We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We just LOVE this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cockrell Butterfly Center

Cockrell Butterfly Center
Ranked #5 of 261 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Next to the Houston Museum of Natural Science, the glass-enclosed butterfly habitat includes a simulated rainforest and thousands of colorful butterflies. A dramatic 50-foot waterfall and exotic plants transport visitors.
Level Contributor
167 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“We just LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We continue to come here during our quarterly medical trips to Houston. This place is so delightful and relaxing. We love all the different butterflies and lovely plants. Don't bypass this if you are visiting the museum!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank FoodieLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    104
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderdful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I spent my superbowl morning with two of my daughters at the Houston Museum of Natural Science. The Cockrell Butterfly Center was very nice beginning with the very well informed greeters to the very infromative interactive zones. But the star of the show is the tropical butterfly walk through.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank edcarmona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Never fails to delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is one of my grandchildrens favorite places. When they were in strollers and now in middle school, I am always delighted to see the expressions on their faces as they discover something they never saw before!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank johrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
299 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Already reviewed.. But a must see for plant enthusiasts and scads of lovely butterflies. Gorgeous setting.. Fun for all ages

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gay e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Loved it! Really had fun. I could not believe all the beautiful butterflies. The plants were nice too. Loved the iguana. Brought two little kids and they had fun.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndreaPPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cockrell Butterfly Center also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cockrell Butterfly Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing