We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time Around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #97 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is the second time I stayed at this hotel for business. The location is great for visiting multiple customers in the downtown area. Most were within walking distance of the hotel. Nice pool; small exercise room; but equipment was always available. Buffet breakfast was included every morning with a rotating selection; however there was something for everyone's taste. Travelled with a co-worker/friend and we shared the 2 bedroom, living & dining suite. Perfect, could work together in the kitchen/living room, but still have separate bedrooms and bathrooms. There is also an evening social that included beer and wine and practically an entire meal. This was served on Mon-Wed evenings. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherylM194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to reivew our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed your 2nd visit with us!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 237 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Nice hotel in a very convenient location in the heart of downtown Houston. Staff was very helpful and every time I saw someone on the staff they were quick to say hello, good morning, etc. Room was very nice overall experience was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed our clean and friendly hotel! The team takes a lot of pride in providing both to all of our guests.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I really stayed 2 nights for business purposes and chose the RI because of its proximity to the office. The studio room was pretty much identical to other RI's although this one has much higher ceilings, which is more spacious. I love having a sink and big vanity in the dressing area, separate from toilet and shower. Everything in the room was in good enough condition (except for one carpet stain) but overall, the room was definitely "dated". It's beginning to look a little shabby - the popcorn walls, hole in the bedding, cheap hangers. I had a room facing Dallas Street and even on the 10th floor, it's a little noisy (trucks and construction across the street) but after all, it is downtown of a major city! The staff is very pleasant and the woman working at the breakfast bar was especially friendly and attentive - more so thatn I've ever experienced at any other limited service property. The public space (breakfast area) was spotlessly clean and the breakfast choices were excellent. I would stay there again, but might consider the Courtyard next door as I hear that it's been renovated more recently.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to reveiw our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you you enjoyed everything from our high ceilings to the friendly breakfast team!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Didn't pick the room. Parking was 30 dollars a day on top. Not bashing the place. Wouldn't be writing a review except trip advisor coaxed me in. For price w parking cost would want more from the room. Staff was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shcade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you found our staff to be friendly! We do charge for valet parking however our prices are the lowest of the Houston Downtown hotels.

Thank you again for staying with us!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Pros
-Location puts you within minutes of the Zoo, Aquarium, Park, Natural Science Museum, Children's Museum, and ballpark.
-Lots of place to eat nearby...as well s their own restaurants.
-Marriott reward points go a long way at this hotel.
-Big rooms with kitchens and full-size refrigerators.
-Valet parking cost of $15 is well worth it.

Cons
-Some of the rooms need to be updated.
-Cost of rooms during peak season.

Recommendation - If you're traveling with family or on a long business trip, this is the place for you. If you're looking for a romantic getaway, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 534sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed our great location and clean/frienldy hotel!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Attended Microsoft wpc event, no problems whatsoever. Staff very professional. A bit edgy about the location, but no issues. Loved Starbucks next door. Parking available at courtyard next door. 10 minutes walk to the convention centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauriceRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you chose to stay with us while in town for the Microsoft convention!

Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you next year!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This Residence Inn is located in an historic building and as a result is not the normal RI experience. The rooms have high celings and unique architectural details. The staff is professional and welcoming. I got a very quiet room at the end of the hall - a big plus. The room number ended in 23. If you need a good night's sleep, that's the way to go. The room was very clean and, surprisingly, there were no doors on the closet by design. The breakfast was standard RI fare but I noticed just how impeccably clean the serving area was.This hotel is located next to the Houston Police building and close to the jail. The valet parking is shared by this hotel and the neighboring Courtyard. You can park and walk right into the Courtyard. You must walk around the corner to get to the entrance of the RI. During the day this is OK. For late night arrivals I am not so sure. I would stay here over other hotels I have used in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms with numbers ending in 23 are in very quiet locations - you don't hear a neighbor or a sla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cporter187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

We are thrilled you chose to stay with us while in town for business!

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next trip!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#127 of 517 in Houston
109 reviews
Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
#202 of 517 in Houston
70 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 904 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-6320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Houston
#115 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $118 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center is located in the heart of downtown and offers modern suites while keeping the ambiance of the historic Humble Oil building. Within walking distance of Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center, and the Theater District, guests can easily access Houston's top sites. Our new suites feature separate living areas, full-size kitchens, free WiFi and plush Marriott bedding. Every suites is pet-friendly and has 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Extended stay guests will enjoy thoughtful amenities including valet parking, outdoor pool and patio, 24-hour fitness center and a free breakfast buffet served daily. The Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center has the perfect combination of location and amenities to make it one of the top downtown hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing