We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to spend the day!”

Children's Museum of Houston
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Houston CityPASS
Ranked #5 of 298 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hands-on interactive exhibits in the areas of science and technology, history and culture, health and human development, and the arts.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Alberta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to spend the day!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our family had one day in Houston and we chose the Children's Museum! We were not disappointed! Our children, aged 7 and 9, had a great time. We spent a lot of time in the Invention Convention, building and testing our designs. We loved the launch area for rockets and airplanes. We also loved kidtropolis! We thought we had seen it all and then we went outside! There is a wonderful water area and a nature center. All of the workers ( I imagine some are volunteers) were extremely friendly and helpful- always willing to explain the academics at work in the activity. We ate at the cafeteria and were satisfied with the meal. Our family spent over 4 hours here and were engaged totally throughout. I would definitely recommend visiting if you are in the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank duchesssunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    971
    271
    73
    21
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
albuquerque nm
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Your kids will be so happy here :)”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a beautiful place to bring the kids. The outside water feature is amazing and you will marvel at it as your kid gets totally absorbed with the things to do around it. Watch the huge bucket fill with water and then tip over splashing everyone below. So much fun! The indoor climbing maze must be super fun for the kids climbing around on it and all of us grownups wish someone had thought this up when we were kids. Your tiny ones will have fun at the puzzle stations and the large building block stations. Great little restaurant inside too. You will easily spend a day here. Go on the free day to save, but expect a larger crowd, too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank highdesert95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
400 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Excellent option for young ones”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went there with the little one and it was excellent. Non-stop playing, exploring and enjoying all features there.
Definitely recommended for families with young kids in the city or visiting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank engped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
453 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Best children's museum ever!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We continued our children's museum across America tour in Houston. This is by far the best children's museum that we have visited. Most of the museums are pretty bad (except for a few like the one in Phoenix), but this one puts all of them to shame. Both my two year old daughter and ten month old son loved it. There are tons of activities both inside and outside. The baby and toddler area is also very large. Perhaps the best part is the Kidtropolis area. This museum is very clean and well kept up. It is also nice that it is so cheap, especially compared to bad children's museums that are more dxpensive. This is a must see for anyone visiting or living in Houston with small children.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kandkwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best children's museum in U.S.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My kids love this place. If you have a baby or toddler, the Tot Spot is unbelievable. It's a safe area and has a balcony that's safe for play and a closed off sensory area, with a different theme every month. The 1st floor has so many things to do. My daughter loves the vet, police, restaurant and grocery store play area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank librarangrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Museum of Houston also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Children's Museum of Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing