We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #159 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is a very typical downtown Residence Inn by Marriott. Great location and expensive overnight parking (Valet Only). It's very convenient to get to downtown places of interest such as Toyota Center (walking), Hermann Park (urban tram) and Rice University (urban tram).
My friends and I went to Houston for Black Friday Shopping and had a good stay with spacious rooms, nice hot breakfast buffet, and above-average guest services.

However, the hotel and the Courtyard next door look a little bit old from outside and the valet parking garage is not well maintained (we walked by several times).

Overall, nice hotel in the heart of Houston.

Room Tip: park at public parking lots around to avoid the $28 parking. Take the urban tram to commute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QY_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed our teams service and our location while in town doing some Black Friday Shopping!

We truly value your business and look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    76
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
27
25
10
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Rockies
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed for convention in October. All rooms downtown pretty well booked, so got gouged at $379/night for a 2 bedroom suite that was a dump. The reservation said "City View" but when we arrived the only 2 bedroom suite had a view of other rooms with a dirty unused roof below. The carpet was stained and filthy, the décor doesn't look like it's been updated since the 70's. Cheerios on the bathroom floor. Small, scratchy towels and not enough of them. Cheap little shampoo/soaps. YES, $350+/night! Before checking in, I checked out the room and asked for another one, but there were no other rooms to switch to, even though we checked in 1 day before most conference attendees. The hotel clearly knew that with the convention, there were no other rooms available downtown, and the closest available rooms were over 5 miles away - so we stayed. Breakfast was okay, but sausage was nasty tasting. Now, that said, staff did the best they could - clearly, I guess their hands were tied and offered no refunds. And, all the staff were helpful and tried to make the stay a good experience. Marriott never fails to disappoint me, the few occasions I end up at one. If the room would have cost $70/night, I would have given a better review. Shame on Marriott - never again will I stay at one. I've stayed at many $70-110 Hampton Inn rooms and they've all been at least 2-4x nicer than this room that they had the audacity to gouge over $300/night.

Room Tip: Oct 2013 there was construction across the street in front of the hotel - I'm guessing if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DineRight4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoed our teams service! However I sincerley apologize for the other issues you expereinced. I can assure you this is not how we normally operate.

We truly value your business and look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few times now. Not coming back. I usually like the bigger Res Inn rooms but here, not very well maintained. And staff is simply indifferent to requests. Probably better off trying Courtyard right next door ( higher rated on this site but I have yet to stay there). Staff at this place displays great indifference to guests, and I usually enter hotels with low expectations. In any event there is a Hilton and embassy suites right down the street that seem much more customer friendly based on my experience.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KWLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was surprised to hear you found our team to be indifferent. I can assure you our team takes extreme pride in being the cleanest and freindliest. Nonetheless I will be sharing your comments with the team as an example that we can always improve.

I truly appreciate your feedback.

Thank you again for staying with us and I hope you will give us another chance to showcase our world class service.

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed 4 nights for a convention at George Brown.

Pros:
1. Location is good, as you can walk 10 minutes to the convention center as well as several restaurants. For jogging / walking it is just a few blocks from a park and an urban river trail.
2. My room 723 was above average for a Residence Inn, as the ceilings are high and there is some character to the decor. Bed very comfy.
3. Staff is friendly.
4. There is an outdoor rooftop pool that is long enough for lap swim.
5. Beer for sale in bottles from the fridge.

Cons:
1. Not much lobby ambiance. No bar. A little bit stark.
2. To get a taxi you need to walk next door to the Courtyard Marriott.
3. The rooftop pool is not heated and was unusable in November
4. Exercise room is limited: a few treadmills / ellipticals and a set of dumbbells. No machines.
4. There is a huge construction project going on right next door. As of November 2013 they are clearing away an old building and it's loud from 7am-5pm. I'd assume new construction will be going on for the next year or two. Room 723 faced it directly. It didn't bother me too much because I was at the convention center most days, but if you need to sleep later than 7 or work in the room then you may want to face another direction.

Overall I give it 3.4 stars and would be glad to stay there again, if looking for a hotel in this price range and location. Might be worth investigating the Courtyard Marriott next door if you like a lobby bar.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradleystat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I wanted to let you know that in December we will be doing so updating that I think you are going to love.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have stayed here before several times and everytime had left them with some feedback but of no avail. Recently there was a goof up and since them the GM has been listening and making changes. On top they have started catering to the needs of the vegetarians and yes it is more than salad - thank you! So all vege folks who struggel to find something decent for breakfast and snacks during social hour, this is the place to stay at. Hope they continue to improve the variety here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you are noticing the changes we are making! We truly value your business.

Thank you again for staying with us!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is pretty basic.
Positives:
The rooms provide more than the usual hotel room. That is there is the basic room, plus a small living area.
The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful.
Useful little 'market' kiosk to buy snacks etc.
There is a launderette, where you can wash a load of laundry for 5 quarters and the same to dry.
Small fitness centre.
You share the facilities with the neighbouring Marriott Courtyard, including a reasonable and small and basic, but nice evening restaurant.
You are close to some main attractions, like the conference centre.
Good air con.
Good tv's (2).
Quiet at night. (But lost points for the weirdo blowing the trumpet outside every morning at 7)
Comfy bed.
There is a really cool 'happy our' which runs (I think Sun to Wed) which provides free light meal, wine or beer from 6pm to 730pm (thereabouts), and many of the guests it appear take full advantage of this to fill up for dinner.
That's it.

The other side of the coin:
The place is tired. Would do well will a renovation/refresh.
The furniture quite old.
It was noisy during the day. When I stayed there was some kind of fair going on across the road in an empty car park involving trucks blasting their horns. And at 7am every morning some guy would show up across the road outside the Houston Police Headquarters and blow a trumpet and shout at the top of his voice from0700 to 0730 Fri Sat and Sun. Very weird.
While the rooms are marketed as having separate living areas the room I was in (and which I thing is the standard) does not provide a truly separate living area. There are no doors between the living area and the bedroom - just a wall. And the rooms are small. So you don't get the feeling, really, that you have left the bedroom, and stepped out into the ling room - it's all one space. Not quite what I had hoped for, or what seems apparent when you look at the pictures online.
The area: the location is a big creepy. There are a number of strange (homeless etc) people hanging around in the vicinity (not the hotel's fault off course - just the product of the location, and nearby bus stop, I guess.
Room comes equipped with fridge, which is empty - if you are an overseas visitor you are used to the fridges being well stocked.
Small gymnasium.
I asked if they could provide bathroom scales - no luck. (They said this was available in the gym - it isn't)
Breakfast - average - limited cereals, but there was arrange of hot foods, such a scrambled eggs etc.

So look - if you get a very good deal, and you have realistic expectations, it will be OK'ish. But if you are a business traveler and more used to luxury stays, then it will disappoint.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocM-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed our very friendly staff! However I do want to let you know that in December we will be updating our rooms and I think you will really enjoy the new look!

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent one night in this hotel. This hotel shares a building with courtyard next door so the entrance and parking issue is confusing. Just pull up to the Courtyard entrance and valet will take care of you. There is no self-park there. The front desk was a bit understaffed when we arrived but they still were able to serve us in 15 minutes.The room was nice spacious and well-maintained. The theater district is just a few blocks away.
A few tips:
Do check out the pool. the view there is fabulous. Use the same door you came in or you will end up in Courtyard.
Check out several historic documents about the building on the first floor by the elevator.
Go to Courtyard entrance and check out a fountain in the shape of an oil rig.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed our nice, clean and convenient hotel! Incase you did not already know the hotels connect on all floors 3 and above to make it easier to navigate.

Thank you again for staying with us and have a great day!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
No photo provided
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#107 of 501 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Athens Hotel Suites
Athens Hotel Suites
#314 of 501 in Houston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 904 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-6320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Houston
#115 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center is located in the heart of downtown and offers modern suites while keeping the ambiance of the historic Humble Oil building. Within walking distance of Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center, and the Theater District, guests can easily access Houston's top sites. Our new suites feature separate living areas, full-size kitchens, free WiFi and plush Marriott bedding. Every suites is pet-friendly and has 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Extended stay guests will enjoy thoughtful amenities including valet parking, outdoor pool and patio, 24-hour fitness center and a free breakfast buffet served daily. The Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center has the perfect combination of location and amenities to make it one of the top downtown hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing