We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
109
93
43
13
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
93
43
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslight rail systemvalet parkingfront deskfull kitchenhomeless peopletoyota centermetro trainfree breakfast buffetinternational quilt festivalminute maid parkhouse of bluestwo bedroom suiteworld seriessocial hourmarriott propertieshouston downtownbreakfast area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 264 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is pretty basic.
Positives:
The rooms provide more than the usual hotel room. That is there is the basic room, plus a small living area.
The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful.
Useful little 'market' kiosk to buy snacks etc.
There is a launderette, where you can wash a load of laundry for 5 quarters and the same to dry.
Small fitness centre.
You share the facilities with the neighbouring Marriott Courtyard, including a reasonable and small and basic, but nice evening restaurant.
You are close to some main attractions, like the conference centre.
Good air con.
Good tv's (2).
Quiet at night. (But lost points for the weirdo blowing the trumpet outside every morning at 7)
Comfy bed.
There is a really cool 'happy our' which runs (I think Sun to Wed) which provides free light meal, wine or beer from 6pm to 730pm (thereabouts), and many of the guests it appear take full advantage of this to fill up for dinner.
That's it.

The other side of the coin:
The place is tired. Would do well will a renovation/refresh.
The furniture quite old.
It was noisy during the day. When I stayed there was some kind of fair going on across the road in an empty car park involving trucks blasting their horns. And at 7am every morning some guy would show up across the road outside the Houston Police Headquarters and blow a trumpet and shout at the top of his voice from0700 to 0730 Fri Sat and Sun. Very weird.
While the rooms are marketed as having separate living areas the room I was in (and which I thing is the standard) does not provide a truly separate living area. There are no doors between the living area and the bedroom - just a wall. And the rooms are small. So you don't get the feeling, really, that you have left the bedroom, and stepped out into the ling room - it's all one space. Not quite what I had hoped for, or what seems apparent when you look at the pictures online.
The area: the location is a big creepy. There are a number of strange (homeless etc) people hanging around in the vicinity (not the hotel's fault off course - just the product of the location, and nearby bus stop, I guess.
Room comes equipped with fridge, which is empty - if you are an overseas visitor you are used to the fridges being well stocked.
Small gymnasium.
I asked if they could provide bathroom scales - no luck. (They said this was available in the gym - it isn't)
Breakfast - average - limited cereals, but there was arrange of hot foods, such a scrambled eggs etc.

So look - if you get a very good deal, and you have realistic expectations, it will be OK'ish. But if you are a business traveler and more used to luxury stays, then it will disappoint.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocM-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed our very friendly staff! However I do want to let you know that in December we will be updating our rooms and I think you will really enjoy the new look!

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent one night in this hotel. This hotel shares a building with courtyard next door so the entrance and parking issue is confusing. Just pull up to the Courtyard entrance and valet will take care of you. There is no self-park there. The front desk was a bit understaffed when we arrived but they still were able to serve us in 15 minutes.The room was nice spacious and well-maintained. The theater district is just a few blocks away.
A few tips:
Do check out the pool. the view there is fabulous. Use the same door you came in or you will end up in Courtyard.
Check out several historic documents about the building on the first floor by the elevator.
Go to Courtyard entrance and check out a fountain in the shape of an oil rig.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed our nice, clean and convenient hotel! Incase you did not already know the hotels connect on all floors 3 and above to make it easier to navigate.

Thank you again for staying with us and have a great day!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with purpose of visiting Minute Maid Park. Arrived on a Saturdays when Astros were playing Yankees. We arrived before 2pm and were told that there were no rooms available before 3pm check in time which was fair enough. However when 3pm arrived no room was available. It was not until nearly 4pm that we could get access. And we were not the only ones in this position. Lots of other baseball fans waiting to get their rooms. Apparently the hotel was full the night before with lots of guests checking out. If this was the case surely you would arrange for extra staff to turn the rooms around?

Anyhow the hotel is opposite a demolition site although we were not disturbed at all. Our room faced a central area. Not a great view but we didn't come to Houston for this. The room, a 2 bed suite, was spacious and well equipped. Good size lounge and kitchen area. Each bedroom had its own bath. Bed comfortable. A/c though appeared could not be adjusted. Changing the temperature had no effect.

Breakfast was busy in Sunday morning and whilst food was refreshed there was abut if a wait. Reasonable buffet quality leg down by paper plates and plastic cutlery. There is a Starbucks next door if you needed a caffeine fix.

The ballpark is about 12 blocks away/20 minute walk. Otherwise not much else to do in the area at weekends. We ate at the Guadalajara restaurant on Dallas St. A good quality Tex-Mex

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HobartEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you chose to stay with us while in town for the Yankees game! I sincerely apologize however that your room was not ready to check-in until 4pm. We will always honor early check-in requests when rooms are available. This particular day a majority of our arriving guests wanted to check-in early.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is the second time I stayed at this hotel for business. The location is great for visiting multiple customers in the downtown area. Most were within walking distance of the hotel. Nice pool; small exercise room; but equipment was always available. Buffet breakfast was included every morning with a rotating selection; however there was something for everyone's taste. Travelled with a co-worker/friend and we shared the 2 bedroom, living & dining suite. Perfect, could work together in the kitchen/living room, but still have separate bedrooms and bathrooms. There is also an evening social that included beer and wine and practically an entire meal. This was served on Mon-Wed evenings. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherylM194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to reivew our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed your 2nd visit with us!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Nice hotel in a very convenient location in the heart of downtown Houston. Staff was very helpful and every time I saw someone on the staff they were quick to say hello, good morning, etc. Room was very nice overall experience was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed our clean and friendly hotel! The team takes a lot of pride in providing both to all of our guests.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews