We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake
Ranked #397 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Mcallen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

was good■Describe the service you experienced
■Tell us how you liked the room
■Talk about the location & amenities
■Say what you liked best & least

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Hector V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    15
    19
    40
See reviews for
42
13
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had booked a room here because it was close and convenient to where we needed to be. The Hotel staff was friendly but never even checked an ID before giving us a room key. The First room smelled badly of mold and was absolutely filthy. There were holes in the walls and doors exploded food coated the microwave and stove and there were visible bugs crawling on the bed. We asked for a room on the other side of the hotel and on a different floor. The clerk was nice and accommodating. We went to the second room that reeked of urine and was as dirty as the first with more holes in the walls and doors,and dried urine all over the bathroom. We left, we went a stayed at a wonderful hotel not even 5 minutes away on the Sam Houston tollway.

Room Tip: Choose a different Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieSS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

When we arrived to check in they had double booked rooms, the one room they had left was trashed and they made us wait for them to clean it. The pool is tiny compared to the picture online and the girls at the front desk are rude. After all that hassle we get back to the room our second night and neither of our door keys worked. The next night I went to the office and asked if I could have a plastic knife to make sandwiches in the room and she wouldn't give me one per company policy after all the crap we'd been thru with them. However there was a house keeper named Rachel who kept apologizing for the service and was very friendly and helpful. She should be promoted or something.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Brandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The room was perfect for just a place to sleep overnight. I was happy to see that it had a large fridge, two burner stove and a sink. If you needed to stay longer, I would say that the room is very small. The hotel was located right in between the two places that we needed to visit. We opted out of the breakfast as it only had cold items, although there was a inexpensive nice little resturaunt across the packing lot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The room smelled terrible smoky. The electric outlets did not work. The bed on the sheets had cereal on them. There are shady looking people who live here walking around at all hours. This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The shower did not work we had to shower in another room

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Place has regular live-in customer, which actually live there daily. They are unstaff and the live in customers get service first. Try staying 4 days could only stay 2 nites. Did not turn beds or bring clean towels. Went to desk was assure she would bring some waited all afternoon.She didnt. Went next day to desk and she said she forgot and she was real busy because of the holiday and they were shore handed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Rosendo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houston
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Houston/Clear Lake-NASA Area
2.8 mi away
Clearlake Extended Stay Hotel
6.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Houston Lobby
Econo Lodge Houston Lobby
#279 of 511 in Houston
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Budgetel Inn Houston
Budgetel Inn Houston
#335 of 511 in Houston
15 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Webster Hotel, NASA
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston/Clear Lake-NASA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake

Property: Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake
Address: 15313 Gulf Fwy, Houston, TX 77034-5336 (Formerly Howard Johnson Clearlake)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio 6 Houston Clear Lake is off I-45 near Hobby Airport, Johnson Space Center, Baybrook Mall and dining. Within 15 miles is Reliant Stadium, downtown Houston, and San Jacinto Monument and State Park. All rooms offer Free Wi-Fi and kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Studio 6 Houston - Clear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Clearlake Hotel Houston
Howard Johnson Houston
Houston Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing