We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Americas - Houston
Nearby Hotels
$210
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$239
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks(Houston)(Great Value!)
$88
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$181
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$242
$133
TributePortfolio
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$259
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$139
$105
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,088)
Filter reviews
3,088 results
Traveler rating
1,985
889
176
32
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,985
889
176
32
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centertoyota centerthe executive loungediscovery greenminute maid parksky bridgegreat hotellarge hotelattending a conferencehouse of blueslobby barwithin walking distanceself parkingdowntown areaastros gameindoor poolbusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
2,941 - 2,946 of 3,088 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My son was graduating from the U of H and our family reserved several rooms for three days. The Hilton Americas - Houston was a FANTASTIC experience. Booked our room via Hilton Reservations and caught a weekend special with Executive Upgrades. The lobby was breath-taking, luxurious, and comfortable (Yes, we sat in the lobby just to unwind with family). The actual room was nice and comfortable but the 22nd floor view of downtown Houston was spectacular. We utilized the Executive comps and enjoyed various cheeses, beverages, and spacious accommodations for our large group of ten to sit and relax. The overall hotel and room accommodations were superb and left me needing nothing. The hotel staff were very friendly. Check-in and check-out...flawless and quick. The only downside...parking was across the street but access to and from...very easy. If you are looking for a place to simply rest your head...there are plenty of other options but if you are seeking an experience in hotel excellence...stay here!

Room Tip: Although the view from the seventh floor was great the higher the better! If you have an opportunity to upgrade...do the Executive Upgrade and experience the 19th Floor breakfast and evening accommodations.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Dear JamesO,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback and great to hear our AAA Four Diamond rated service and product exceeded your expectations.

Thnak you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I stayed in this hotel during a convention. It seems that everyone staying there had the same idea. Microwave and refrigerator. We called ahead to reserve and were told that we would be getting them. Roommate #1 checked in and asked about them and was told we have them within the hour. We didn't. We called housekeeping and they didn't know anything about our order and would put us on the list for when they become available. (Person who checked into another room the same time we checked in got theirs.) We checked with the front desk because they told us we'd have them within the hour. They told us #1: The don't take reservations for them over the phone & #2: They don't have a list. The whole situation was ridiculous. Staff needs additional training and needs to know what their own policy is. Kicker was we didn't get the microwave and refrigerator but when we got home and looked at the bill we were charged for them. Free shuttle to downtown was very handy. Hotel is in a great location for conventions because of it's closeness to the convention center and the Toyota Center. Only drawback was It was hard to find restaurants that were open late within walking distance. While the hotel had some restaurants, including a steakhouse. Steakhouse pricing was over the top. Room was excellent. Carpeting was plush. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. I believe the biggest issue with the hotel is the training.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbershop2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

Our apologies for the miscommunication of your refrigerator and microwave request and have looked into and addressed with our team. We have recently increased our inventory of these items significantly and we are confident this will not happen again. We do hope to connect with your via the TripAdvisor personal messaging service in order for us to get more specific dates the challenges you experienced occurred.

We appreciate your nice comments on our front desk team, guest room and location.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed at this hotel last night. The lobby and common areas were absolutely beautiful.

The front desk person I worked with was terribly condescending and rude, to the point that I would have grabbed my bags and left if the parking garage weren't such a long walk. I bit my tongue and restrained my fist and continued with the check in process.

I got to my room, and the room was in worse condition than you would expect from a far lesser quality property. The drinking glasses appeared dirty, the toilet seat was dirty and the area immediately above the toilet paper was soiled with fecal matter.

The bed was comfortable, however, I am not sure if the air conditioner was malfunctioning or was just not capable of completely cooling the room.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone else and will definately try other hotels in the area now that I will be traveling to Houston regularly for work now. With 2 nights a week on the schedule for the next 3 months, I need to find a comfortable, clean and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peakload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear peakload,

We are sorry for your experience on this visit. Were pleased that on your next visit, you had a much better experience consistent with our goal of every guest feeling cared for, valued and respected.

As your next review reads “Second time around at this hotel and they won my respect with this visit.”

Thank you for giving us another opportunity and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed here with a former boyfriend and it was really nice! We booked through priceline and paid $65 a night plus tax which is a steal. The lobby and general feel of the hotel is very classy and modern. We were put on the Hilton Honors member floor which I thought was great since the floow was pretty high up and I always try to get the highest floor possible for noise reasons. The room was a little lacking as far as decor and ammenities, but hey we got a great deal! The bathroom was lovely and the shower had good pressure and the shower head was also very nice. The best part about this hotel is the rooftop pool and terrace. Every night we went out to the terrace and looked out at downtown houston. Even though I was born and raised in Houston, it was still amazing to see such a view every night! The pool and hot tub were great as well, since there are not many families with children staying at the hotel. The biggest drawback to the hotel was the cost of parking and the fact that its a public garage. We stayed when Bon Jovi had a concert and the garage was FULL! I actually had to park on the roof of the garage, which wasn't that bad since I could see the car from the room. The hotel is within walking distance to some entertainment and places to eat. However, the property is in a sketchy side of downtown as well, so if you go walking at night be careful and go with someone. Overall great stay for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txhayden09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

Since your last visit, all of our guest rooms have been completely renovated. We are confident upon your return, you will find great noticeable differences in our guest rooms.

Our roof top terrace and pool are are very popular and we work diligently to maintain the area for our guests. We recently replaced all the furniture at the pool and expanded seating on our terrace so more people can enjoy the great views of the City of Houston.

Due to our close proximity to the Toyota Center, both our hotel and garage are popular for those attending events there. We apologize if you had any inconvenience parking, but please know that we always secure parking for our hotel guests.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Our company had our Christmas party for the second year in a row at the Hilton Americas because of their service, hospitality and overall environment. We had about 500 employees attend the party and the food this year and last year was very good for that many people. This is a large hotel and very nice to stay at. We did not encounter one problem while staying there. It is located right by the convention center and Minute Maid Park. This hotel is worth staying with and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacy_kolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We feel privileged to have hosted you and your colleagues for your holiday party for two years in a row.

As you mentioned, we are conveniently located near Minute Maid Park (Home of the Houston Astros) and the only hotel connected to the George R. Brown Convention Center. In addition, we are across the street from the Toyota Center (Home of the Houston Rockets and great concerts) and Discovery Green. We are also a few short blocks away from the Houston Pavilions as well as the new Houston Dynamo Stadium currently under construction.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews