We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big ambitions, average quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Olivier

L'Olivier
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Olivier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,486 of 8,142 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Mason
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big ambitions, average quality”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Main missing points:
- fresh bread and butter (had to ask twice)
- wide dessert menu
- knowledgeable waiters ( at least they should know what is on the menu)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena_Viv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“Bad service”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The waiter we had was terrible. Left us sitting there for what seemed like forever. He had better things do with his time apparently. I emailed the manager and never got a response. I suggest passing and going to another top notch French location in Houston.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrstick18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Three hits and a miss”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

First let me saw the service was excellent. Our waiter was knowledgeable, efficient and made great recommendations. The bar's cocktail special was yummy. I had a salad special, the hand made appitizer of pea ravioli, risotto and strawberry soup for desert. All was good except for the risotto. It was served al dente as it should be but had no flavor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marymorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
548 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Had a great dinner for two”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Food was delicious, my wife had the seafood special which was Halibut and VERY fresh. I had the short ribs which were also good.

Service was prompt and helpful.

Wine by the glass was reasonably priced with a good selection.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikel12323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Watch Out!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I took my adult daughter here to celebrate her birthday. We both had the foie gras . She had the branzino and I had the scallops. We both got sick.

Then I found out that they processed my Visa card as a debit card, not a credit card, without telling me. In fact, the receipt showed as a credit card.

I normally write quite positive reviews, but this experience was one of the worst that I have had at a restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plannermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Olivier also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to L'Olivier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing