We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Butterfly Haven”

Cockrell Butterfly Center
Ranked #10 of 304 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Next to the Houston Museum of Natural Science, the glass-enclosed butterfly habitat includes a simulated rainforest and thousands of colorful butterflies. A dramatic 50-foot waterfall and exotic plants transport visitors.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Butterfly Haven”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is the place to go to see butterflies. The museum has built a natural habitat for hundreds of different species of butterflies. Walk through the habitat and see the beauty of butterflies all around and even landing on you, if you're lucky. Great place for kids. Bring your camera.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mlusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    120
    26
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Magical, Wonderful like being in a movie”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Imagine being surrounded by hundreds of fluttering gems in a tropical rain forest. If this doesn't brighten up your day nothing will. Reminded me of being in some mythical place like Jurassic Park (prior to all the bad stuff happening) or Oz. Perfect for little kids--even inspires cynical teenagers (like mine). A bit pricey but worth it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful exhibit”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The butterflies are wonderful to look at and it's wonderful for children. My family and I have been there both when there was an abundance of butterflies, and they landed on us constantly, to when we had to try hard to look for them within the greenery. And if you're lucky, you can see the house iguana, who will pose for pictures with you. :)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MONICA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice butterfly display”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited here with a friend in Feb 2013. Loved checking out all the butterflies inside the dome - and got some great photos! There were also a lot of indoor interactive exhibits that seemed to be geared for kids. We only browsed there (no kids with us), but I assume it would be great for younger visitors! But the $8 admission was worth it just to check out the butterflies. Inside you can also see all of the cocoons and match them with what butterfly will emerge. Neat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have visited other butterfly displays, this one is beautiful and a must see! The waterfall is gorgeous and there is a large variety of butterflies. I could've spent the entire afternoon here! If you enjoy taking pictures, don't forget your camera. There is an extra fee, but I think it's worth it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank boilerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cockrell Butterfly Center also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cockrell Butterfly Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing