We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good exhibit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cockrell Butterfly Center

Cockrell Butterfly Center
Ranked #7 of 256 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Next to the Houston Museum of Natural Science, the glass-enclosed butterfly habitat includes a simulated rainforest and thousands of colorful butterflies. A dramatic 50-foot waterfall and exotic plants transport visitors.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
262 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Very good exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The butterfly habitat is enclosed with glass walls, has a waterfall and is filled with tropical foliage, and multiple varieties of butterflies. The path thru the habitat has steps, and some of them were wet. There are a few small benches along the path.The habitat is warm and humid (even in February when we went). We spent almost an hour and a half in there. We could have walked thru in less time, but we were trying to get a few pictures. There is an elevator for handicapped use only, but wheelchair access must be limited to the upper and lower areas that are level, since they couldn't make it thru the stairway portions of the pathway. Quite a few of the butterflies had damaged wings and were showing signs of a good bit of wear and tear, on the day we went. We went on a weekday and it was not crowded. There was only one group of school kids there. We took a tip from another Trip Advisor reviewer to go on a sunny day to see the butterflies flitting about, that was a good tip.
Also included with admission to the center is an indoor museum area of butterfly related interests.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigTXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    98
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
220 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Really neat little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The butterfly exhibit was really neat. I've never seen so many beautiful butterflies in one place, and I doubt I ever will again. However, the exhibit is rather small, and only takes about 30 to 45 minutes to walk through, even if you look at all the bugs behind glass prior to the actual rain forest area. The bugs behind glass were really neat. Don't skip past that. Our young kids (3 to 6) seemed less impressed with the exhibit than we were. Overall, it was worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GH_ShrtOrDrCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fun for old and young!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is an awesome indoor jungle attached to the Houston Museum of natural Science. It costs extra to get in but it is worth it, espcecially if you have young children. The butterflies will land right on you and there is a wonderful waterfall. The down side is that in our Houston heat, it gets muggy and the food the butterflies eat is rotten veggitables and fruit. It stinks. Beautiful but smelly. Make sure to check out the informative multistory center inside the museum for the full experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
169 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“We just LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We continue to come here during our quarterly medical trips to Houston. This place is so delightful and relaxing. We love all the different butterflies and lovely plants. Don't bypass this if you are visiting the museum!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank FoodieLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderdful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I spent my superbowl morning with two of my daughters at the Houston Museum of Natural Science. The Cockrell Butterfly Center was very nice beginning with the very well informed greeters to the very infromative interactive zones. But the star of the show is the tropical butterfly walk through.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank edcarmona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cockrell Butterfly Center also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cockrell Butterfly Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing