel serving thousands of conference goers and business travellers each day. We'll remember the hotel and our stay because of Landon and his commitment to taking care of us; customer service, largely a rarity these days, was on full display. We're very appreciative to him for taking such good care of us.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nycreba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

Dear nycreba,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry for your taxi experience, but all we can saw is we are very proud of Landon in showing he cared for, valued and respected you as our guest. The level of detail you provided on how he provided exceptional customer service is appreciated and we have shared your review with our entire team. Landon is a great example of one of the many great team members we have working at the Hilton Americas-Houston that provide great hospitality and enjoy serving our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

You can't beat the convenience of walking across sky bridge to convention center, especially helpful in rain. The restaurant/bar on 24th floor isn't open, so no option for a view of Minute Maid Park or skyline. Bar is place to meet fellow attendees and Cafe food is fine and reasonably priced. Rooms meet the standard for a Hilton.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Minute Maid Park
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DartSkiDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Dear DartSkiDoc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This was the second time I have stayed at this hotel for a business convention. There are several reasons to stay. They include the location convenient to the convention center, quick courteous check-in and friendly staff.
But the downside is an appearance of penny pinching by a $200+ per night hotel. They have a policy of a significant per day charge for the use of wi-fi in your room. I spoke to the manager about this and he said it was a corporately owned Hilton and their policy was to charge the $16(plus tax) per day. When you pay over $200 per night, you expect some amenities.
Another mark against the hotel was the television service. The menu was not working and I had to have maintenance come into my room on 2 occasions and try to fix it. The last thing I want to do is to search one channel at a time for a particular event or show that I want to watch.
The staff was nice and even gave me a free coffee voucher when they couldn't fix the television. And to be honest the hotel management offered to change my room but I just did not want to pack up and move. I guess I have had enough experience with this Hilton to know what to expect but it still leaves me with a bad taste.

Room Tip: Rooms are available near the convention connector. If you are there for business at the convention...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingphrogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear Travelingphrogg,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you recognizing our location, quick check in and our friendly team whom we are especially proud of. We also appreciate your loyalty and staying with us a second time.

We are very sorry on how you feel about our internet charges. While we are comparable to the other full service branded hotels in terms of the fees, we do offer complimentary internet access to all Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond level guests, all guests staying in our Executive Level rooms, our Executive Level Lounge, all guests who are AT&T subscribers as well as complimentary wi-fi in the hotel lobby. Thank you for bringing up the challenge you had with your television to our attention and we are working closely with LG and Lodgenet, our television and cable services providers, to make sure this does not happen again.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This Hilton is your regular business convention Hilton hotel. Reasonable rooms, clean and efficient service. It is a big hotel that connects to the connection center. Located in downtown area within walking distance of a coupe of reasonable night life spots and resturants. However it is located far from major shopping malls. Executive floor does not have free alcoholic drinks or food other than cheese and fruit. Resturants in hotel are only average and I would not eat at them again. Overall however I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soothed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear Soothed,

Dear

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

While we may not be in walking distance to the Galleria Mall, we are conveniently located across Discovery Green and the Toyota Center, a short walk to the Houston Pavilions, Minute Maid Park, Houston Center (our mall downtown) and the MetroRail that can take you quickly to the Museum District. In addition, our courtesy vehicles can take our guests to the Theater District and are available from 6:00 am – 11:00 pm, seven days a week.

For additional things to do, our Skyline Spa and Health Club is located on our 23rd floor which offers massage, salon and other services as well as a 24 hour fitness center and roof top pool and terrace.

On January 1st, we began offering complimentary hot hors d’oeuvres in our Executive Level Lounge to complement the other items we serve to our guests in the evening. We are confident you will find this a great new enhancement.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is my third trip to this hotel and it is always a good experience. Check in was fast and courteous. The room was very nice with a great view of downtown. I did see a few housekeeping issues the first day but they were taken care of right away. Hotel is very convenient to all downtown attractions including the convention center and ballpark.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chalyn251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear Chalyn251,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

Our apology for the early housekeeping issues you had early in your stay but glad to hear they were remedied quickly.

As you mentioned, we have a very convenient location as are the only hotel in Houston connected to the George R. Brown Convention Center, situated directly across both the Toyota Center (Home of the Houston Rockets and great concerts) and Discovery Green, and a few short blocks from Minute Maid Park (Home of the Houston Astros) , the Houston Pavilions and the soon to open Dynamo Stadium (Home to the Houston Dynamos – Major League Soccer). In addition, our courtesy shuttle is available from 6:00 am – 11:00 pm daily and can take our guests around the Downtown area when necessary.

Thank you again for your review and we appreciate your loyalty.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#34 of 517 in Houston
1,937 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 517 in Houston
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
471 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Americas - Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Americas - Houston

Address: 1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010-5012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Houston
#1 Green Hotel in Houston
#3 Spa Hotel in Houston
#5 Business Hotel in Houston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $142 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Americas - Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Americas-Houston, conveniently located in the heart of downtown Houston, Texas, is directly connected via two indoor sky-bridges to the George R. Brown Convention Center, and offers 1,200 luxurious guestrooms, including four Presidential Suites and 36 one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites. This AAA Four Diamond rated hotel was newly renovated in 2011. Featuring 1600 Bar + Grille for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the very popular Lobby Bar, the State of Texas' largest Starbucks serving the Reserve selections, Pappasito's Cantina, In-Room Dining, the full service Skyline Spa & Health Club and FedEx Office. With 91,500 square feet of technologically advanced, flexible meeting space, including the 40,000 square foot Lanier Grand Ballroom, divisible into 12 independent spaces, the 26,000 square foot Ballroom of the Americas, divisible into six independent spaces, plus 10,000 square feet of invitingly usable pre-function space, Hilton Americas-Houston is the perfect meeting place for any group and awarded one of the world's best business hotels for 2013 by Travel + Leisure magazine. Hilton Americas-Houston is the proud recipient of Hilton Hotels & Resorts Award of Excellence for service and quality for six consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Americas - Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Americas - Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston
Hilton Americas Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing