We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel In a Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Americas - Houston
Ranked #8 of 516 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
1,462 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel In a Good Location”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Great location for visiting downtown Houston, baseball games, good restaurants, conventions and the theaters. We drive into Houston for a date night about once a month and try to stay at this hotel. The hotel has pet friendly policy so our small dog enjoys our date night in Houston. The restaurant serves a good breakfast, a buffet, menu or continental. The steak house restaurant is also very good. The staff was friendly to us and our pet. The room was a standard king nonsmoking and very clean. Valet parking though expensive is very convenient. The free shuttle service to restaurants, stores or events provides friendly drop off and pick up so you can leave your car parked at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one on an upper floor for a good view of the city on the Discovery Green side. Would recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldjr, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your loyalty and allowing us to be part of your special getaway.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,803
    818
    158
    32
    4
See reviews for
426
444
137
1,477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Upon walking into this grand Hilton, you are greeted by the staff and notice the marble everywhere... A very open and spacious lobby with check-in a little walk to the left and to the right is a coffee bar, hotel bar and hotel resturant. There is an attached resturant, but I'll review that separately.

Check-in was painless, especially if you are a Hilton Honors member and then a short walk to your room.

The room I was is was very spacious and had a wondeful view facing south -- I think any direction would be a wonderful view. The room was very quiet, clean and the bed was comfortable.

I did not encounter any issues or problems and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Houston for a convention (especially if at this hotel) or for work.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask at check-in which hotel bank of elevators you should take to your room or you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SysCntrSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldjr, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hilton Americas-Houston on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your endorsement and identifying us as the “best place to stay for working in downtown Houston”.

Our AAA Four Diamond rated hotel is designed to please all guests, both on business and pleasure. We recently re-enforced our commitment to quality by renovating all our guest rooms and providing our guests all the modern luxuries they expect at a Hilton. Complimented by our friendly staff and great location, the Hilton Americas-Houston is the place to stay when you are in Houston.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Was here last week and I've got to say, the front desk staff that I worked with were above and beyond helpful! Ora and Miguel went out of there way to help my friend and I split the bill.

I stayed there for 2 nights, the rooms were clean,bed comfortable and the staff was amazing. The location is right downtown, connected to the Brown conference center and next to a beautiful family friendly park.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khiccup11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldjr, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We are proud of both Ora and Miguel and the AAA Four Diamond service they consistently perform as well as the rest of our team at the Hilton Americas-Houston. Thank you for recognizing them.

As you mentioned, we are the only hotel in Houston connected to the George R. Brown Convention Center and located across the street from Discovery Green (the immensely popular beautiful family friendly park you mentioned).

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, MA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed for three nights in a king room on the 18th floor and had privileges for the executive lounge. Overall the room was very nice and clean, the service people were very good, the bed was comfortable and the hotel was in a perfect location for attending a convention.

Pros -
- Attached to convention center by skywalk
- Room was very clean.
- Shower head was good height for tall people, water pressure was OK, temp control was good.
- Staff was responsive and seemed to care (I saw an employee go out of his way to pick up a tiny piece of paper on the floor)
- Executive lounge was included with my rate and had a nice view, good wifi, two mac computers for use, continental breakfast and reception at night (Tip: Breakfast was good enough for starting my day, but don't expect the evening reception to be your dinner.)
- Easy in/out privileges with card key at self park garage for $18 per night (Tip: We went to the self park garage first, took a ticket and then went to check in, the desk then turned on my room key card to get in and out of garage)
- Pool was an excellent place to take a couple laps and have a great view of the city.

Cons:
- Wifi in room was VERY spotty Executive level provides free wifi, so not a big deal for me. I walked to the sitting area just outside our room and had slightly better access. Executive lounge or hotel lobby have the best. (Tip: Consider what you need it for, before you pay)
- Minor Con is we had a hard time figuring out the temperature control for the room. Seemed obvious, but didn't do what I wanted.

Did not have a chance to eat at any of the restaurants or use the spa or gym.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank germ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldjr, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate the level of detail you provided. You recognized many areas in which we met or exceeded your expectations as well as a few areas we will work on to improve (glad there was only two!).

We are the closest and only hotel in Houston connected to the George R. Brown Convention Center which gives anyone attending a convention an excellent convenience – being able to sleep a few minutes more, take a little more time to get ready or have time to dine before attending a show.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed for the Sweet Adelines Intl convention and had to pay the business class rate of $187 per night. Way too expensive for non business folks. Past that though the hotel is top rated. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Ask for a handicapped accessible room, usually available after 6pm, which are larger. Strong shower set up and water pressure. Extra comfy beds with pillow top mattresses. Big flat screen TV. Incredible pool and hot tub with an outdoor deck overlooking the city on the top floor. Cafe is very good. Recommend the buffet. The coffee shop, along with everything else, is not cheap. Hotel is right across the street from the Toyota Centre, and is connected to the convention centre. About a mile walk to Minute Maid ball park, 4 blocks to the Houston Pavillions, 5 blocks to the Houston Malls (where there are fair priced Starbucks, and a food fair. Highly recommend Potbelly's for great sandwiches).

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite, away from the elevators and ice machines!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvrtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldjr, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased you enjoyed our AAA Four Diamond rated hotel and our fully renovated guest rooms.

As you mentioned, we are conveniently connected to the George R. Brown Convention Center, across the street from the Toyota Center (Home of the Houston Rockets and great concerts) and a short few blocks away from Minute Maid Park (Home of the Houston Astros) and the Houston Pavilions. In addition, Discovery Green is right in front of our door step. We will also be one of the closest hotels to the new Houston Dynamo Stadium (Major League Soccer) which opens next year. We are also in close proximity to the METRORail where you may go to the Museum District and to any activities at Reliant Park.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice and both times my experience was good. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is very accommodating. It is close to the George R. Brown center and park. Also very close to Minute Maid park. It is in Downtown Houston so the location is perfect for main events and conventions.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldjr, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

Not only are our AAA Four Diamond rated guest rooms spacious and clean, they are also fully renovated with all the comforts you should expect from our hotel.

As you mentioned, we are conveniently located next to (connected actually) the George R. Brown Convention Center and a very short few blocks away from Minute Maid Park (Home of the Houston Astros). In addition, Discovery Green is right in front of our door step and to our south west side we have the Toyota Center (Home of the Houston Rockets and great concerts). To top of our great location, we are a short walk to Houston Pavilions and one of the closest hotels to the new Houston Dynamo Stadium (Major League Soccer) which opens next year.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 516 in Houston
1,491 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 516 in Houston
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#36 of 516 in Houston
1,910 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Marriott Marquis Houston
Marriott Marquis Houston
#52 of 516 in Houston
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Americas - Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Americas - Houston

Property: Hilton Americas - Houston
Address: 1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010-5012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Houston
#1 Family Hotel in Houston
#3 Spa Hotel in Houston
#5 Business Hotel in Houston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Americas - Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Americas-Houston, conveniently located in the heart of downtown Houston, Texas, is directly connected via two indoor sky-bridges to the George R. Brown Convention Center, and offers 1,200 luxurious guestrooms, including four Presidential Suites and 36 one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites. This AAA Four Diamond rated hotel was newly renovated in 2011. Featuring 1600 Bar + Grille for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the very popular Lobby Bar, the State of Texas' largest Starbucks serving the Reserve selections, Pappasito's Cantina, In-Room Dining, the full service Skyline Spa & Health Club and FedEx Office. With 91,500 square feet of technologically advanced, flexible meeting space, including the 40,000 square foot Lanier Grand Ballroom, divisible into 12 independent spaces, the 26,000 square foot Ballroom of the Americas, divisible into six independent spaces, plus 10,000 square feet of invitingly usable pre-function space, Hilton Americas-Houston is the perfect meeting place for any group and awarded one of the world's best business hotels for 2013 by Travel + Leisure magazine. Hilton Americas-Houston is the proud recipient of Hilton Hotels & Resorts Award of Excellence for service and quality for six consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Americas - Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Americas - Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston
Hilton Americas Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing